12/31 Moo, AMPS 284 *1 day post dental*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
So Moos numbers stayed good last night.
He slept well also. I put his crate in our bedroom upstairs when he got home yesterday cause it's warmer upstairs. Woke up this morning and found him sleeping in his crate :)
He was right on schedule and happy to eat at his normal time. His BG was 284 so I gave him his regular .75 even though the vet wanted me to move to 1.0.
I will monitor his levels close today to make sure he's not bouncing at all still from the anasthesia yesterday.
The last time I gave him pain meds was 6pm last night.
He ate this morning and has been purring and seemingly normal. Do I give him more pain meds? Or just skip them since he seems ok? I don't want to dope him up if I don't have to.
Thoughts on that?
THanks!
Annie & Moo
 

Attachments

  • before and after.JPG
    before and after.JPG
    553.8 KB · Views: 65
  • moo home.jpg
    moo home.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 61
Hi there :cool:

Sounds like Moo is doing well. My Black Kitty always quickly recovered from his dentals, Over the years all his teeth were eventually removed and he has been toothless for a few years now.

If Moo were mine, I would continue the pain med (bupe) at least for today. 5 extractions has to be painful. Pain can also raise BG
.

I think you were wise to hold the dose and not raise at this time. As the dust settles the numbers will guide your dosing decisions
In Black Kittys case after his first dental his insulin need was dramatically reduced. A second dental was needed about 6 months later, resulting in another slide down the dosing ladder - all the way to the falls.


Paws crossed for a speedy recovery for Moo :)
 
I would continue the pain meds too.... it's harder to catch up if everything wears off and he starts hurting.
If you are giving an oral liquid, you can taper the dose down by giving a little less.....
but the usual three days after surgery is important.
 
Ok I jsut gave him some. I'm sure he'll be dopey for the rest of the day :) They didn't say how often to give them, but from what I read its every 8-10 hours?
Last night after I gave them to him he was sitting on the stairs swaying and staring into space haha. It was cute/funny/weird all at the same time!
I just gave him some at 12. He hates it and its hard to hold him still to get them in his mouth but I got most in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top