12/5 Eddie AMPS 349 +3 79 +4 77 +5 110 PMPS 432 +1 460 +2 436

@FrostD

Didn't I just say I've got to stop focussing on numbers? So, here we are at +3 79. A deep dive. Calls for L/C and again in an hour? So glad this is happening during the daytime. :cat::)
 
Ok good. MC probably would have sufficed but always better safe than sorry
Yes, I thought that since he was still trending down after LC&MC a dash of HC would steady the ship.,.

Will test again and reassess. I wonder about tonight! The earned reduction has been 78 and he just went below that but I also see that when we've decreased that we zoom off into the other direction, skywards...

Where's the balance point, I wonder.
 
Yeah. He's going to bounce for sure after this one. I suppose you could try 8.25
Again, I had such a good sleep last night that I actually feel like a new person. Maybe Eddie decided to turn over a new leaf and do his skydiving during the day. He hasn't had real daytiine greens since 11/21.
 
Well, all that seemed to get us into green and blue: my favourite colours. :)

I'll certainly check in at PMPS and confirm that we can go with 8.25u.
 
Replying very late to @FrostD tag. When I started Ruby on prednisolone, I was only doing it once a day in the morning right at her AM shot time. As cats tend to go high in the morning, it lead to higher AM cycles and lower PM ones. I then broke up her 5 mg dosage to 2.5 twice a day and now she experiences green numbers in both cycles. A big however though, is that I also had to raise her insulin dose to 3 units for that to happen. Her AMPS is still often quite high in relation to the rest of her cycle, but I am grateful to have the numbers a little more even.

In the end, I don't know that the timing of the steroid alone does much, but rather it's a combo of dosage of the steroid with the right dose of insulin. I've seen some cats who get an immediate bump in numbers from steroids, and others for whom the effect is less obvious and the cats are harder to regulate. ECID.

I'm a little tired from a week of traveling and working, so I hope this makes sense. Hope Eddie surfs safely for you today. :bighug:
 
He’s bouncing, as usual. That was a hard fast drop today.

Your reduction number is 78. He earned a reduction with today’s 77. I don’t like to give dosing advice, but if it were my cat, I’d go with a reduction to 8u and then sit on my hands for the designated number of cycles and fight the urge to increase back up too quickly. But that’s just me — I don’t like to tempt fate with post-SRT cats (meaning I’d take reductions when earned and not stress over a single high number).
 
Last edited:
Hi Jodie, he is just being a really bouncy boy. But he saw greens today and very close to your reduction point. The good thing is he is clearing bounces quickly. The last bounce was cleared in 2 cycles!

I know it's very upsetting to see the highs when he is bouncing but that is the way it is. Dosing is based on nadirs and his nadirs are very close to the lower end of the normal range on the AT. The AT also reads much higher at higher numbers.

I would not wait till +3 to test. Drops like this morning trigger bounces. I would add a +1.5 test in every cycle so you can feed and prevent dives.
 
Hi Jodie, he is just being a really bouncy boy. But he saw greens today and very close to your reduction point. The good thing is he is clearing bounces quickly. The last bounce was cleared in 2 cycles!

I know it's very upsetting to see the highs when he is bouncing but that is the way it is. Dosing is based on nadirs and his nadirs are very close to the lower end of the normal range on the AT. The AT also reads much higher at higher numbers.

I would not wait till +3 to test. Drops like this morning trigger bounces. I would add a +1.5 test in every cycle so you can feed and prevent dives.
Agree with Bhooma, this morning's drop was I think the biggest I've seen in almost 2 years here :confused:

I might try 8.25U, since 8 wasn't quite enough. Technically per guidelines you'd go down to 8U.
 
He’s bouncing, as usual. That was a hard fast drop today.

Your reduction number is 78. He earned a reduction with today’s 77. I don’t like to give dosing advice, but if it were my cat, I’d go with a reduction to 8u and then sit on my hands for the designated number of cycles and fight the urge to increase back up too quickly. But that’s just me — I don’t like to tempt fate with post-SRT cats (meaning I’d take reductions when earned and not stress over a single number).
I was so shocked to see 432 PMPS after that sailing along in blues and greens. Have to admit, I kind of freaked out!! Earlier, @FrostD had suggested 8.25u but when I saw the 432 I thought OMG, do I have to give full dose? So, what I did was, because the syringe is not all that precise is give somewhere between 8u and 8.25u. Thank you!!
 
Agree with Bhooma, this morning's drop was I think the biggest I've seen in almost 2 years here :confused:

I might try 8.25U, since 8 wasn't quite enough. Technically per guidelines you'd go down to 8U.

I was floored this morning with the drop and then kind of freaked with the bounce!! So, because he earned the reduction and because the syringe is not all that precise, I gave him between 8u and 8.25, so let's just say it was probably 8.25, really.

Holy cow, I just couldn't believe the PMPS meter so I did it twice. Phew! Thanks, Wendy! I'll do a +1.5 tonight, too.
 
Hi Jodie, he is just being a really bouncy boy. But he saw greens today and very close to your reduction point. The good thing is he is clearing bounces quickly. The last bounce was cleared in 2 cycles!

I know it's very upsetting to see the highs when he is bouncing but that is the way it is. Dosing is based on nadirs and his nadirs are very close to the lower end of the normal range on the AT. The AT also reads much higher at higher numbers.

I would not wait till +3 to test. Drops like this morning trigger bounces. I would add a +1.5 test in every cycle so you can feed and prevent dives.

Bhooma, as I mentioned in reply to other posts here, I was so shocked to see the 432! Especially after the Everest-scale dive from this morning. I'll do a +1.5 from now on as that might be one of his tricks! Thank you!
 
Bhooma, as I mentioned in reply to other posts here, I was so shocked to see the 432! Especially after the Everest-scale dive from this morning. I'll do a +1.5 from now on as that might be one of his tricks! Thank you!
Is the reason you are using AT because your vet has asked you to? I vaguely remember my asking you but I'm sorry, I don't remember the reason you gave.
 
Replying very late to @FrostD tag. When I started Ruby on prednisolone, I was only doing it once a day in the morning right at her AM shot time. As cats tend to go high in the morning, it lead to higher AM cycles and lower PM ones. I then broke up her 5 mg dosage to 2.5 twice a day and now she experiences green numbers in both cycles. A big however though, is that I also had to raise her insulin dose to 3 units for that to happen. Her AMPS is still often quite high in relation to the rest of her cycle, but I am grateful to have the numbers a little more even.

In the end, I don't know that the timing of the steroid alone does much, but rather it's a combo of dosage of the steroid with the right dose of insulin. I've seen some cats who get an immediate bump in numbers from steroids, and others for whom the effect is less obvious and the cats are harder to regulate. ECID.

I'm a little tired from a week of traveling and working, so I hope this makes sense. Hope Eddie surfs safely for you today. :bighug:

Katherine, this makes perfect sense! The only difference is that Eddie is on such a small dose of Prednisolone that it's impossible, really, to go to twice daily. He gets 1.25mg once a day! Thanks for sharing that experience. It's so hard to tell sometimes the effects of medication when dealing with SRT kitties, too!
 
Is the reason you are using AT because your vet has asked you to? I vaguely remember my asking you but I'm sorry, I don't remember the reason you gave.
Originally, when Eddie and Blue were diagnosed, the vet recommended AT and so I've been using it all along, in spite of the ridiculously expensive test strips, which in TR add up!
 
Back
Top