12/31 Vyktor PMPS 445 oh no given Convenia & Metacam

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Poor little Vyktor, I think the race back up took it out of him yesterday he was very very sleepy at PMS. So sleepy he was dribbling (or maybe we have a dental issue). I think he might be feeling a bit sorry that he didn't go along with yesterday's dosecrease now!


Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59676
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor AMPS 446 +4 376

Generally, you do not want to increase on a bounce. You're just going to need to wait this out until his numbers come back down. I think Jill noted yesterday that a bounce can last for as long as 72 hours. Don't get an itchy finger on the syringe!!
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor AMPS 446 +4 376

poor vyktor! i think it must not feel too good to have your blood sugar zooming all over the map. i've noticed punkin gets lethargic both if he's too high or too low. hopefully vyktor will settle down tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor AMPS 446 +4 376 +8 371

It sure isn't happening today!

He's still dribbling too and hasn't eaten from his bowl since his AMS and even then it was only about 30g (1.05 oz). He has been eating diced raw chicken after his tests but seems to be favouring his right side to chew in - but maybe he always has I've never paid that much attention before and I am paranoid about everything now.

I called the vet clinic this morning and his vet isn't in until Tuesday. The receptionist spoke to another vet who said I should wait until Tuesday and see if it sorts itself out. I'm not very confident with the judgement of vets anymore though! Also now that he's been there when he's feeling a bit better he has quickly developed a reputation as a psychopuss (they say he has a lot of personality/character but I know what they mean!) so I wonder whether whichever vet was spoken to just isn't keen on trying to get a look in his mouth!

He did have some sort of accident on 12/21 when he scraped the front of his nose clean off and was on antibiotics for triaditis until 12/24. So maybe he hurt his teeth then but the antibiotics kept an infection away until now? The only other thing I know of that has happened with his teeth recently was the emergency vet unexpectedly scraping a couple of big lumps of tartar off them on 12/13 and there was a little blood then. However he was hospitalised for the triaditis and DKA after that and I specifically asked the vet if dental issues could be contributing to his problems. He said that although his teeth weren't good they weren't bad enough to be causing problems (I have tried brushing but this really isn't an option with Vyktor).

Of course the not eating makes his upcoming shot of concern (due in 3.5 hrs) he hasn't made it out of the pink today so if he doesn't eat, or doesn't eat much, are his numbers high enough to shoot the full dose anyway?
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor AMPS 446 +4 376 +8 371

So I took Vyktor to the vet and he says to bring him back in 2 weeks to make sure the redness is gone from his lower left and to check on a resorptive lesion on the right and to make plans for a dental. He gave him shots of both Convenia and Metacam which I've just searched on board :cry: :cry: :cry:

On the plus side he has eaten now so I could safely give him his shot.
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor PMPS 445 given Convenia & Metacam

Eating so you could shoot is good! I don't know much about convenia and metacam, but I know that - although not ideal - there are times when these meds are the appropriate choice. Is it possible to get some bupe instead of the metacam?

You're a good bean :YMHUG: !!
 
Re: 12/31 Vyktor PMPS 445 given Convenia & Metacam

TrixieCat said:
Eating so you could shoot is good! I don't know much about convenia and metacam, but I know that - although not ideal - there are times when these meds are the appropriate choice. Is it possible to get some bupe instead of the metacam?

You're a good bean :YMHUG: !!

I feel like a terrible bean I asked for the painkiller to make sure he ate but the vet didn't tell me what it was and my experience with diabetes means I should know by now that most vets are complete morons. I should have asked what it was and if there were any side effects/risks etc before I let him put anything in my cat. Apparently the FDA has a 'black box' warning on using Metacam in cats due to the risk of renal failure. It's too late now he's had the injection, there's nothing I can do but try not to worry.

Since getting back I have looked up to see whether buprenex is available in Australia and it looks like it is so I will be calling the vet tomorrow and asking them to put a huge note on Vyktor's file to say that is what he is to get if he needs a pain killer again and definitely no Metacam ever again.

Thanks for the hug.
 
I could easily give in to a vet rant, but it wouldn't be helpful. grr_red I hope Vyktor is OK and the upcoming dental helps him. :YMHUG:
 
If Vyktor didn't have a reaction to Convenia, you're probably OK. The issue with Convenia is twofold. First, as an antibiotic, it's only treatment indication is that it's to be used for skin infections. Vets tend to use it far more broadly because it's an injection. For a cat that's hard to pill, they like it. Which leads to the second issue. It's a shot that lasts for 2 weeks. If your cat has a reaction to the drug, you're stuck with a drug that's in your cat's system for 2 weeks. There's no way to prevent it doing whatever it's doing. This is the reason we encourage you to explore with your vet whether there are other options. There are people here who's cats have gotten Convenia and never had a problem. It's really not a good choice for dental issues.

The good thing with the Metacam is that Vyktor hasn't been on it for more than several hours. You can easily switch to something else. Be aware that the vet may be hesitant to give you a narcotic. Tramadol may be an alternative. Basically, you want to stay away from any of the nonsteroidal, anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS), like Metacam. There isn't a great deal of research and what there is, makes you want to stay away.

Also, the vet scraping tarter off of a cat's teeth when the cat is conscious is a great way for the vet to conclude that your cat has "personality." The vet should be glad that you didn't bite him. My vet has a flyer on why anesthesia-free cleaning is a bad thing. Gabby has problems with FORL (feline oral resorbtive lesions). They can be painful and given how good cats are at compartmentalizing pain, they only way you know this is happening is with dental xrays, a good dental exam, or if BG numbers start running higher due to the inflammation and pain associated with the condition.
 
I've read Covenia stays in the system up to 60 days - the antibiotic effect for 2 weeks. I try my very best to avoid it but Kazi was given Covenia when she was so sick with the URI and secondary infection. She doesn't tolerate most antibiotics well. No adverse reaction from her with the Covenia though. Hope Vyktor is feeling better!
 
Hi, Serryn,
I hope Vyktor feels better tomorrow so that you can worry less :YMHUG: . I would have relied on the decisions made by Mookie's vet, too, until I came here just over a month ago and learned otherwise. You're doing great; hang in there!
 
We're among those whose vets gave Convenia for dental. :YMSIGH: It may have done no good - but at least for us, it seems to have done no harm. I hope Vyktor will do fine.
 
Fingers and paws crossed that Vyktor will be just fine! He's adorable, BTW, looks like a linger-haired version of my Jesse James.
 
Hi Serryn, it has happened to a lot of us. Tess was given Convenia and Metacam at different times without consulting me and w/ no explanation. I only found out later when I got her full records. At the time I too had faith that the vets knew what they were doing. They are human, research changes. This place is such a resource for information. All we can do is educated ourselves now and be our cats advocates. That may ruffle a few feathers at the vets, but we have that duty to the animals who give us so much love and joy.

Tess by the way is fine, many cats do not have reactions. it is just for those that do it can be very serious. I prefer to err on the safe side. I think often these long acting drugs are given because it is easier and the vets feel owners won't be able, or diligent enough, to be sure that the full treatment is given. Most of us here have learned better and we are here to help those who are new to treating their cats.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope you have a good rest. Happy new Year! We're still waiting! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top