12/31 Chip PMPS 58 +1 72 +2 87 +5 104 +9 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
It's times like the present (as a Levemir user) I'm glad I already took the (next) reduction 12 hours ago. nailbite_smile

Likely the worst case might entail dosing extra carbs until the depot catches up with the dose.

Of course that would still be true with *anything* I did or didn't shoot this cycle.

BTW I've been waiting almost 3 months for a do-over with this dose, lets see if I can get it right this time. :smile:


Chip's 12/27
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

That's a lovely green PS! Safe surfing the green Chip!
Have a peaceful New Year's Eve, Dale! All the best for 2013!
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

Dale --

When are you feeding? You might give some thought to giving a "snack" at around +9. It may help to bring some of those blue PMPS numbers into green. Since it looks like Chip's pancreas is working, the food may cause it to release endogenous insulin which will bring numbers down.
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

Nice shooting! I'd be sure and get a +1 and +2 to make sure he stays flat :-D

Happy New Year's Eve!
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

Sienne and Gabby said:
Dale --

When are you feeding? You might give some thought to giving a "snack" at around +9. It may help to bring some of those blue PMPS numbers into green. Since it looks like Chip's pancreas is working, the food may cause it to release endogenous insulin which will bring numbers down.
I'm still basically feeding when he asks for food. Of course at shot time and also at +9, and whenever he is dropping. I suspected food was bringing him lower during that period in late September 2012. At present I'm not sure, it may be a steady depot and increased sensitivity improving the green. No risk in supporting the pancreas as long as possible while reducing on (mandatory) lows. I guess the only *risk* is lack of sleep and excessive testing, perhaps some steering. ;-)

Marje and Gracie said:
Nice shooting! I'd be sure and get a +1 and +2 to make sure he stays flat :-D
That was my plan, in Chip's case shoot (Levemir) then bring him up if needed. Instead of stalling, since the reduction should already be queuing in the depot.

Of course he was apparently still dropping at shot time, same as happened last night. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58 +1 72

While it doesn't look typical for him, that could have been his nadir.

For an experienced member like you, Dale, shooting a dropping number, if that is what it is, is a great opportunity to take advantage of overlap. It's great to see him having these virtually seamless b2b cycles where you can't tell where one stops and the next starts.
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58 +1 72 +2 87

If I'm *experienced* it's only from trial by fire and from reading many many posts by Jill and the entire team of master gurus. :mrgreen:

I have learned an awful lot about Chip.

It took some time to determine it was better (in his case) to shoot the lower PS (even falling but still over 50?) rather than stall and continually shift the shot times.
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

Sienne and Gabby said:
Dale --

When are you feeding? You might give some thought to giving a "snack" at around +9. It may help to bring some of those blue PMPS numbers into green. Since it looks like Chip's pancreas is working, the food may cause it to release endogenous insulin which will bring numbers down.

i'd like to clarify the use of feeding a snack at +8 or +9 in an effort to help bring preshot numbers down...

this is a method generally used when kitties are receiving micro doses of insulin... kitties who are close to going otj (their pancreas' are working), but can't manage to bring their preshot numbers down.

chip's pancreas is in healing mode... which can be seen in the reductions you're taking. if you're already feeding at +9... it's working well for him. :mrgreen:

if you aren't... don't start now because it could have the opposite effect. it could cause whatever action is left in the cycle to come to a grinding halt.



it tickles me to see how you've learned to use overlap and carryover to your advantage! once a caregiver understands these concepts everything falls into place.

good luck with his latest reduction!
 
Re: 12/31 Chip PMPS 58

Jill & Alex said:
...it tickles me to see how you've learned to use overlap and carryover to your advantage! once a caregiver understands these concepts everything falls into place.

good luck with his latest reduction!
You don't know how much it tickles me just to see Chip regulated. A dramatic turnaround for him clinically as well. I'm thoroughly convinced in his case that may not have been possible without the advanced advice here in Lantus Land and FDMB.

And if for any reason this dose doesn't hold just yet, I'm (more) confident I can promptly return to one that will. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top