12/31: Cliff Notes|pmps=96 (skipped dose)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
Keeping daily threads, until he's eating again and back in gen pop/not sequestered with me! :)

HE woke me up this morning, which I take as a good sign that he is/was hungry! Seemed active/alert.

AM T/F/S notes:
  • AMPS=397
  • Fed 1/4 can 5oz friskies ocean/tuna-which is popular right now!
    • His appetite was good, but he didn't finish his plate. Better today, than previous two days though!
  • I realized half-way thru his plate that he needed his AM app stimulate dose, so I offered that (before he decided he was done eating.) took it and the pill pocket.
    • Does anyone know how "bad" the pill pocket is for sugar kitties? I'm leaving it for now, because he needs the calories, and he's eating it. But, I would consider pilling without the pocket if he was eating good.
  • Gave 4.25 again today.
    • Let's see how he does on that, but will consider increasing to 4.5 soon.
Hope everyone has a good day!

Next up: cerenia at noon, & PMPS later (with appetite stimulant dose, probably best to do Before)
 
Keeping daily threads, until he's eating again and back in gen pop/not sequestered with me! :)

HE woke me up this morning, which I take as a good sign that he is/was hungry! Seemed active/alert.

AM T/F/S notes:
  • AMPS=397
  • Fed 1/4 can 5oz friskies ocean/tuna-which is popular right now!
    • His appetite was good, but he didn't finish his plate. Better today, than previous two days though!
  • I realized half-way thru his plate that he needed his AM app stimulate dose, so I offered that (before he decided he was done eating.) took it and the pill pocket.
    • Does anyone know how "bad" the pill pocket is for sugar kitties? I'm leaving it for now, because he needs the calories, and he's eating it. But, I would consider pilling without the pocket if he was eating good.
  • Gave 4.25 again today.
    • Let's see how he does on that, but will consider increasing to 4.5 soon.
Hope everyone has a good day!

Next up: cerenia at noon, & PMPS later (with appetite stimulant dose, probably best to do Before)
Some good signs here, Michele! :) For now I wouldn't worry about the pill pocket. He needs the meds and if the pockets are popular treats, use them. You also want to avoid anything that contributes to stress around eating so wait on the pilling by hand.
 
How is Cliff doing?
Good. He's resting. I was thinking abt doing a +6 BG soon. I feel bad for constantly waking him to pill or poke though.
  • He got cerenia 1/4 pill at noon. That's a once daily pill.
  • He ate ok at 7a and 10a.
  • He hadn't pooped much (only a small, hard poop yesterday) so when I talked to the vet this am, she suggested that I bring him in for sub-q fluids this am before they closed. It was his 3rd visit in three days, but I think he did good.
    • Dave drove and I hung out with him in the car, so that helped.
    • He got weighed (maintaining at 12.6) & quick palpitation to say everything felt good, no need for an anema.
    • We were in and out of the office quick.
    • He pooped almost immediately when we got home! So I think it helped.
    • Vet recommended miralax for at home if we still have trouble, but I read that that can dehydrate them. So glad we opted for sub-q.
Thanks for checking!!
 
+5.75 is 370
Will try for urine ketones test later.

I'm gonna feed him here in a bit, and then let him rest until evening poke.

Next up:
feed at 2p-fed at 2pm and he ate most of 1.5 oz. left plate to graze.

give appetite stimulant
PM T/F/S
 
Last edited:
Was gonna start the PM T/F/S early at +11, but his BG=96

I hadn't tested since the last +5.75, but I've been with him all afternoon, and he seems fine. Not sure why so low right now?

Gonna stall, or wait until actually +12, which is an hour from now. His last meal was abt 4hrs ago, which is typical, but with him not eating as much, maybe that's why he dropped so low? Eep, maybe I should've tested more this afternoon? The plate was available to him if he was hungry, I just took it away.

@Kris & Teasel or @Sue and Oliver (GA) if you're around?
 
Just tested again at +11 and 15 minutes and his BG=104, so rising.
I will just wait until the actual +12 and see where we are. I have all the time, so I can stall, or feed and wait two hours. I will see where we are at the top of the hour.
 
He's starting to respond better to the ProZinc and there can be a spottier pattern of BGs - mid to highs with the odd low thrown in to make your life more exciting. I think it's a positive sign but it's stressful for you.
 
He's starting to respond better to the ProZinc and there can be a spottier pattern of BGs - mid to highs with the odd low thrown in to make your life more exciting. I think it's a positive sign but it's stressful for you.
Thanks! Testing again in a few minutes at his true +12. My plan will be to stall twice to see if we get shoot able #. Just re-reading the Prozinc protocols now.

He's currently playing with Dave, who called him"a tricky little animal" over this low BG business! New nickname might be Trickster! :)
 
Ok, now he's BG=92 at +12!
I'm thinking of feeding him and retesting in 2hrs (per the protocol)--thoughts?
I hate withholding food for so long from the cat that is not eating much! :(
May stall another 20min, but then proceed with feeding as described below,

Cut & paste from advanced protocol below:
  • One more option is to feed and wait 2 hours, until the effect of the food has worn off. If the number is high enough to shoot, you can give insulin. Just bear in mind that you want to be able to wait 12 hours before shooting again. For many people, this option messes up their 12/12 schedule.
 
Ok, now he's BG=92 at +12!
I'm thinking of feeding him and retesting in 2hrs (per the protocol)--thoughts?
I hate withholding food for so long from the cat that is not eating much! :(
May stall another 20min, but then proceed with feeding as described below,

Cut & paste from advanced protocol below:
  • One more option is to feed and wait 2 hours, until the effect of the food has worn off. If the number is high enough to shoot, you can give insulin. Just bear in mind that you want to be able to wait 12 hours before shooting again. For many people, this option messes up their 12/12 schedule.
Teasel just did the same thing to me: PMPS of 95. I decided to skip his PM dose instead of stalling for a long-ish time. If you decide to feed and wait for a high enough number you could give a "token" dose, say 1.0 u, and resume your regular schedule in the AM.
 
Teasel just did the same thing to me: PMPS of 95. I decided to skip his PM dose instead of stalling for a long-ish time. If you decide to feed and wait for a high enough number you could give a "token" dose, say 1.0 u, and resume your regular schedule in the AM.
Why is it cats seem to do things in pairs? :) I hope the low # means good things for Teasel!

We decided to feed him. It was pill time anyways, and we needed to get that in him.

I like the idea of a token 1u dose in 2hrs, but that would require pulling food when I've been leaving out until 2hrs pre-shot. We might just skip, and get back on our regular schedule early tomorrow AM, which would be in +8ish hrs. I was worried abt trying to get back to our 4a or 5a AM time. The past couple days really got us off track.
 
Why is it cats seem to do things in pairs? :) I hope the low # means good things for Teasel!

We decided to feed him. It was pill time anyways, and we needed to get that in him.

I like the idea of a token 1u dose in 2hrs, but that would require pulling food when I've been leaving out until 2hrs pre-shot. We might just skip, and get back on our regular schedule early tomorrow AM, which would be in +8ish hrs. I was worried abt trying to get back to our 4a or 5a AM time. The past couple days really got us off track.
Probably easier to leave it as a no shot then so you can jump right back into your regular schedule tomorrow AM.

As for Teasel, he's just toying with me .... o_O
 
To summarize pm routine:
  • Too low to shoot at +12. Bg=92
    • Stalled 20 min bg=96
  • Decided to skip dose and feed. Getting food in him more important than stalling.
    • He ate ok. Abt 1.5 oz between two offerings and lots of hand holding, etc.. :)
  • Was time for pm dose of appy stimulant, but he's gotten wise to pill pockets. Spit out first attempt at 1/4 pill.
    • I let him eat, tried another pill pocket, but then just tossed 1/4 tab down the hatch. I hope he forgives me, bc he's suppose to take 3 pills a day! Cereniax1 and appy pillx2.
  • Got a urine ketone test in. Actually two. Dave and i agreed it looks "trace" after 15seconds. :)
Letting him rest now, but will test in 2hrs bc I'm curious.

Did a control test on alphatrak and strips and control solution. Came back ok/within range.
 
Last edited:
Dang! I'm so sorry Michele I meant to check on you way earlier. I completely lost track of time.

Yep food is most important now. Tomorrow you mifhrt sew him higher but that's okay.

Yeah they get wise to those darn pill pockets! Someone on health suggested these gelcaps to me once. They are flavored for cats but the cat can't bite ntonthem to fine the pill. I bought some but havent used them...might be something to look into?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top