12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +3 53 +4 79 +5 97 +6 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109322

A scary number last night. I was so exhausted I fell asleep right after dinner and didn't wake up until 4:00am. Gave RF cat her pill, and Mocha was begging for food, so I took his BG before I gave him food and it was 97 at +9! :shock: OMG do I feel like a bad mom, what was happening before that? nailbite_smile Why didn't I set an alarm for myself when I felt myself drifting off on the coach? You can be sure he is getting a +2 and +4 tonight, and only then will I sit back and rest! Sheesh :oops: I did a number one no-no, not getting a pre bed test in.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262

Don't beat yourself up...it does happen to all of us, and Mocha is fine today. Sometimes it is so hard to fight the sleep.That +9 was a very nice number, so let's just assume he surfed safely there all night. Today is a new day - have a great one!
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262 +2 176

We have all done that more than once :roll: It's ok :YMHUG:
Mocha is fine and has a nice slide going this morning ;-)
Happy Humpday!
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262 +2 176 PMPS 216

Mocha is looking great! And yes, please don't beat yourself up! It happens even though we try so hard not to let it. This dance can be exhausting, especially when you have other kitty issues to watch over. You are doing great :-D
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262 +2 176 PMPS 216 +2 99

I'd suggest getting a +2.5. That's a nose dive if I ever saw one!! In fact, I hope you gave Mocha some LC (or even MC) after that 99.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262 +2 176 PMPS 216 +2 99

I will test Mocha again at +4. That 99 was a surprise. I even thought his dose may have been a little on the skinny side tonight... :-|
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha AMPS 262 +2 176 PMPS 216 +2 99

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd suggest getting a +2.5. That's a nose dive if I ever saw one!! In fact, I hope you gave Mocha some LC (or even MC) after that 99.

I can get a +2.5, and I will give him a few carbs if it is still dropping.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

Not sure what is going on, got a 57 for the +2.5. Fed him a small bowl of MC wet food with a drop of Karo syrup. Am I just going to have to guide him through the night with food?
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

just pop open a can of high carb gravy cat food, squeeze out a teaspoon of only the gravy, give it to mocha. wait 20ish minutes and test again.

you're in control. don't worry.

if you don't have gravy, give karo syrup, maple syrup, or honey.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

ah, i saw your "HELP" but not your post. so you've given something.

basically, you need to keep testing until you see 2 rising numbers tests 30 minutes apart, AFTER you've stopped feeding carbs.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

one of the things we're looking for is a +2 about the same as the preshot number. a number about the same indicates an "active" Lantus cycle - the typical curve example is shown in the "New to the Group" sticky.

with a +2 that's more than 50% less than the preshot, that's a red flag for extra attention to the cat that cycle. you absolutely can't leave mocha at this point with that kind of speed of a drop. if you need to sleep, you've got to set an alarm and be positive you will wake up with it. you need to check every 20-30 minutes at this point.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

nothing like posting a zillion posts in a row, but i don't want to edit one and have you not see it.

btw, i'm embarrassed to say that i don't know your name. :oops:

mocha looks just like my kitten, Frodo.

i can stay with you if you want company - i'm on west coast time and will be up for several hours still. if you haven't done this before it can be a little nerve-wracking. i'll watch for you to post again.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

julie & punkin (ga) said:
basically, you need to keep testing until you see 2 rising numbers tests 30 minutes apart, AFTER you've stopped feeding carbs.

So I'm testing, then feeding. At what point do I stop giving food and look for the rising numbers? When he starts refusing the food?

julie & punkin (ga) said:
you absolutely can't leave mocha at this point with that kind of speed of a drop. if you need to sleep, you've got to set an alarm and be positive you will wake up with it. you need to check every 20-30 minutes at this point.

I will not leave him alone, and I can test every half hour. No cold medicine either tonight :? Maybe some ~O) we will see. Le sigh. I wish I knew what happened. Thank you for checking in Julie, I really appreciate it.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

My name is Cheryl :smile: Nice to meet you. It is a little nerve racking :-| I am going to search through the threads, I am sure I have read about how to deal with this, but the details aren't coming to me right now.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

there's a yellow starred sticky on the top of this forum that's on shooting and handling low numbers.

nice to meet you too. :-D

you're wanting him to stay above 50 and show us clearly that he's not going to drop any further. he didn't actually get below 50, which would mean a dose reduction, but if he's hard to pull up he might need to be reduced in the morning anyway. i saw no one can test him mid-day.

the basic routine is to check him and if he's below 50, give a tsp of gravy or a drop or two of karo. wait 20-30 minutes and restest. if he's still below 50, repeat. lather, rinse, repeat.

if he's over 50 you can wait 20-30 minutes without giving him any carbs, then retest him again. if he's below 50, repeat the carbs routine. if he's over 50, you can wait another 20-30 minutes and test again.

i think it's been about 30 minutes, so would you test him again and post the # in your subject line so it can be seen from the main Lantus TR page?
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 Help!?

Cheryl

I'm also around now and keeping an eye out. You're doing great!
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 Help!?

So I got a 53, so I gave him another tsp of gravy mixed with two tsp LC FF with a drop of Karo syrup. I will check again at +3.5
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 Help!?

+3.5 was 69

Fed him a little more MC food.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 Help!?

I'd get a +4 to be sure he's still coming up.

Do you mind taking the "help" out of the subject line since someof us are watching you?
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 Help!?

i would also stop feeding him with the tests and see if he's rising on his own. just recheck again in a half hour and see if it's gone back down or holding up.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79

+4 was 79

Didn't feed him this time. Test again in 30mins? Or wait longer?
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79

Hi Cheryl, just wanted to drop in really quick to to say that you're doing a great job! and you've got a few of the best advisers to watch over you that a person could ask for! Get on that surfboard, Mocha! It's time to relax and surf in the pretty greens...mids and uppers, please! :mrgreen: Good night!
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79 +5 97

+5 was 97

Again, I didn't feed him. Recheck in an hour?
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +2.5 57 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79

cheryl, what are you thinking about his dose for the morning? you have a couple of options - so i'm going to think out loud for you.

he might bounce from these numbers. if he does, you might want to continue this 1.0u dose in the morning.

i'm thinking that if you hadn't intervened with HC at +2.5, he would likely have earned a reduction. but he didn't go below 50, so technically, he didn't.

on your profile, it says that no one can test him from 10-4 every day.

those are the things i'm looking at. the choice, of course, is yours. if no one is able to test him mid-day tomorrow, i might be inclined to reduce by .25u to a new dose of .75u. on the other hand, if he bounces, you could shoot 1.0u in the morning and reduce tomorrow night. or you could stick with the 1.0u because he didn't technically go below 50. if you don't reduce, and he doesn't bounce by amps, i sure would want someone to be able to check him tomorrow before his nadir to make sure he's staying in safe numbers.

if you do reduce and his numbers go up, you could call it a failed reduction and return to 1.0u later.

i just want to lay out these things for you to consider before you shoot in the morning.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79 +5 97

Was his last food at +3.5? You want a couple of hours of no food and rising numbers before calling it a night. You could do one hour or half an hour if you want that 1/2 hour extra sleep.

Great job tonight - good to see Mocha surfing green for a stretch. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

BTW: you might want to note in your SS what you fed him and when. Next time this happens you can see what worked and for how long.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79 +5 97

I was thinking I would reduce his dose in the AM tomorrow. There is no way for someone to test him, so it's safer to just reduce his dose to .75U.

I wish I knew why he took this nose dive. I am racking my brain, wondering if maybe I was looking at the wrong mark on the syringe and mis-dosed him. I am just so baffled, I have no idea what caused this. He has been eating normal, and if anything his food has been a bit hi in carbs lately. We haven't changed his thyroid medication. He hasn't had any diarrhea in ~48 hrs. I guess it could be the AB shot wearing off.
 
Re: 12/4 Mocha PMPS 216 +2 99 +3 53 +3.5 69 +4 79 +5 97

unless the ABs had sugar in them, getting done with it wouldn't necessarily cause any effect to his BGs. usually the effect is seen 2-3 days after the ABs are started if they are clearing up an infection.

i think without having tests from earlier today, like mid-day-cycle, it's impossible to know exactly what's going on here. he could've been clearing a small bounce from mid-day today. when they're clearing a bounce it can act like that.

but mocha's also responding well to this insulin - you've had 8 cycles since your last dose decrease. although a little nervewracking, this is a good thing! :-D
 
+6 was 126

So, now how often should I test him? Every hour? Or should he be good for the rest of the night? I am happy he is getting a decrease, it is hard that I can't get tests during the day. At least there is someone home during the day that will feed him and at least look at him. I often call home around lunch time to see how he is doing.
 
Excellent job, Cheryl and Mocha - very nice steering! I hope you got some rest - I know you're fighting cold, too. Mocha really is responding nicely to the insulin...please surf safely today, little guy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top