12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245; +3.25 207;

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
good morning LL :razz:

yesterday's condo
I think Ollie must be feeling a little yucky this morning.

He was purring and good for test but wiggled and whined for shot - not his usual reaction. He's not too interested in his food. That's really unusual for the guy who will eat most anything most anytime. Usually he cleans his plate right away. today, He's eating tiny bits, walks away and then comes back later for another tiny bit. Added water to almost soupy but that doesn't seem to help. Tried his favorite fancy feast with a little water - couple licks and tried to cover it. He's probably eaten less than a tablespoon this morning. (Onsior might be hard on the tummy?)

No lb outside this morning. walked around but couldn't seem to find "the spot". beans getting eaten alive by noseeums, so had to come back in. come on Ollie - p&p! with everything he ate since coming home... he's GOT to go. Right now, he's sitting by the door but whines and runs away instead of getting in his harness.

We shot 1.5 again this morning. Will watch him today and see what happpens.

He doesn't seem to be as bad as this reads! he just seems a little cranky and off.

thanks again to everyone for all the kind, calming words and thoughts yesterday. I wish i could convey how priceless it is to know "the family" is there for us. Without everyone here, i'm sure we'd have ended up hysterical and just taking him to the emergency room. BIG hugs and thanks for all that you do. You are all beyond words.

My best thank you and hugs
much love to you all
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279

Good morning Mary

I'm glad that Ollie's dental went ok yesterday, aside from the extraction, but that should make him feel better in the next few days. I don't know about the drug, but I don't blame him for feeling grumpy the day after. Poor guy went through a lot :cry: Skritches to him from us. Noseeums - ugh. Hate those things!
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279

I'm sure it'll just take a few days for Ollie to get back to being himself. The anesthesia is probably contributing to his inability to find "the" right spot to go...so along with "feel better" prayers, I'm sending along some of those magical LL Poo Vines, too!

Have a great day, Mary...we'll be watching for updates!
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279

Hi Mary and Oliver,

I just got caught up on yesterdays dental for Ollie, maybe the anesthesia is working its way out of Ollie's system and that's why he's not too hungry, or maybe the poor guy has a sore mouth. Dentals are very stressful on the beans, so i hope you are ok.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279

Morning Mary and checking in on you and Ollie. Sending some feel better vines. I hope Ollie starts eating more. He's probably having some discomfort with the extraction. Do you have anything for pain for him. You mentioned an anti inflammatory yesterday. Give Ollie some gentle hugs from us.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279

Good morning Mary. I'm sorry to hear Oliver is grumpy today. You can't really blame him, I'd feel grumpy too if I had to have a tooth extracted like he did. I'm sure he'll get back to his old self as the anesthesia and pain wears off.

Tell Oliver that PurrFace asked about him and hopes he feels better soon.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,

Sweet Sir Olifur - teefies 'n dental wurk sucks! I'm sorre it hurtz tuday, I iz grumpy when my mouf hurtz tu!

Mary - glad the dental went OK, thought about you all many times yesterday. Give all a headbutt from us please...
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Dose Advice?

hi!
It seems Oliver has reversed his pattern from green and blue during the day with flat yellow at night to flat yellow during the day and blue and green at night???

We reduced his dose last night to 1.5 from 2.5 because we were chicken. He still got to 93. He's still a little loopy from yesterday's dental. He's at almost the same numbers with this dose as he was at 2.5. Lastly, he's not eating very much at all today.
We are wondering if you think we might hold him at this dose one more cycle or should we start bringing him back up? if we should start bringing him back up, should we do it in small increments?

I guess i'm asking - if he were your cat - what would you use for his dose this evening?



thank you very much for your help and advice
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Dose Advice?

Mary --

I am not a fan of using NSAIDs (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) in cats BECAUSE they can cause renal failure. In fact, Metacam (meloxicam), another of the NSAIDs, has an FDA black box warning due to its causing acute renal failure. Most of us ask our vets to prescribe buprenorphine for pain management since it has less of an effect on the kidneys. Since bupe is a narcotic, it is very effective for pain management. And yes, NSAIDs can be very tough on the tummy -- they can cause stomach problems in humans like ulcers when used chronically. You should probably not give Onsior on an empty stomach and if Oliver isn't eating, this is going to compound the problem. Personally, I'd call the vet and get some bupe.

If Oliver is continuing to have difficulty eating, I'd suggest picking up some baby food. Either Gerber Stage 2 or Beechnut (any baby food that is only a protein and broth -- no onions or other veggies) is fine. Most cats love the stuff and it will be easier of Oliver to eat given the dental pain.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Dose Advice?

Thank you Sienne,
I'm thinking that since i couldn't steer any small numbers with his eating issues, i will leave him at 1.5 tonight?

I will call his vet and get buprenorphine right now.
then, off to get only protein and broth baby food

thanks so very much.
~O) ~O)
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Dose Advice?

Hi Mary,
I think that for as long Ollie isn't eating normally, you should keep him at the lower dose. His numbers are not terrible. I hope that you'll be able to get him eating soon. Have you tried baby food (all meat; no onions in the broth). Sienne has mentioned on many occasions that anesthesia causes intestinal "motility", so food and wastes do not move through the system as fast as usual. If your vet prescribes an antibiotic (and this seems to be the usual thing to do after an extraction, simply as a precaution), make sure that you add FortiFlora to Ollie's food. This is a pro-biotic and will restore the "good" bacteria to the system to move things along better. You can get it at the vet's, but in the future, order it from Amazon or one of the pet sites (much cheaper).

Healing vines for Ollie!

Ella & Rusty

Oh, I see that while I was struggling to write this, Sienne has already given you great information. Good luck! I didn't realize that what the vet prescribed was similar to Metcam. Don't mess with that!!
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Dose Advice?

Thanks Ella
I will add FortiFLora to my list of things to get from the vet.
thank you very very much.

i wish my vet knew half as much as you guys!!!!!!! (edited) shame on me. that's mean and uncalled for. He knows a lot, maybe just focused differently
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Thanks thank

Hi guys, just catching up on everything. You can order fortiflora on amazon.com, probably cheaper than the vets and most cats love it. It works well too. Sorry for all the stress, I know we hate when our furbabies are in pain. You are doing great, try to stay calm and know we are all here! Sending feel better vines to Ollie, bet he will feel a lot better tomorrow! Hugs!
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Thanks thank

We gave onsior to our civie Tillie for arthritis pain and started her on cosequin. We gave her 1 tablet daily for three days and that seemed to be enough to get her feeling better. She had had recent bloodwork to verify kidney function. Now the cosequin has kicked in and she's doing great.

My standard line on vets is they treat lots of different animals and different conditions, it's rather amazing. The folks here, on the other hand, are crazy cat ladies who are mostly or totally focused on cats and mostly diabetes. The accumulated knowledge and experience in LL is also amazing. Sienne (and others, too many to name) constantly amaze me with their excellent and caring advice. So when you have both types of expertise to draw on, that's the best. :-D

Sending healing energy to Oliver. The removal of the tooth may help his BGs once he recovers from the dental. Paws crossed.
Liz
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Thanks thank

I hope Oliver will start eating for you soon. The baby food should help with his appy. My cats love baby food. I had to get it for Furball one time when she wasn't wanting to eat and of course the other cats had to have some of it too. I would keep the dose the same for a couple of days to give Oliver a chance to recover from the dental. The dental and the medicine could be affecting his BG. If you raise the dose now, he could come crashing down when the meds stop if it is making his BG go up. Sending prayers for quick healing for Oliver.

When Furball had her dental, it only took her a couple of days to start acting normal again. She had one tooth removed and I only had to give her Bupe for a couple of days. If you get an AB, make sure you finish the dose even if Oliver starts feeling better.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279, +2.7 232,+6 219, Thanks thank

We can't thank all of you enough for your caring input and being there for us. Sorry to be such a baby, but Ollie's never had any bad thing before. I guess we sort of think the sky is falling when really it's just a little bump to get over.

Liz, thanks so much for your input on Onsior and the healing energy. I'm glad Tillie is doing well now. It's so upsetting to see our little ones in pain. And so wonderful when they are looking good again.

Michelle, Thanks ... it means so very much to know that the whole LL family is pulling for ollie.

UPDATE - we didn't give ollie his Onsior tonight. One of our customers from Atlanta is an excellent dr. and has lots of cats. He can prescribe in FL and we talked for the longest time this afternoon... did lots of tests while on the phone. (45min) He thinks that ollie is in some mild discomfort but he's hesitant to prescribe meds that have bad side effects unless they are REALLY necessary. We are going to keep a close eye on him and Dr. Tim is going to call back at 2am and we'll go through tests again.. If it seems that Onsior is wearing off and Ollie is needing bupe, tim will write the script.
EATING - he's not eating as much as he used to, but he's eating about 1tbl of Friskies egg and tuna with sauce topped with pureed shrimp ... it takes him about 30min to finish it ... eats, leaves, comes back and eats.

Hugs to you all and i can't put into words my thanks
xoxo
love
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279,+6 219,pmps245 eating better

The only thing I'd remind you of is just how clever cats are at compartmentalizing their pain. Having a tooth extracted is painful -- really painful. I recently had dental work done and the periodontist gave me some pretty serious pain meds.

Just my 2 cents.
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist amps 279,+6 219,pmps245 eating better

i will take your advice .... i'll call tim and ask him to write the script.
xoxo
mary
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Bupe is ordered! Ollie ate 1 entire can FF Fish and Shrimp Feast, Flaked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:thumbup :thumbup :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :dizcat :dizcat dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
now come on magic poo vines... do you thang

thanks again and again
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Mary, I'm sooooo happy Ollie ate!

I'm also glad you are going to give him bupe. Checks gets it as needed, for a bad disk in his back. It works miracles for him. The bupe works quickly for Checkers, and he is like a frisky kitty again.
I hope it works that well for Ollie's mouth and he is happy to eat again! :-D

Now Poo Oliver, poo!
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Yeah for appy! Eat Oliver, we are all rooting for you. Food is good, food is great!!

And for that other thing:
sign_poop.gif
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Yea, I'm glad he ate and glad you got the bupe for him. The rest of 'it' should come soon now that he is eating!

Jo
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Yay Ollie on the fuds! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!!!

Oh Wendy, I love that graphic! Poop! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/5 OliverTwist,pmps245 bupe ordered, ate 1 can FF!

Mary, so glad Ollie is eating and pain meds are on board. Now we get to send poo vines for Ollie.
 
Poor Ollie! Get better soon!
Relax Mary, since Ollie is having his appy back, he'll be fine in no time.
 
Hi Mary, I am so glad that Ollie ate for you, hooray! I hope he feels better and is back to normal soon!

Hugs,
Kathie
 
Hi Mary - It is so nice to read that Ollie ate tonight! I am glad to read too that you kept the reduced dose this morning. I did too with Mannie -we had nasty eating issues as well. Another thing you can feed too is baby food, the one without onions. It does well as a substitute until their appy returns. Good luck. I am happy to see that you will have the bupe. I am unfamiliar with the one prescribed, but do know I will not use any of the NSAIDs drugs - what Sienne said is true - been there, sad to say. Bupe is a great one, and will take care of Ollie's pain, for as long as he needs it. And he is back to LB action too? YAY!! On the road to recovery he is!! AWESOME!!

How wonderful too to have someone to talk with, work with, prescribe as needed. Very nice!

I hope your day has been a good one. With Ollie feeling better I am sure it has. :-D :cool: :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top