KeikosHuman
Member Since 2014
Here's my last post and ss updated:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129421
Mr. K had a wild ride yesterday from 194 or 183 PMPS to 509 in the evening. When he was 194 got I happened to have just talked to my vet who I reached before hearing from FDMB. She suggested 7 units since I planned to not be home last night. I ended up coming back to check on him at +3 and he was so high I gave him the 2 units so he would have 9 total.
What was interesting is different readings in each ear. I'd not yet seen him so low so I took another check in the other ear and he was 10 points lower. He was 230 on Alphatrak.
Back on 9 units today. I gave him some cooked turkey and he did a lovely bounce run with the morsel to his alternate eating spot! Fun! bcatrun_gif
My vet is not on go with the protocol we're using. She mentioned a recent article said many vets discontinued this protocol due to hypo incidents. She thinks 5-7 day waits with a full curve each 5-7 days is preferable. She doesn't think owners should be testing so often. I disagree as more information can only help. I will make the call. Will plan to increase him tomorrow or Sat to 9.5. Your advice is welcome.
Thank you all for your help
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129421
Mr. K had a wild ride yesterday from 194 or 183 PMPS to 509 in the evening. When he was 194 got I happened to have just talked to my vet who I reached before hearing from FDMB. She suggested 7 units since I planned to not be home last night. I ended up coming back to check on him at +3 and he was so high I gave him the 2 units so he would have 9 total.
What was interesting is different readings in each ear. I'd not yet seen him so low so I took another check in the other ear and he was 10 points lower. He was 230 on Alphatrak.
Back on 9 units today. I gave him some cooked turkey and he did a lovely bounce run with the morsel to his alternate eating spot! Fun! bcatrun_gif
My vet is not on go with the protocol we're using. She mentioned a recent article said many vets discontinued this protocol due to hypo incidents. She thinks 5-7 day waits with a full curve each 5-7 days is preferable. She doesn't think owners should be testing so often. I disagree as more information can only help. I will make the call. Will plan to increase him tomorrow or Sat to 9.5. Your advice is welcome.
Thank you all for your help