KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
YES!!! This was so good, it was worth saying twice, huh Wendy? ;-) That is exactly what I've been struggling with the most. I keep thinking that it's a fat lot of good I'm even doing to Mikey because his numbers aren't stable and he's still going over 200 on a daily basis. Thank you!!! I feel so much better knowing that it doesn't matter if he's bouncing as long as he's at least hitting normal numbers occasionally. You don't know how much ongoing stress and anxiety you have just saved me from!
drinking24
I've now got my roommate and a friend both willing to look after Mikey. I actually trained my friend a bit yesterday since even though my roommate said he would do it, he's been less-than-available for said training so I'm not really feeling comfortable that he'd be as responsible about Mikey's timely insulin shots and testing as my friend is. Roughly how much is considered normal pay for taking care of a diabetic cat? I was thinking $50 a shot (with pre-shot testing and at least 1 nadir test) for $200 total (I'll be missing 4 shots)?
So, in this instance, it's a better idea to wait the full 10 cycles than 6? Is there a general guideline somewhere else on whether to raise the dose after the minimum 6 cycles vs. the maximum 10 as according to the TR Protocol? I wouldn't have been able to raise his dose till this weekend, anyway, but any further information about this is helpful since I'm still learning (understatement of the year! :lol: ).
Wendy&Tiggy said:I did see you asking when the bouncing stops... have you looked at Tiggys SS (signature below)? He hasnt stopped bouncing yet and has been at it for months. Some cats stop bouncing quickly in days or weeks, others do it forever.. but bouncing is a good thing since a high flat number is bad - bouncing means at least you are pulling him down into normal numbers!.
YES!!! This was so good, it was worth saying twice, huh Wendy? ;-) That is exactly what I've been struggling with the most. I keep thinking that it's a fat lot of good I'm even doing to Mikey because his numbers aren't stable and he's still going over 200 on a daily basis. Thank you!!! I feel so much better knowing that it doesn't matter if he's bouncing as long as he's at least hitting normal numbers occasionally. You don't know how much ongoing stress and anxiety you have just saved me from!
drinking24
Sienne and Gabby said:Do you have someone who can care for Mikey while you're gone? There may be a vet tech from your vet's office who can come by and give shots. I use a vet tech for Gabby and I reduce her dose so there's minimal risk for a problem with hypo.
I've now got my roommate and a friend both willing to look after Mikey. I actually trained my friend a bit yesterday since even though my roommate said he would do it, he's been less-than-available for said training so I'm not really feeling comfortable that he'd be as responsible about Mikey's timely insulin shots and testing as my friend is. Roughly how much is considered normal pay for taking care of a diabetic cat? I was thinking $50 a shot (with pre-shot testing and at least 1 nadir test) for $200 total (I'll be missing 4 shots)?
Marje and Gracie said:I think when a kitty is hitting blue numbers, it's a good idea to hold for ten cycles and let the dose settle. And, as Sienne said, you want to let the bounce clear. Raising the dose as a bounce is clearing can put Mikey at low numbers fast since bounce clearing cycles tend to have a little momentum behind them.
So, in this instance, it's a better idea to wait the full 10 cycles than 6? Is there a general guideline somewhere else on whether to raise the dose after the minimum 6 cycles vs. the maximum 10 as according to the TR Protocol? I wouldn't have been able to raise his dose till this weekend, anyway, but any further information about this is helpful since I'm still learning (understatement of the year! :lol: ).