12/5 Oliver AMPS 415 +6 150 PMPS 514

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Olivers been up and a lil down the last few days but pretty steady? I am not sure about the syringe i have and dosing to 1.75 so I went back to the 2 units RX by Vet.
I am not comfortable with the guessing game. I do not want to have to buy new syringes again. UGH been super expensive for me and I have had a lot of things come up and its Christmas... Oh my the stress. :(
I also want to keep lines with vet open and get his advise before a dose change.
As well advise from you guys combined will help Oliver in the long run.
Was busy and did not get a condo yesterday for Oliver ;(
Please see SS thanks
 
Re: 12/5 Oliver AMPS 415

What about negotiating with the vet re: dose changes?
- Have agreed upon no shoot numbers.
- Have agreed upon dose reduction numbers.

I would give him a copy of the Room & Rand article which is the foundation of the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol.
Also, give him the following reference ranges we use.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot limit for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Re: 12/5 Oliver AMPS 415

I am super happy I have a few options to go with when treating Oliver. I appreciate both of them, just feel like if something goes wrong the Vet will be the care taker and I should have good communication and a plan for treatment with him. Not that I will not share all that is said and thought on her. He is very willing to listen and try anything.
My Vet is very up on new things and has been working 1 on 1 with us as well as a Feline Diabetes specialist in the area.
He has been a vet for 35 yrs and has treated many with diabetes. That said he (Oliver) is a hard case Vet says I am doing all the right things but
its a tricky one. When he sees people come in and never test or treat regularly and their cat is doing fine ?
Its the CAT for sure :)
But yes I will plan on sharing this link and info. These seem to be his same ranges also.
Thanks
Kelly
 
That's why I said to talk with him.

If he knows that you can test and intervene if the cat is too low, he is going to be more confident in you managing your cat well. If you have agreed upon criteria to follow for dose adjustments, he won't worry about your cat being safe.
 
We have talked and he does know this info. but I will communicate it again :)
And keep doing so.
Thanks
 
Hey there - aren't you normally posting on lantus TR now? Nice to see you here but I wonder if it was an accident to post on health?

Anwyay I agree on going back to 2 units. Ask on Lantus about waiting for 3 times going under 50 instead of 1 before you decrease - or an immediate drop if he goes under 40 once. Thats what I do because if I dropped the first time Tiggy went under 50 it always seemed to fail.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top