12/31 TAFFY-AMPS 299/+4 282/+11 243/PMPS 229/+3 155/+5.5 99/+7 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...61-11-310-pmps-361-2-314.170466/#post-1857420

Taffy wanted to stay out of the pinks bcuz he is always being called a girl bcuz of his name, so he gave me a yellow 299 this morning!

Yay! Better night! After his bupe last night (oral) he ate some more RadCat off his plate. He got me up at 4am for a snack and ate another serving 1oz. RadCat with kibble croutons. Then he proceeded to play with his jingle ball for a half an hour, which amused me but I am sure irritated the BF. I probably should have gotten up and taken the ball away, but I just pretended to sleep thru it.

He ate his small brekkie of RC with kibbles on top, BUT he also got to Baby's kibble when I was getting his insulin ready. He is so sneaky! I am not going to freak about it this time. At least he has appetite! But I am not liking the high numbers.

Going to pick up more Cerenia this morning. And I will give the Bupe as well. I think I am going to only give the Pepcid in evenings to help with early morning tummy acid. As long as he continues to eat, I am not going to add anything alse at this point. The less pills, the better. Taffy is a beautiful FD patient so far, but not great at the pilling. We manage, but it is always stressful for us both.

He also made a lovely healthy poopy this morning and I think that he was quite satisfied with himself. The kibble seems to help this. And a little miralax. I do not want kibbles to be the main portion of his diet, but we may go back to the kibble croutons on his food as a regular thing. I hope that does not mean my hopes for OTJ are out the window! I guess we will have to find the balance.
 
I probably should have gotten up and taken the ball away, but I just pretended to sleep thru it.
Good for you, I would've done the same thing. I'd be smiling all the way through it!
I do not want kibbles to be the main portion of his diet, but we may go back to the kibble croutons on his food as a regular thing. I hope that does not mean my hopes for OTJ are out the window! I guess we will have to find the balance.
Yeah, you know, I'd say one step at a time to get Taffy stable.
Really feeling happy for you this morning!
 
Good for you, I would've done the same thing. I'd be smiling all the way through it!

Yeah, you know, I'd say one step at a time to get Taffy stable.
Really feeling happy for you this morning!
Thanks! And, yes, stable is good.

I'm glad Taffy is doing better and eating and playing. I hope he keeps improving. Sending prayers.
Thank you, we can always use prayers!

If it makes you feel any better, Uncle's AMPS are about the same as Taffy's this morning...
Man!! Uncle!! Come on back down for your mama!!!

Taffy is still in the yellows at +4, but I am sure this is due to the permitted kibble croutons, and even more so due to the unauthorized kibble he got from Baby Kitty's dish this morning. But, Taffy is feeling better and asking for food!!! Staying on the Cerenia for a few more days and then every other day. I don't think he needed more bupe, but I gave it a while ago and maybe tonight and then I'll see tomorrow. It looks like the Cerenia may be a low dose every other day thing for a long time.

Even with all going on, should I stay at the 1.25u on the insulin for a few more cycles or increase to bring him down right away? We are going to reduce the kibbles now that he is eating again, but I am going to put some on his food as croutons. I will be researching lower carb (that he likes) for this.
 
Doesn't look like you got a reply to your dosing question today. Do you still need help?
Yes, would love expert opinions!!!

Repost: Even with all going on, should I stay at the 1.25u on the insulin for a few more cycles or increase to bring him down right away? We are going to reduce the kibbles now that he is eating again, but I am going to put some on his food as croutons. I will be researching lower carb (that he likes) for this.

He has been pretty much in the yellows. He has been given a little kibble on each small meal to keep him eating, but his appy is seeming to return and we will be continuing his panc meds a few more days, and then every other day. This morning, however, he had a pretty good raid on Baby's dish of kibble, so more kibble today than I intend him to be allowed.

Increase, or wait?
 
I'd hold the dose right now and let things settle. I don't know if the kibble is affecting his numbers but if he's been getting some all along, likely not.

He looks to be bouncing and also refilling his depot so I'd give him six consecutive cycles. Have you read the post on Counting Cycles? Important info there.
 
I'd stay with the 1.25 as long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as much as necessary tonight

Hopefully he'll keep eating well for you too and you can get the dry back out of the picture
 
he's been getting some all along, likely not.
No, he has not been getting kibble in those green, etc. He USED to get kibble b4 Dx as a topper on his raw, as his "croutons". We cut them out, BUT, when he stopped eating this week and had panc flare up, it was all I could get him to eat. So he is still getting some at this time (just the past few days) until his eating is back to normal.

BUT, I will hold the dose if that is what is advised, esp in light of the extra unauthorized kibbles today.
 
No, he has not been getting kibble in those green, etc. He USED to get kibble b4 Dx as a topper on his raw, as his "croutons". We cut them out, BUT, when he stopped eating this week and had panc flare up, it was all I could get him to eat. So he is still getting some at this time (just the past few days) until his eating is back to normal.

BUT, I will hold the dose if that is what is advised, esp in light of the extra unauthorized kibbles today.
I would hold the dose because you had a reduced dose and a skipped shot. While we don't usually worry about holding a dose a certain number of cycles when it's on a reduction, because of the skipped and BCS shots, you are rebuilding the depot so I'd give him a bit more time. But that is still a post you should be aware of.
 
Doesn't look like you got a reply to your dosing question today. Do you still need help?
I'd hold the dose right now and let things settle. I don't know if the kibble is affecting his numbers but if he's been getting some all along, likely not.

He looks to be bouncing and also refilling his depot so I'd give him six consecutive cycles. Have you read the post on Counting Cycles? Important info there.
I'd stay with the 1.25 as long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as much as necessary tonight

Hopefully he'll keep eating well for you too and you can get the dry back out of the picture
Thank you, thank you!!!

Taffy has his appy back! Eating well!! Today was good day! Now, back to business!!!
 
Glad you got some expert eyes on your dosing question.
I just got back from eating dinner at my favorite Japanese restaurant to find a 338 at PMPS
Just gonna try to roll with it
 
Uh, 325 at +2. Well, no need to stay up testing I guess. Not sure why he would be so high unless it's part a of weird looking bounce initiated by the 143 point drop in yesterday's am cycle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top