Sarah & Charlie-cat
Member Since 2022
Long story short: I'm not sure what to do about Charlie hitting 70 tonight. The AAHA decision tree says, no symptoms of hypo but below 80, reduce dose. Also not sure what to do about predose numbers like 91 and 120. Should I be reducing doses? Is this normal after 3 weeks?
I have gotten pee strips to test for ketones and some non-absorbent litter. Going to have to figure out how to isolate him long enough to get a pee without the other five messing it up.
Spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...WDunDbVvf5f-iEjgHchCTpzfkQw/edit?usp=drivesdk
Long story long:
Charlie was diagnosed with pancreatitis and diabetes while I was traveling for work. My husband took him in and we had a conference call with the vet. I didn't get anything about whether they did a ketones test or the results, likewise fructosamine test. Picked him up, learned to give insulin, sent us on our Merry (anxious) way with a reduced steroid dose (he developed an autoimmune immune blood clotting problem after a round of vaccines 1.5 years ago)
My vet's office has continued to insist on pre-shot BG once a week. At the first, a vet we haven't seen before raised his dose from 1u to 2 u Lantus. They had him on the Hills I/D canned he was on when they hospitalized him with pancreatitis. He dropped about 4-5lb through all of this but has been steady for the last 3 weeks.
At the second, I was like hey, I don't want to pay 3 dollars a can for food that is higher in carbs than is necessary. So, we agreed to make that switch and the next week his preshot numbers there were in the low 200s, which is what I got at home too. He is now getting 2.5 cans of FF chicken and liver pate. 1 full can am and pm before his shots and .25 around 5 (what used to be first dinner) and the other at bedtime.
I have been struggling to get enough blood or an ear poke at all from him, despite lots of good advice and occasionally an extra set of hands. But I did manage to get a +4 from him one day and it was 76. So, I gave him a little extra food and it came up to 86. I reduced the dose to 1.75. which feels impossible to measure in those tiny syringes.
The next not our normal vet was grouchy when I explained that when she called after our tech visit (just took a BG reading). We saw her this week and his BG was 91 (from a extra pad stick while he was in a full nelson with me). I was like hey, that seems low for a preshot number and she grudgingly agreed I should give him a lower dose that morning and to reduce the dose to 1.5u. I was pretty sure I got part of his dose on and not in him (new syringes, got ones with the half u marks).
And she agreed to stick a freestyle libre on him rather than do an in hospital curve. Today, he was running 88 at +4 am and 70 at +2pm (he got a little extra of his regular food) and he's back in the mid 80s.
So, the AAHA decision tree says if he's under 80 at the nadir, reduce the dose and redo the curve. So, that makes sense and I can do that. But I'm just having a hard time understanding what is going on here that he's turned around so fast after throwing low 400s numbers on week 1 and 2 of rechecks.
Link to previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-questions-on-lantus-charlie-cat-sarah.271961/
I have gotten pee strips to test for ketones and some non-absorbent litter. Going to have to figure out how to isolate him long enough to get a pee without the other five messing it up.
Spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...WDunDbVvf5f-iEjgHchCTpzfkQw/edit?usp=drivesdk
Long story long:
Charlie was diagnosed with pancreatitis and diabetes while I was traveling for work. My husband took him in and we had a conference call with the vet. I didn't get anything about whether they did a ketones test or the results, likewise fructosamine test. Picked him up, learned to give insulin, sent us on our Merry (anxious) way with a reduced steroid dose (he developed an autoimmune immune blood clotting problem after a round of vaccines 1.5 years ago)
My vet's office has continued to insist on pre-shot BG once a week. At the first, a vet we haven't seen before raised his dose from 1u to 2 u Lantus. They had him on the Hills I/D canned he was on when they hospitalized him with pancreatitis. He dropped about 4-5lb through all of this but has been steady for the last 3 weeks.
At the second, I was like hey, I don't want to pay 3 dollars a can for food that is higher in carbs than is necessary. So, we agreed to make that switch and the next week his preshot numbers there were in the low 200s, which is what I got at home too. He is now getting 2.5 cans of FF chicken and liver pate. 1 full can am and pm before his shots and .25 around 5 (what used to be first dinner) and the other at bedtime.
I have been struggling to get enough blood or an ear poke at all from him, despite lots of good advice and occasionally an extra set of hands. But I did manage to get a +4 from him one day and it was 76. So, I gave him a little extra food and it came up to 86. I reduced the dose to 1.75. which feels impossible to measure in those tiny syringes.
The next not our normal vet was grouchy when I explained that when she called after our tech visit (just took a BG reading). We saw her this week and his BG was 91 (from a extra pad stick while he was in a full nelson with me). I was like hey, that seems low for a preshot number and she grudgingly agreed I should give him a lower dose that morning and to reduce the dose to 1.5u. I was pretty sure I got part of his dose on and not in him (new syringes, got ones with the half u marks).
And she agreed to stick a freestyle libre on him rather than do an in hospital curve. Today, he was running 88 at +4 am and 70 at +2pm (he got a little extra of his regular food) and he's back in the mid 80s.
So, the AAHA decision tree says if he's under 80 at the nadir, reduce the dose and redo the curve. So, that makes sense and I can do that. But I'm just having a hard time understanding what is going on here that he's turned around so fast after throwing low 400s numbers on week 1 and 2 of rechecks.
Link to previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-questions-on-lantus-charlie-cat-sarah.271961/
I love the pictures your words paint. Lil fishies with eyeballz…. What we do for our beloved little predators.