12/5 Max AMPS 150 +2 154 +4 74 +5 46 +6 61 PMPS 215

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Max had another drop below 50. He’s still influenced by the old depot but maybe I should have decreased to 5 units instead of 5.25 after all. He hasn’t felt well the last few days. Sleeping a lot. Appetite is not as good but he’s eating. He wouldn’t eat the kidney diet today. He ended up eating some of the EZ homemade food with cooked pork. He dipped to 46 so I offered some Chick Magnet which he would usually eat, but he wasn’t interested. I crumbled up two temptations on top of that then he ate it. He is taking his Ondansetron every 6-8 hrs. I’m really worried. Good news is that I called NCSU again and they had a cancellation. He’s scheduled on Dec 18th at 11:30. I will have family here from NH, but we will manage. I’m excited to finally see my son and granddaughters. Haven’t seen them since early May when they moved away. I had lots of plans with them including an early Christmas, because they have to leave on the 19th. But I’m so worried about Max now and I don’t know how I’m going to manage everything when they get here. That’s another story, I’m taking one day at a time right now with Max. I’m not sure what’s going on…whether kidneys have worsened, pancreatitis flare, IBD, or heart problems. It’s hard to know what to do. He’s still eating some and he doesn’t act like he is very uncomfortable, but very tired. I was hoping for Max to have a good day.:(
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-108-4-47-5-42-6-47-7-60.284262/#post-3129481
 
Last edited:
I think 5.0 would have been good. I’m glad your family will be coming and hope Max settles into the new dose and is feeling good by then. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's really hard when you see your kitty not doing well. All I could think of and focus on would be the kitty in question.
I feel bad about this but it far exceeds my mental capacity.
I hope you get to enjoy your son and granddaughters though. Sounds like a wonderful holiday time together.
Hope Max feels better. Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Lori, sending prayers and strength to you and Max. I hope he feels better. Poor sweet baby. I hope the lower dose is good for him. It’s scary when that larger dose is still effect and still rocking them.
I’m so glad you were able to get Max in to the practice with a cancellation. That’s great news.

It will be nice to have your family around and get to see the little ones, that’s always wonderful. Just take it one day at a time, that’s all we can do.
You’re doing great with your sweet boy !!
Hugs to you and Max :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think 5.0 would have been good. I’m glad your family will be coming and hope Max settles into the new dose and is feeling good by then. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Elise. I hope so too. I went ahead and dropped him to 5 units. I hope this works. I fear high numbers and not eating because he had DKA when he was first diagnosed and we almost lost him then. That just always sticks in my mind. That was then though and I know more of what to look for so hopefully it won’t happen again. I’m going to check for ketones at his next poke.
 
It's really hard when you see your kitty not doing well. All I could think of and focus on would be the kitty in question.
I feel bad about this but it far exceeds my mental capacity.
I hope you get to enjoy your son and granddaughters though. Sounds like a wonderful holiday time together.
Hope Max feels better. Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Kit. Your concern means a lot though.
 
Hi Lori, sending prayers and strength to you and Max. I hope he feels better. Poor sweet baby. I hope the lower dose is good for him. It’s scary when that larger dose is still effect and still rocking them.
I’m so glad you were able to get Max in to the practice with a cancellation. That’s great news.

It will be nice to have your family around and get to see the little ones, that’s always wonderful. Just take it one day at a time, that’s all we can do.
You’re doing great with your sweet boy !!
Hugs to you and Max :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Staci. It will be nice and I’m looking forward to it. I miss them so much. Hopefully Max will perk up and I won’t be so worried about him. To be honest, my kids (I have 3) don’t understand why I’m investing so much time and effort into Max. They even grew up with him so they should. I get very attached to cats. I’ve had 5 cats in my lifetime, but Max is just extra special to me. Thank you again.
 
I agree on the 0.5 unit reduction. Max is on a bit of a down dose roll at the moment, so more likely to hold it.

Great news on the sooner visit to NCSU. I hope they can give you some answers.
 
Yikes, that was a deep dive for Max! I am so glad he ate but sorry he doesn't feel good. I know how scary it is when their numbers are dropping and you need him to eat. Sending feel better vibes for Max. I also didn't know your son and family had moved so far away. I pray for a good visit while they are with you but am overjoyed you got an earlier appt at the specialist! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yikes, that was a deep dive for Max! I am so glad he ate but sorry he doesn't feel good. I know how scary it is when their numbers are dropping and you need him to eat. Sending feel better vibes for Max. I also didn't know your son and family had moved so far away. I pray for a good visit while they are with you but am overjoyed you got an earlier appt at the specialist! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Ruth. I’m really concerned about Max these days. Yes I miss my family so much. With Max, it’s not so easy to just hop on a plane and go to NH. There’s nobody else who could take care of him. So I am glad they are coming for a visit. We are planning to visit there in the Spring though, depending on how it goes. Not sure.
 
I agree on the 0.5 unit reduction. Max is on a bit of a down dose roll at the moment, so more likely to hold it.

Great news on the sooner visit to NCSU. I hope they can give you some answers.
Thanks Wendy. I hope so too. If he’s still looking so bad tomorrow I may have to take him to his regular vet though.
 
Thanks Staci. It will be nice and I’m looking forward to it. I miss them so much. Hopefully Max will perk up and I won’t be so worried about him. To be honest, my kids (I have 3) don’t understand why I’m investing so much time and effort into Max. They even grew up with him so they should. I get very attached to cats. I’ve had 5 cats in my lifetime, but Max is just extra special to me. Thank you again.
I totally understand. Everyone thinks I’m nuts for the time and devotion I have for Ivy. And that I can barely leave the house. I really only leave for a few hours if she is stable.
I also can’t visit my son who lives 2 hours away and he’s pissed. Oh well.
And forget travel. No way. Ivy is way too unstable. Plus she won’t let anyone but me touch her.
So, I can sadly relate to your struggle.
But I’m thrilled for you that your family is coming for a badly needed visit. That should be wonderful for your heart! :bighug::bighug:
 
I think all of this today was GI related. He’s had two poos. The last one was a lot and kind of loose, not diarrhea though. He seems like he feels a little better. He ate really well after that. Maybe IBD or pancreatitis flare. I know what to do now if that’s the culprit.
 
Back
Top