12/5 Mowgli +4.5 68 +5 67 +5.5 76 +6 77+6.5 79+ 11 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
Oh my mowgli!!
man, what a crazy cat! LITERALLY!

Do I give anything? Do I feed and wait a bit? according to the shooting low numbers, i would not give anything correct?
Leaving the house at 730 or 8 again this morning..

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31304
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 77--Dose Advice????

if it were me...test again at +12.5 let's see if he is going up...what time is your +12.5?
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 77--Dose Advice????

literal 12.5 will be 630..so i shouldn't feed him either eh..just see if he starts to come up on his own?
he has been dropping all night...and i slept through TWO additional alarms i had set :sad:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11.5 77 PM+12.5 92(or am--Dose Advice

So PM +12.5 OR amps??
92
Please advise?
this is without food
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11.5 77 PM+12.5 92(or am--Dose Advice

can u check another 15 mins....6:45? that is not your AMPS as you have NOT given the insulin just yet...so it will be your +12.75

let's see where he is at ok
see ya in 15
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11.5 77 PM+12.5 92 -Dose Advice????

he appears to be hungry, which is nice...
but still waiting to feed him
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11 77 +12.5 92 +12.75 92 -Dose Advice?

he is holding at 92..
i don't know what...i guess 1.75 again...
but 2 is his dose right? but what is 2 going to do and my not being home?
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11 77 +12.5 92 +12.75 92 -Dose Advice?

if it were me....i would give 0.75u...i know it's low....but better than nothing...feed and test in 1/2 hr to see where he is at...that will give you the info on where he is at...then you can leave MC food out for him...

giving the full 2u and you not being there will make his #s go down...he has been dropping so looks like he drops later in the cycle but it's not a guarantee what he will do today while you are away....a token dose is better than no dose and MC food is ok...or if you prefer HC with 1.75u....
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS +11 77 +12.5 92 +12.75 92 -Dose Advice?

I feel okay with .75U
thank you claudia....i wanted to go low or go no...but I know that doing nothing would hinder rather than do good..
i will do .75...
gonna feed the hungry kitty..hopefully his hunger will outweigh his picky!
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92

nice shooting! You have to do what is comfortable for you, especially if you're not going to be home. Do you have time for a +1 and/or +2 before you leave? Those will give you peace of mind too.
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92

Hi definetly a +1
but not a +2 unless I call in late to work, which i might just for peace of mind..
I am with Claudia, it was a low dose but at least it is better than nothing....
i will post what numbers i can...
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

i got his +2...
not sure where he is going to go from here..
i feel bad...i feel like I am not helping the progress his pancreas obviously wants to make..

i really feel horrible...
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

you're doing fine! It's scary when they first start showing these numbers. I remember it VERY well. Within a week you'll be an old pro.

If you're leaving now, I would just just put some gravy on top of his food (or even feed him a HC snack if that makes you feel better, I've done that more than once). Then leave out plenty of extra food and go have a good day.
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

I agree, you are doing very well Keri. Don't doubt yourself.
It really does get easier and more comfy.

enjoy your day and try not to stress ok?
:razz:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

Ronnie & Luna said:
I agree, you are doing very well Keri. Don't doubt yourself.
It really does get easier and more comfy.enjoy your day and try not to stress ok?
:razz:
SO agreed - you are ding great - and it will get easier.
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

I agree with all the others you are doing a fantastic job :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and look at those great numbers for Mowgli :smile:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

Good job today, Keri!!! Very nice for Mowgli. Try not to worry...you are doing your best and you gotta work right?? :lol: :lol: Have a good day!!
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104

keri...what the heck did you say above???

like you're not helping???

oh, man...you so got that wrong girl...
you are doing great!!!

celi
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104 +10.5 158

Mowglis recap,
I had to remember that I gave him his shot an hour late this morning, so that would be at 7am instead of 6...
AMPS 92
+1 ~110
+2 ~104
+4 ~108
+6 ~122
+10.5 ~158

I was able to go into work a bit late, is the only reason I was able to get his plus 6...it meant working a shorter shift but whatever, this is the part time gig...

Giving his shot tonite in about 45minutes...
Confirming because your PM made sense Claudia that tonite is a Full 2U dose regardless of his numbers. And I should be cleaning my Bodum and getting coffee ready for an interesting evening??
And hoping that someone will be around when it is my first offical panic time??

Thank you all for your support and confidence!! it means ALOT!
:shock:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104 +10.5 158

yes....since you and i are on the same time zone....i will be around...but hope the EXPERTS won't abandon us!!!! lol

scream if you have to....yes yes to the full dose....ok?

hopefully he'll take it easy on you!!!! but maybe not!!!!! fasten your seatbelt!!!! :lol: :lol: i know it's not funny.... ;-)
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104 +4 108 +6 122 +10.5 15

you ask about the heated bed Rocket has....i bought him a bed that you plug in...i leave it plugged in at all times...it's low heat and it actually warms up with the kitty's weight...so has a shutoff built in....that was about 2 1/2 yrs ago....here is the link http://litterboy.com/Details.cfm?ProdID=491&category=48 they don't seem to have the model that i purchased but is similar to this one http://litterboy.com/Details.cfm?ProdID=388&category=48 ...except this one seems to have a cover...his doesn't ...but they do ship to Canada...they're very nice people to deal with and you can email them directly with questions and they're happy to help....good customer service....

he has 2....but the second one is just flat foamy and i bought it at petsmart...it was actually more $ then the fancy one...go figure! but this one is on the floor near the livingroom and both Comet and Rocket use it....the other one is not accessible to Comet :lol:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli AMPS 92 +1 110 +2 104 +4 108 +6 122 +10.5 15

mowgli is being a cheat an licking the dust off the food but not eatting... :-|
i will give him his 2U as soon as he eats something...
i cannot figure these critters out...
He ate,
why do they seem to get pickier the more regulated they become??? lol how does this make sense?
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157

thank you for the heated blanket tip!
i would most definetly have to get 3! as it is when the heat comes on, i can't find two of the cats as they both head to their registers..lol No wonder one end of the house is cold! LOL
I wish mowgli would eat some more...
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157

slow descent...good....when was the last time he ate? how much?

i fed Rocket +1.25 and +2.5 just so he wouldn't dive on me...

try the dust....i know....Rocket licks it off too then leaves the food....but i put more until he gets to the actual food....do you have a cheesegrater....use the small side of it to literally shred it like powder....i bought the mini cheesegrater at the dollar store....it was the best dollar i've ever spent! :lol:

edited to add: is he still on abs?
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157

Keri, nice numbers! I guess I'm lucky, Tinkles eats anything I put in front of him. Maybe try a different food? I have a picky civie, sometimes I have to offer her something different to get her to eat. :roll:
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76

And now I guess he is DIVING on me?????
Advice please be given ASAP..
He at at +2... aout 1/4 of merrick..
He IS still on his a/b, he has two days left of that...
i did get some parmasean cheese today, and i do have a small cheesegrater...

excuse all spelling errors please :)
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli ADVICE???PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76

not really....feed a lil more...test in 20 mins...see ya then..remember 1 tsp
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli ADVICE???PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76

1tsp food? or you talking if it comes down to it the 1tsp of karo...
will do and test...
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli ADVICE???PMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76

Yes, that's a dive....maybe you could give him some gravy to slow him down, Keri. A tsp of food is good, but add some gravy on top or just give him gravy.
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

at +3.5 he is 79 without food...working on the food now..
how much gravy would i give?
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

a lil bit enough to get it soupy like if mixed with the food...that's what i do with Rocket....but try putting it as topping and see if he goes for it....
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

Hmmm, maybe hold off on the gravy...he seems to have slowed himself down.

If you do give some gravy, just a tsp is enough...no need to go overboard.
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

i didn't give much gravy, i just kinda rubbed some on about a tea spoon of his normal food..that was enough to get his interest to eat..
interesting...it really is diabetic candy eh!
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

he didn't eat much, not the entire teaspoon..but you can be sure he licked each morsel. so i guess he got the teeny bit of gravy that was on there..
before he was diagnosed (one main symptom was his lack of appetite) but before that, good luck if any food was left anywhere! he would anything and everything...now...not so much...probably because I want him to eat...
i will check him again in about hmmm, should i check in twenty minutes? i didnt realize it took him so long to actually eat
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

No need to test so soon, you can test in 30 minutes...or wait a little longer if you are comfortable.

I just saw the big drop, it's not typical of Mowgli, that's why I said give him gravy...he's in nice numbers, great if he would surf here!
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

ya it was his BIG drop that had me panicked too! I was like WHA!! So of course that was a double tester!!! oh these kitties!
 
Re: 12/5 MowgliPMPS 173 +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79

OMG...Mannie, Moonie, Rocket, Tess and Mowgli are having a pj party and they never informed us!
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

YOU KNOW, i am SURE if they had all asked us, we could have arranged something to keep everyone happy!! lol
OKAY, so mowgli continues to drop..
SO now I give more gravy?? is it better to just rub gravy on his gums?
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

yes more food with gravy...you need to help him surf and perhaps that will do it....i'm sure someone with more experience can chime in...

edited to add: if the experts are still around do ask what your step would be for tomorrow as i gather you will be away all day at work....
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

he isn't interested in eatting, how bout them temptations..i know it doesn't work as quick buuuuttttt
if he eats them? and if so how many?
oy
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

I would give him what you did before...a little food with a bit of gravy...maybe a little more gravy, don't go overboard. Nice numbers...really just what you want.
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

Hey we are all up tonite!! Kitty conspiracy--If All Else Fails--
Keri, do you have karo syrup(2 drops), honey or anything like that? --I gave Moonie about 10 temptations, then about 7 more--I'm going to do her now.

Keri You are doing such a great job with Mowgli!! Yes the ears do get cold!--
Even I, when I see low number like tonite, I said to DH--Oh no, I'm up tonite! and off I went to see if the Princess Moonie would eat
ANY food to bring her up!! No luck, so I gave her carb treats, because I have tried so many!--Thursday she dropped & I tried 3 different cans of hc food-NO luck!!
She's a pip--
But you--As long as you have lc, mc & hc food, Strips, Karo, and are there to monitor--You are in control!! That's what I tell myself every time--I am in control--
The other day I did wind up giving her Karo syrup like 2 drops, cause she is stubborn sometimes & wont eat.. and up she went!
But you are doing great,Mowgli is eating & numbers are great--Great Day!
 
Re: 12/5 Mowgli +1 196 +2 157 +3 76 +3.5 79 +4.5 68

Thanks for the kind words, it does look like the kitties have one up on us...No mowg isn't interested in the gravy, i have gravy on a plate, snub, gravy with parmesan, snub, food food food, snub, food with the dust, snub... i guess i will try the temptations??
yes, he just scarfed 4 temptaions....oy these furbabies!!
i mean seriously... we could have a buffet of this stuff for our civvies and they wouldn't know which thing to pick..but our sugarbabies when the time is needed..nahhhhhhhh they will take their time and make the absolute right decision for their flavour needs lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top