12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505 +5 467 +6 488 +9 459 PMPS 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Last night:
PMPS:512
+10: 358

Another rough night with a teething baby (if anyone has a great suggestion on how to get him out of pain, I'd love to hear it). He was crying. I was crying. Not good.

Anyway, I was only able to get a +10 this morning.

Looks like we are getting more of a curve going however.

Cobb is doing well this AM. I came into my room last night to find him in MY SPOT on the bed. I had to climb over him to get in! Typical cat...take the comfy spot and relegate the human to figure out how to get comfortable. He's also very purry! VERY purry!!

I'm thinking an increase is in order for tonight. Looking back at the spreadsheet our low numbers just after we started insulin came around 3-4units so maybe we'll see some good progress soon.

Hope everyone has a great Wednesday. Here's looking for some lower numbers.
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505

:lol: :lol: Silly cats :lol: :lol:
I can't tell you how many times I've had to climb over one of them as not to disturb :roll: :lol:
Good luck with the dosecrease tonight ;-)
I hope your baby is feeling better today and you get some rest :smile:
Happy Humpday!
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505

Hi Suzanne,

It is too funny how we all let the kitties keep the choice spots, and we take whatever is leftover :lol:

Good luck with Cobb's dosecrease - it is nice to hear that he is feeling so good!

Have you tried Hylands teething tabs? I think that my DD said that helped DGS the best. Hope you are able to nap with baby and Cobb today I-)
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505 +5 467 +6 488

Thanks! We have some teething tablets and will try them if we need to tonight.

Well, it looks like Cobb is rebelling against the low dose with higher numbers today.

I think an increase to 3.0 is warranted for tonight. Thoughts?
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505 +5 467 +6 488 +9 459

Since you're on the fast-track program, I agree for the increase tonight. ;-)

My sister swore by those teething tablets! Another thing that worked really well with my niece and nephew was she would freeze wet washcloths and let them chew on it (better for daytime use).
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505 +5 467 +6 488 +9 459

I tend to agree with the increase to 3.00 tonight. Let's see what his +12 is. I would try to get some more tests tonight if you can.
 
Re: 12/4 Cobb AMPS 415 +2 505 +5 467 +6 488 +9 459

And another vote for upping it to 3 units

Hopefully you'll get some better numbers tonight!
 
Dose increased to 3u. I know it can be the 20% variance, but I don't understand the lowest number at +12.

I have a feeling I'll be up a lot tonight. So I"ll get tests when I can. Cobb isn't being incredibly cooperative with the ear pricks anymore. He tries to escape now...lol.
 
Does Cobb get special treats and extra lovings and "Good Boy"s at test time?

I think you can start with a +2.5 or a +3 and see how he is doing. I would set an alarm now to try to get a nadir test, too.

Good luck with the new dose. ;-)
 
Mikey sometimes pulls this same stunt when he hasn't been snacking all day long because he's been too busy sleeping. :lol:

The lower he is at pre-shot, then the less he needs to drop for a good nadir. ;-) I hope tonight's numbers look even better! :mrgreen:
 
Dyana" said:
Does Cobb get special treats and extra lovings and "Good Boy"s at test time?
No extra treats right now, but he gets a ton of loving at shot time. He would get more loving all the time if he would be a brave cat and come around the baby. I mean, in all fairness, they're about the same size. :lol:

Nadir (+6) should come right around the time of baby's 2am feed, so I'll grab it then.

KPassa said:
Mikey sometimes pulls this same stunt when he hasn't been snacking all day long because he's been too busy sleeping. :lol:

The lower he is at pre-shot, then the less he needs to drop for a good nadir. ;-) I hope tonight's numbers look even better! :mrgreen:
One good thing to report. I fed him at +2:30 and he didn't try to kill me by wrapping himself around my feet to get to the food. He snacked on it about an hour or two afterwards, so...it seems as though he isn't starving anymore!
 
i had a thought today about cobb while i was at work - yes, i think about "our" cats while i'm at work! let's don't tell any non-cat people! or my employer! :-D

when did you start this vial or pen of Lantus? and i might've asked this before, so forgive me if it's a repeat, but did you look at the post on caring for your Lantus? we did a video on how to draw the insulin without contaminating it. it should be a completely clear solution, no thready material or floaters in it, and you shouldn't have see-sawed the insulin between the syringe and the bottle. if i had more motivation i could go back through your posts and see if you already talked about this, but i'm just going to ask and risk repeating myself. ;-) :lol:

regarding the low at +12 - hard to say. you're using a different meter, he could be responding to the insulin . . . cats do a lot of things that don't have a neat explanation.

hoping this increase is just the right thing.

as far as your sweet baby, i used a teething gel that was specifically for teething, although my babies were babies a long time ago! i think it was called Orajel or Numz-it- something like that. seemed to work - i never cried with them - although i do remember leaving one of them screaming in the crib, closing the door and going outside so i could regroup! :shock: babies are exhausting - we love them, but oh they wear you out. once you've gone through it you never forget it! :YMHUG:
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
when did you start this vial or pen of Lantus? and i might've asked this before, so forgive me if it's a repeat, but did you look at the post on caring for your Lantus? we did a video on how to draw the insulin without contaminating it. it should be a completely clear solution, no thready material or floaters in it, and you shouldn't have see-sawed the insulin between the syringe and the bottle.

Uh...it is clear. No threads or floaters. I have been rolling it like the Prozinc. Did I screw it up?
 
it's a clear solution, so it doesn't need to be rolled. lantus likes to be kept still, in fact. a lot of people store it in a cup or box, something like that, in a vegetable drawer.

how old is it?
 
Julie...she had been on Pro Zinc but had maxed out at 12 units so was trying Lantus...on her spreadsheet, she switched to Lantus on Oct 9th and started at 6 units..went up 2 units at a time about every couple of weeks until he was on the 12 units of Lantus that brought her to us for some help.
 
Good luck with the increase, Suzanne. No tips on the teething as I don't have kids but I remember my sisters using the orajel, too.

Hope you get some rest and have a better night tonight.
 
thanks chris, i did see that on Cobb's ss after i posted the question.

suzanne, the insulin is probably ok, but from this point on, take care of it like it's described here. hold it up to the light regularly and examine to make sure it doesn't develop any oogies in it. :-D
 
Yes, the Lantus is right around 2 months old, but we are about at the end of a vial so I'll change how we care for the next one. I'll stop rolling this one as well. It doesn't always get rolled...my husband noted it looked elsifferent than the Prozinc and he didn't see a difference in rolling it so I'm pretty sure he doesn't do it when he gives a shot.
 
you might want to switch to the pens. they hold 300u each instead of 1000u. you can get a box of 5 or you may be able to find some pharmacy that will open the box and sell one pen at a time. they're a little cheaper up front if you can get one pen. you need a different prescription for the pens - they're called Solostar Pens. you don't use the pen needles that they sell with the pens, you still use your syringes.
 
How does that work? My vet was resistant to the pens when I initially asked her about them. Has anyone found them to be more potent than the vial or do they last longer? What are the pros and cons?
 
I think the pens are easier to use....don't inject air into them. If you drop them, they are encased in plastic and so wouldn't break. They are also more cost efficient. One pack of pens contains 5-3 ml pens and they usually have expiration dates way out in the future. You can likely use a pen until it is empty.

Most vets either don't know about pens or they are like your vet because they think you have to use pen needles. You don't. You just draw from them with your syringes as if they were a vial (except don't inject air). They do have a lot of pressure at first so you have to hang on to the plunger so it doesn't pull the insulin back into the pen. Whether you are using pen or vial, you don't want insulin getting back into the pen or vial.

Most of us use pens unless it's for a really high dose cat....then it's cheaper to use the vial.

Personally, I don't know any down side to pens.
 
The pens hold 3ml (300 units) so a box of 5 is 15ml (1500 units)

The best thing about them is that they last longer..not only can you use every last drop, if you happen to drop one, you haven't lost it all. You pull the cap off the pen and insert your regular syringe into the rubber stopper. You do NOT add air (they have a vacuum)
 
the only downside i can think of is the initial cost of buying a box of 5 pens is more than one vial. pharmacies are very individual about if they will sell just one pen. someone posted recently saying that pharmacies that serve nursing homes will often break up a box and sell the pens individually. i had a local Sav-on pharmacy (inside a grocery store) that would sell one pen - but it took some calling around to find one that would.

the other thing is that powerful suction at the beginning - if you watch the video, you can see it. i had a pen that i had stopped using and it sucked the insulin right back out of my syringe into the pen. it's been so long since i did the video, i don't remember exactly why i stopped using that pen except that it had pulled the insulin out of my syringe back into the pen. however, once you've gotten a few doses out of the pen it stops doing that. possessed, you know! :lol:
 
Target stores, Sams Wholesale Club (you don't have to be a member to use the pharmacy) and hospital pharmacies are the places I've heard most often willing to split up a box, but you really just have to call around
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top