12/31 Raven PMPS 560 +3 487 - back home after week in pet ER and pancreatic/gallbladder surgery

SophieFRA

Member
Hi all,

my boy Raven got released from the Pet ER/internist today after a week from hell that he barely survived with acute pancreatitis. His gallbladder was obstructed and he had to have emergency surgery on Friday night to have a stent placed. During the surgery it was discovered that part of his pancreatic tissue was necrotic and they removed about 10% of his pancreas. He survived the surgery and so far recovered well. His bilirubin which was critically high and his liver values which were elevated are back to normal for the last couple of days. His kidney values which were acutely at level 4 levels have consistently lowered but remain too high. The internists expectd they may still come down with time.

He has been fed through a feeding tube but has started eating on Saturday. He still has the feeding tube and gets supplemental food and water through that. I just fed him and he ate a little food. So I gave him his shot (2.5 u - internist said she would not increase dose despite acutely high numbers), but if he doesn‘t end up eating his whole portion, I will need to supplement with the feeding tube.

I was very freaked out to see him at 560 on human meter this evening. Internist said he will be sky high. He was at 500ish on pet meter this morning at the facility and she was fine releasing him with that number. I‘m not sure how that compares to 560 on human meter and I have not been able to tragk his numbers at ER due to conversion issues and limited information.

If needed I can always rake him back to ER, but he seems ok all things considered.

I‘d appreciate your thoughts. Thanks so much! Sophie
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pw2gozDXz_UhGSs897ptj3iAeUPqD-dGnxrcCwXgfWg/edit
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Margaret (and Pearl)
 
Oh my, poor Raven and you. You've really been through the emotional ringer. :bighug:

Did he come home with any meds that he's on now? Some meds will raise numbers. If they didn't give him two shots a day the Lantus depot may need to be rebuilt so cause higher numbers. Any pain or inflammation from surgery can also raise numbers, but should recover given time. Could you put on the spreadsheet that he was in the ER and what days.
not been able to tragk his numbers at ER due to conversion issues
What sort of numbers were you given?

Here's the link to your last post here for continuity.
 
Oh my, poor Raven and you. You've really been through the emotional ringer. :bighug:

Did he come home with any meds that he's on now? Some meds will raise numbers. If they didn't give him two shots a day the Lantus depot may need to be rebuilt so cause higher numbers. Any pain or inflammation from surgery can also raise numbers, but should recover given time. Could you put on the spreadsheet that he was in the ER and what days.

What sort of numbers were you given?

Here's the link to your last post here for continuity.

Thanks for your input. He was at ER from 12-23 (after being at my primary vet all day on fluids etc) to yesterday, 12-31. On 12-30 his care was transferred to the internist that operate out of same facility at ER and overnight back to ER.

He had an EKG done, which indicated some mild heart issues, which they said might be temporary, but because if that he‘s mostly been getring water through E-tube rather than IV.

The only meds he is one are: Clavamox, Cerenia, and Mirataz. The ER docs snd internist both thought he was not in pain.

I‘m concerned this am b/c I measured 1.2 on blood ketone (human) meter. I‘m waiting for him to pee so I can use strips. Is this an emergency? If I understood correctly they said at ER that no blood ketones were detected.

His numbers were in 400s and 500s on pet meter at ER. At some point they told me they got it down to 300 I believe. They supplemented the 2.5 u of Lantus with short acting insulin to keep hie numbers manageable. But the internist told me to not mess with the dose and keep it at 2.5u.
 
Back
Top