12/31 Milo PMPS 205 +2 135 +3 83 +4 66 +5 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiloMistyMax

Member Since 2012
So I tested Milo at shot time last night and he was 127. I knew if I gave him his shot I would have to stay up pretty late but I had a really bad migraine so I didn't give him any insulin and I slept. I did check him at his +2 and he was 133. So I thought, 2 hours went by with no insulin and he only went up 6 points. I was afraid he would be super high in the morning but he was only at 189 at AM shot time. I've been bouncing around with dosage again, I don't know if I've messed everything up. I asked my mom and we decided on .5 units. She thinks he might be able to stop insulin altogether because his diet changes really brought his numbers down. I am thinking that he still needs it for now.

So I want to get a consistent dose going and I think I want to try .5 for now. Even though I post in this forum, I am still doing the start low go slow protocol. Just to remind everyone :smile:


Condo from 12/29
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMBG 127; AMPS 189

Milo is doing great! He does still need insulin and you want to gradually taper off to have a strong remission. I think the 0.5u is fine for now. Paws crossed. Amazing what a difference the food makes. I hope your migraine is gone. Ugh!
Liz
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMBG 127; AMPS 189

Milo is looking fantastic! Hope your migraine is a thing of the past - ugh! Happy New Year!!
 
Re: 12/31 Milo AMPS 189 +2 101 +3 75

His ear is kind of puffy where I get the blood. Is that normal? I use neosporin w/pain relief every time I test him.
 
Re: 12/31 Milo AMPS 189 +2 101 +3 75

It helps to apply pressure to the ear after the poke. I try to do 20 secs if Zener will let me. Do you use the lancing device or freehand?
Liz
 
Re: 12/31 Milo AMPS 189 +2 101 +3 75

I use the lancing device. He doesn't like it when I try with just the lancet.

He usually only lets me hold onto his ear for a few seconds but I will try a little harder to keep pressure on longer.
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMPS 205 +2 135

Try holding a cool, wet baby washcloth on his ear after you poke.

You can try this dose and see how he does. One thing you all need to remember is lantus has a depot and one dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. So his numbers the last couple of cycles might be due to a higher dose. But, if you want to try this and see what he does, you can take him back up if he starts trending upwards. I wouldn't sit on the .5u dose if he does start trending up.

But you also need to shoot consistently :-D

Happy New Year's Eve!
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMPS 205 +2 135 +3 83

I'll definitely up the dose if he goes high. I've been too afraid to even leave him to go to the bathroom.

He started at 3 units, if I had known more at the time I prob would have started at 1 and changed his diet immediately. I don't really see it as starting over because I never really started in the first place. It was just a bunch of randomness. Now that his diet is changed we can get down to business :smile:
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMPS 205 +2 135 +3 83

Looks like you are in for a fun night. Hope you are able to test again in an hour... He's still coming down!
 
Re: 12/31 Milo PMPS 205 +2 135 +3 83 +4 66

I won't go to sleep until he goes up. He seems to peak at +5 usually so a couple more hours :-D

I feel really bad, I didn't realize I went all the way through his ear until I saw blood all over the kleenex. I shot him 3 times with a 26 gauge wondering where the blood was. Poor boy. He got extra treats this time. The puffiness seems to be going down though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top