OTJ Trial 12/4 Tiger AMPS 172

J9 Pearson

Member Since 2024
Dare to Dream!!! I think Tiger's higher numbers have been rebounding from lows and my acrocat has been working his way down steadily with his lantus. All other physical signs (quieter purr, more active and even a blip with some low carb vs no carb food due to me forgetting his when we went out of town) point towards his tumor shrinking on the carbergoline. He is *just* shy of the 6 months mark. He technically earned a final lantus decrease to zero with his 88 last night but I know the depot complicates the decision. At this point, how often is it recommended I test him since he didn't have insulin this AM? I am SO hopeful!

@Wendy&Neko


? - 11/20 Tiger AMPS 101+2 97 +4 146
 
Wow, he has been coming down in dose nicely, that's so exciting. Awesome and nice job!

I'll be curious to see what Wendy says. Maybe the acro changes things. The OTJ trials I've seen usually the cats are like almost solid green.

When we were in your position, after 0.25u, we did a 0.1u dose and then even a drop dose before going completely off.
 
I'm afraid Tim is right. Tiger is close, but not there yet. I suspect last night's greens were from the depot of 0.5 units. 172 is higher than we'd like to see for a kitty ready for OTJ. And definitely nothing above 200, which he saw yesterday. I think he'd benefit from a bit more time at 0.25 units.

For many people following SLGS, it's quite difficult to maintain a cat in greens and only occasionally low blues, due to the reduction point of 90. Some people lower their reduction point, say to below 80 or 70 and see how he does on that. We normally recommend a dose of 0.1 units for cats still seeing majority blues on 0.25 units.

I do think being acro makes some difference, but so far Tiger has been seeing only higher greens and moving gradually down the dosing scale. I do love the Tiger report, sounds like the cabergoline is bringing back his old self. :joyful:
 
I'm afraid Tim is right. Tiger is close, but not there yet. I suspect last night's greens were from the depot of 0.5 units. 172 is higher than we'd like to see for a kitty ready for OTJ. And definitely nothing above 200, which he saw yesterday. I think he'd benefit from a bit more time at 0.25 units.

For many people following SLGS, it's quite difficult to maintain a cat in greens and only occasionally low blues, due to the reduction point of 90. Some people lower their reduction point, say to below 80 or 70 and see how he does on that. We normally recommend a dose of 0.1 units for cats still seeing majority blues on 0.25 units.

I do think being acro makes some difference, but so far Tiger has been seeing only higher greens and moving gradually down the dosing scale. I do love the Tiger report, sounds like the cabergoline is bringing back his old self. :joyful:
As always thank you for the advice. He was 146 at his PMPS tonight. I could barely get the .25 dose pulled correctly. Is there a trick for the .1 unit?
 
Back
Top