12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +3 58 +3.5 58 +4.25 63 +5.75 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
happy Caturday to you!!!
well i didn't hear the darn alarm so i never got up to test him at +9...but DH got up at +10.5 to drink some water and he says he found Rocket munching away on his midnight snack!
so now AMPS 113 could be from food spike!
we shall see!

here is yesterday....viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31227 i was so happy with a green pmps! i have a few questions to ask...but they're not urgent so when i'm more awake i will ask away....btb but not for long....
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113

Nice start to Rocket's day. Pretty, pretty, pretty. Or should I say, handsome, handsome, handsome.

Have a good one.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113

Hope you are enjoying your short btb :smile:

Not a bad place to start the day, especially with a +10.5 snackus in there.

Happy Caturday Claudia.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41-CRAP!

it must have been a food spike...crap crap crap

+2.25 41.4
fell asleep. DH woke me up saying my alarm went off at +2....so Rocket got up and headed to the tub...to go drink water and i figured i will test him there while he lays nicely on his pillow and do fluids at the same time...what a surprise i got! so i gave him some food with chicken dust....while his fluids were warming up (bag is pretty full so takes longer) i proceeded to give him only chicken dust (which is the norm for when we do fluids)....he ate it soooo willingly.....testing in 20 mins

crap crap crap nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58

+2.75 57.6
hope it's not all the dust he ate and that he will come down in 1/2 hr for me....
he is lying by Comet's waterbowl.....probably the 41 got him thirsty or something...hmmmmmm
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58

Wow, indeed! You had a busy night last night helping Georgia and Simon, so you can be forgiven for not hearing the alarm. Looks like Rocket is on the way back up. Go Rocket!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58

It looks like Rocket saved the excitement for this morning! That was a very nice response to food.

Thanks for all of your help last night.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58

Sienne and Gabby said:
It looks like Rocket saved the excitement for this morning! That was a very nice response to food.

Thanks for all of your help last night.
had i known he had this up his sleeves!!! i tell you...what a way to fully wake up though!
picked him up from the floor where he was laying by the water bowl...i cleaned him up and is now on the couch debating on wheather to groom or sleep....he can't decide

+3.25 55.8

no problem Sienne...i tried to help but i don't have your skills and knowledge....hope i didn't do any damage...or gave wrong info...
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58 +3.25 56

WOW! Nice surprise with that 41 - that'll wake you up. Looks like Rocket will have a great cycle this morning. :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58 +3.25 56 +4 68

+4 68.4...he hasn't had food and the chicken dust since the +2.25 41
so hopefully he won't go sky high on me!

that was a close call for sure! first 41 for him

does that mean the pm dose will be a decrease?

i can't be here past his +0.5 and +3.5 roughly.....i've cancelled the last couple of weeks (pretty much since this whole thing started) but i can't cancel anymore.....i need to head out at that time with DH....

what should i do with the dose?
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58 +3.25 56 +4 68

I can't believe he surprised you with a 41 :shock: He really likes to keep you dancing on your tippy toes doesn't he!

No advice from me. I'll be following along.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +5.25 85-dose advise for P

still not interested in food since his 41!
i'm still wondering about his pm dose.....being that he got to 41, does that mean he's earned a dose reduction? i'm still not clear on that one....

thoughts?
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +5.25 85-dose advise for P

It looks to me like he earned a dosecrease. Will wait for others to confirm. In the mean time, maybe you should start practicing how to measure 0.25.

I went back and read last night's Simon condo. Good job, helping out with Sienne and Georgia. :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +5.25 85-dose advise for P

Dyana said:
It looks to me like he earned a dosecrease. Will wait for others to confirm. In the mean time, maybe you should start practicing how to measure 0.25.

I went back and read last night's Simon condo. Good job, helping out with Sienne and Georgia. :-D

thanks Dyana...we are here to help one another though i'm not an expert ;-)
will have to buy some milk to start practising....and a magnifying glass.... :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95-dose advise for PM?

he ate at +6 so i figured i'd wait to poke him again...now at +7 95.4
what's up with that????? what's going on?????
should i decrease to 0.25 for tonight still??????? confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +2.75 58 +3.25 56 +4 68

Claudia & Rocket said:
+4 68.4...he hasn't had food and the chicken dust since the +2.25 41
so hopefully he won't go sky high on me!

that was a close call for sure! first 41 for him

does that mean the pm dose will be a decrease?

i can't be here past his +0.5 and +3.5 roughly.....i've cancelled the last couple of weeks (pretty much since this whole thing started) but i can't cancel anymore.....i need to head out at that time with DH....

what should i do with the dose?

generally speaking, when kitty has returned from the falls or is not newly diagnosed we've recommended reducing the dose after
a). kitty drops below 40
or
b). "when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week

by these standards, reducing the dose is questionable. it would be nice to see those preshot numbers come down a little more before reducing when dealing with a kitty who has returned from the falls. a reduction may work. it may not.

however, given your inability to monitor tonight, rocket's history of dropping early, and considering rocket is a renal kitty (can't count on him eating when you want him to)... i'll have to be honest. if it were me, i'd skip tonight's shot if he were my cat. skipping shots is not a decision made lightly and should never be done often, but occasionally it's a decision made in the best interest of the cat. given the circumstances, i'm not so sure i'd feel comfortable (and enjoy myself tonight) administering a BCS dose before leaving the house.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

just got back from buying supplies....just tested +9.5 90

he gets the pheno at +0.5 tonight...which basically...give him the pill put him infront of his food with beef liver dust on it.....5 mins later we head out....

Jill,
what freaks me out is that
1)may not be able to get home at his +3 (with traffic and snowy roads, etc)
2)he sleeps after his pheno....it makes him sleepy....after all it is an anti-seizure med.... so he won't go eat once the pill kicks in
3)dropping so early in his cycle you are right...i wouldn't enjoy tonight and would be constantly thinking the what ifs....

looks like so far he has managed to stay in the greens except AMPS.....i know it's still early to tell where he will go for PMPS....but i think i will skip the dose....that 41 so early is really worrying me that i won't be home to monitor the early part of the cycle.....

better skip it and if he goes up again tomorrow...tomorrow is another day, right?

i am doing the right thing skipping tonight's dose, right??????

edited to add: after speaking with DH he wants me to ask if skipping the dose will move Rocket back to square one? if so, he is of the opinion that we are better off to stay home and continue with 0.5u and monitor Rocket....what do you ALL think? DH doesn't want to ruin Rocket's progress (probably too cause he maybe doesn't want to go out ;-) )......

input?
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

claudia, i don't like skipping shots. never have. but when it comes to the safety of a kitty... any kitty... that's exactly what i will suggest. most caregivers are not working with the same set of issues you have with rocket. these circumstances have to be given ample consideration.

given the same set of circumstances, if rocket were mine and i would not be available to monitor at a crucial time in his cycle... i would skip the shot.
and i would feel i was doing the right thing for my cat.

yes, the numbers may be a little higher tomorrow, but he'll be safe tonight. deal with tomorrow... tomorrow.
go. have a good time and don't feel any regrets. there's nothing to regret when decisions made reflect what is best for your cat.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

edited to add: after speaking with DH he wants me to ask if skipping the dose will move Rocket back to square one? if so, he is of the opinion that we are better off to stay home and continue with 0.5u and monitor Rocket....what do you ALL think? DH doesn't want to ruin Rocket's progress (probably too cause he maybe doesn't want to go out )......

input?
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

Claudia, Just wanted to say hi and thanks again for helping last night. It sounds like you have had lots of excitement at your house today.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

Claudia & Rocket said:
edited to add: after speaking with DH he wants me to ask if skipping the dose will move Rocket back to square one? if so, he is of the opinion that we are better off to stay home and continue with 0.5u and monitor Rocket....what do you ALL think? DH doesn't want to ruin Rocket's progress (probably too cause he maybe doesn't want to go out )......

input?
what you do is up to you. :-D
overall, rocket is considered tightly regulated. i don't *think* skipping one shot will mess things up much at all. it certainly will NOT send you back to square one.

look at 10/23/10 on alex's ss. my grandkids were here from out-of-state and we were spending the entire day at the zoo. i knew i wouldn't be around to feed her curve so i opted for peace of mind... skipped her shot.

when a cat is tightly regulated, you'll see less of an impact from a skipped shot than you will otherwise.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

the decision has been made....we are staying in! so Rocket can get his regular dose and i can monitor him closely....decisions decisions....i would really hate to send him back to where we were at the beginning, though Jill you are saying he is tighly regulated i still would feel oh so guilty if by chance that would be the case......and i can see he has certainly surprised me with his dives so early in the cycle....the chances of being back to square one with him....leaves me guessing!! if you know what i mean....

i wouldn't enjoy being out as is anyways ......i know one has to have a life...but he is doing sooo good and i really would not be happy if the one shot ruins all the progress we've made.....

am i crazy for thinking this way?
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90-dose for PM?

I probably would have decided to stay home too and we've never had a low here. Hugs to you and Rocket.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90 +11 103

he ate at +9.75....licked the bowl clean!
now +11 102.6 back to blue!

WCR: i'm happy to say that his poops (sorry to be so gross getting so close to dinner time) are back to normal color! ;-) one less thing to worry about....for now....
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90 +11 103

What an exceptional day for Rocket!Nice numbers, nice everything - well the 41 was exciting, but still nice. Well done! I am sorry you'll miss this evenings plans, but also understand your decision. have a great evening! :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket AMPS 113 +2.25 41 +7 95 +9.5 90 +11 103

I hope you have a great evening even if you did miss out on your plans tonight. I may very well have done the same...
like I've ever been in your shoes :roll: I wish.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket PMPS 103

recap
he ate at +10.5 before AMPS
AMPS 113.....eating here
+2.25 41.4.... ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile fed w chicken dust/fluids given as well nailbite_smile
+2.75 57.6...lying by waterbowl....seems like the low # sent him there....
+3.25 55.8....on couch...not decided if he wants to groom himself or sleep
+4 68.4....sleeping
+5.25 84.6.....not eating... just hanging out
+6-----ate here so no test
+7 95.4.....sleeping....both DH and i went out to get supplies ie:magnifying glass, more gravy, lancets,etc
+9.5 90.....tested at soon as i walked in the door.....he ate at +9.75
+11 102.6.....sleeping
PMPS 102.6

got the gravy all in one container (drained it without the chunks)...i'm all prepped and ready to go tonight....let's see what kind of race he gives me...hey...money can be made on Rocket....if we bet when/if he'll dive!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

ok....right now i'm :lol: :lol: .....but probably shortly i will be :cry: nailbite_smile :cry: nailbite_smile

i have cleared my schedule to tend to Sir Rocket the King!!!! he has me oh soooooo well trained!!!! ;-)
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103!

interesting condo today. Rocket is doing great and I bet he'll be ready for that reduction soon. His numbers are beautiful. :smile:

You did good work last night, thank you.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92

he wasn't interested in eating at PMPS so i fed him a lilat +0.5
now +1 91.8

i'm watching him like a hawk this time.....
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72

Thanks for helping Keri out last night, Claudia. Rocket is doing so well, his numbers are beautiful! Now that you are all ready for him to go low....I think Karrie is right, he will wait until you are not expecting it! :mrgreen:

I hope you have a good night!
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72

Crossing my fingers for you that you have a......errrr.... less eventful evening that the extremely eventful day you had! Rocket is an extremely loved boy!! I am sure he knows it!
Keep at it claudia! Wow, you are getting very good at handling his dives!!
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58

+3.5 57.6
no food given here....playing with him a lil bit...he gets tired so easily....but i'm happy he is in good spirits!
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58

Just surfing along
smiley-sport007.gif
in the 58s
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58

FWIW, I don't think you are crazy for staying in....we would have done the exact same thing. Look how great Rocket is doing and even though it might not have affected him, like you said, you probably wouldn't have had a good time. Hope he continues to do well tonight..
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +1 92 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58

Boy Rocket sure likes to keep you on your toes. I hope he surfs for you tonight. He sure is working towards a reduction isn't he? Love to hear he's been playing. I know how much it means to you. I feel the same way with Tori.
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58 +4.25 6

i didn't give him any food at +3.5 but then i made him have a lil workout....i played with him 10 whole minutes!!!! so he then got really hungry and asked for food...he ate at +3.75...now at +4.25 63

perhaps crisis has been adverted tonight!!! don't wanna jinx it!
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +2 72 +3 58 +3.5 58 +4.25 6

YEY! playtime equals SNACKTIME, equals, KNOCK ON WOOD TIME!
lol
 
Re: 12/4 Rocket +11 103 PMPS 103 +3 58 +3.5 58 +4.25 63 +5.7

+5.75 84.6...gave catnip!!! overall he seems good! alert/playful/more sociable!

well this bean is going ni ni.....

i made sure DH sets all the alarms possible at home....so i don't miss anything! :mrgreen:

good night everyone....thank you for your help and well wishes for Sir Rocket the King!!! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top