? 12/5 Nico amps 47!, +13=86, +2=47, +3=64

12/4 Nico amps 90,+2= 88,+4=66,+7=84, pmps-97,+3=77,+4=73

My inexperienced opinion would be a skip too, just with how low he’s been running these days and how much you’ve had to battle to keep him up.

From the sticky about stalling with lower pre-shot numbers though:
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
So just skip for the morning. Ok. I'm just so absolutely flustered, because his vault is supposed to be emptying the tank! I'm going to leave the question mark up in hours of someone explaining this to me. What's going on with him. I almost feel like crying in frustration over not knowing what's going on or how to help him.
 
+13=86.
I'm not sure what to do, so I just have him 0.5u and feed him 1tsp mc along with a little of his lc food. Since it's only given him about 1.5tsp mc with a few drops of karo to set about rising his numbers.
Course, now that I think about it, maybe I shouldn't have even given him that 0.5, since the raised numbers were probably only due to that. What do I know?
Didn't want to eat, so applied Mirataz
😭
 
Last edited:
It's really hard, and you're doing your best for him. I'm sorry it's been so confusing and intractable. Don't beat yourself up, you're an incredible cat mom and little about this is exact or predictable. 🫂
 
Nico, we're going to need you to pull those numbers up!!!
I have to agree, I would have skipped this morning's shot. It's OK though, when you're alone and don't know what to do, go with your gut and you did. Someone said his pancreas might be kicking in and I have to agree with that too. He's working hard toward regulation.
You're doing great!
💚😻💚😻
 
Nico, we're going to need you to pull those numbers up!!!
I have to agree, I would have skipped this morning's shot. It's OK though, when you're alone and don't know what to do, go with your gut and you did. Someone said his pancreas might be kicking in and I have to agree with that too. He's working hard toward regulation.
You're doing great!
💚😻💚😻
I'm starting to think of stopping his insulin at this point. It seems like I'm going to kill him by giving the insulin.😡
I was just so excited that he'd reached over that 58 that Wendy said I can shoot. I didn't even stop to think I shouldn't.😭 My nerves are so fried with this.
I gave him some hc + karo + (don't laugh) rice just now. After that comment you'd said about anything with rice being higher in carbs.
 
I'm starting to think of stopping his insulin at this point. It seems like I'm going to kill him by giving the insulin.😡
I was just so excited that he'd reached over that 58 that Wendy said I can shoot. I didn't even stop to think I shouldn't.😭 My nerves are so fried with this.
I gave him some hc + karo + (don't laugh) rice just now. After that comment you'd said about anything with rice being higher in carbs.
Remember, none of us here went to school for caring for cats with diabetes. It's all trial and error and we cam only do the beat we can for the furballs we love.

I remember seeing where anything (cat foods) made with potatoes, rice, corn, soy, etc the carb content is higher. If he ate it, good for you. I don't think my girls would eat it. That will likely help to keep him full a little longer too so don't be surprised if he doesn't want to eat for a while.
He really is wanting to race down that ladder, and hopefully, eventually even get off insulin.
Someone told me, " those are pancreas healing numbers" not the limes, of course, but greens and blues and that's where he is now.
 
Remember, none of us here went to school for caring for cats with diabetes. It's all trial and error and we cam only do the beat we can for the furballs we love.

I remember seeing where anything (cat foods) made with potatoes, rice, corn, soy, etc the carb content is higher. If he ate it, good for you. I don't think my girls would eat it. That will likely help to keep him full a little longer too so don't be surprised if he doesn't want to eat for a while.
He really is wanting to race down that ladder, and hopefully, eventually even get off insulin.
Someone told me, " those are pancreas healing numbers" not the limes, of course, but greens and blues and that's where he is now.
Mine doesn't like textures, so I smashed the rice. And dang it! I didn't think of it going him up. Only have him a little sprinkle of it, so between that and the Mirataz this morning, hopefully I can keep him going
 
Mine doesn't like textures, so I smashed the rice. And dang it! I didn't think of it going him up. Only have him a little sprinkle of it, so between that and the Mirataz this morning, hopefully I can keep him going
Give the food a bit of time to work. And retest in 30min
 
Remember what I said about racing down the dosing scale? It appears to be happening. His new dose is .25. Not ready to quit but might be getting close. And you are not going to kill him. It’s interesting that he doesn’t want to eat when low. Max and many are the opposite. Congratulations. Those tests are with the Relion?
 
Back
Top