12/5 Molly AMPS 348 Numbers still bouncing around on 0.5 U

Status
Not open for further replies.

macal

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone ~O)

Sending healing thoughts and hoping your kitties are in the safe greens and blues today.

Molly's numbers are still bouncing around and I'm still pondering increasing her dose. Have vet appt on Friday for a consult. If you have any thoughts or advice on dosage, please let me know. There's a lot to consider.

Yesterday's data:
(freeze dried Purebite chicken treats given after each BG test and there is a teaspoon of tuna given about 1.5-2 hrs before PMPS just to keep her quiet until suppertime)

AMPS 258
+6 65

PMPS 335
+6 243
+10 288

Today: AMPS 348
 
Re: 12/5 Molly AMPS 348 Numbers still bouncing around on 0.

If it were me, I wouldn't increase Molly's dose yet. You're still pretty new at this and for now, you might not want to increase and have the bounce break at the same time. When this happens, you have to be able to monitor your kitty's numbers and be able to intervene, if necessary. Once you're comfortable with steering the cycle with food, it's a different situation. This dose is bringing Molly into a very healthy range at nadir. The bouncing is normal and it takes more than a week or two for a cat's system to get used to being back in normal numbers. The bounces are annoying but not dangerous. In addition, you want to give the dose time to settle and for the bounce to clear.

One of the big lessons you'll get accustomed to with feline diabetes is patience. And, this is one of those times that you need to be patient.
 
Re: 12/5 Molly AMPS 348 Numbers still bouncing around on 0.

Thanks Sienne. Yes, with each shot I give, I expect her to go into full remission! Jumping the gun a little I know :oops:

Working on the patience. Thanks for your thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top