12/31 Roo AMPS + 8 174 WHACKY RESULTS

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueroo

Member Since 2009
Hi, please take a look at my spreadsheet. I can't figure out why I'm getting these numbers. Are such fluctuations normal when increasing from 1.25u to 1.5u? I will be up late tonight and will keep testing, but I'm curious if anyone has seen these kinds of drops/raises before. Thanks,

Deb & Roo
 
AMPS 556
+2~360
+6~34/66
+7~55
+8~174

according to your spreadsheet, you got a 34, then immediately retested and got 66. Did either of the tests seem weird, like the strip filled slower than usual, or more blood or less blood than usual, anything like that?

And yes, this kind of response is not unusual, I suspect that Roo has probably been getting blue and green at night in the past, and we've missed seeing it. I think we'll have to reduce the dose again, but let me check in with the rest of the team first.
 
Nothing seemed weird with either test and I ran the second test within a minute of the first one. I don't want to drop him back to 1.25u immediately, look at how high his numbers were at that dosage. Also, I have been spot-testing during the day, just not during the night.

I'll test him every couple hours til midnight and keep updating the results. He sure is acting healthy, trying to get into the fish tank!
 
It's entirely possible that the reason his numbers were high was not because Roo was getting too little insulin. Rather, you can see the same pattern of high numbers when there's too much insulin. If you're not getting the spot checks, you miss seeing that there's a drop in numbers and all you see are the highs. As a result, the dose is increased to bring down the high numbers. The lack of spot checks then perpetuates the cycle. What you saw with those green numbers underscores why spot checks are so important and lets you know that Roo may have been getting more insulin than was necessary. If the team feels that a decrease back to where you were shooting is needed, this is the explanation as to why.
 
Fascinating. There is so much to learn about this disease! I've been trying to absorb it in "bite-sized" pieces so that I don't get overwhelmed. I seem to be ready to absorb a little more at this point.

Thanks again to everyone, you don't know how much you've helped us!

Deb & Roo
 
he's bouncing off of those green numbers earlier today. When the numbers get lower than the cat's body is used to, his liver panics thinking "hypo!!!" and dumps extra glucose into the bloodstream in an effort to save Roo's life. Never mind the fact that Roo's life was never in danger, he's just not used to seeing those numbers so the liver overreacts. We "train" the liver to not respond that way by showing it the low numbers over and over, until Mr. Liver learns that Roo is in fact NOT going to die. Some cats learn quickly, others take their time.

Based on this bounce we have to assume that the 34 was a correct reading, and reduce Roo's dose back to 1.25. Try to get more spot checks, especially at night. I think this explains some of the 500's he has been having in the mornings too.
 
OK, thank you. I will do more spot checks through tonight (my goal IS to stay up til midnight even though I tend to nod off by nine. such a night owl). I will reduce his insulin tonight to 1.25u.

This is a very strange disease.

I'm a technical sort of person (computers) so I tend to think linearly. I see that the body organism does NOT react linearly!

Thanks again,
Deb & Roo
 
Roo's PMPS was at HI (which I always record as 599 in my spreadsheet). I will test again in a couple hours.

I gave him 1.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top