12/31/12 Chester AMPS 395 (yay!!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB & Chester

Member Since 2012
Yay!!!
I bumped his dosage yesterday from 1U to 1.5U. I know i should have talked to the vet first, but I'm impatient...I want my little guy to get better and BG around 500-600 isn't "better". I'm supposed to hear from the vet today. Hopefully, she'll tell me to do what I just did and we'll be on the same page again.

Chester isn't supposed to eat the hard food, but I know he sneaks bites here and there. I also bought some Wellness CORE on Friday and have been mixing that with the regular Iams so I can transition everybody else over to that. It only costs $10 more for the big bags than I am already paying, so it seems like a reasonable compromise at the moment. I know that it helps that we take the dry food away overnight. NOBODY gets to eat while we're in bed at this point, although as Chester gets better regulated and we get everybody else on better food we may leave it out again down the road.
 
Cats often go lower overnight - are you leaving any canned food out overnight? As you work up to his optimal dose, this will become important in preventing a hypo incident.

Definitely looking better. Three days at the new dose, with whatever mid-cycle & nadir testing you can manage, and you'll get a sense of how he is doing. With a nadir after the 3 days, you'll be able to adjust the dose following the protocol.
 
Leaving canned food out overnight has not been successful so far. We tried for a couple of nights and were awakened by fighting and puking as everyone else tried to get into it and scarfed it down. I'm hoping that the Wellness CORE will be lower carb enough that we can leave that down with limited effect after we switch over. I know it's not ideal, but it seems the best compromise we can come up with at this point. I may try the frozen food trick, but I'm not sure even that would survive Shady and Blackie so that Chester would have enough to eat. The only other solution I can think of is moving a litterbox into the "big" bathroom and shutting Chester in there every night. Maybe trying to shut him in our bedroom with us - if we can clear everyone else out. This would be a lot easier if I could just explain to them what's going on!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top