12/30 Vyktor PMPS 437 - here comes the bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
I'm thinking that he is due another dose increase tonight but if he is bouncing from his 12/28 pm is that wise?

Also if he's going to have NDW everytime he has an increase would it be better to increase by 0.5 and have one lot of NDW rather than two lots of 0.25 a few days apart since it doesn't look like we're making a dent in it yet? I'm thinking you're going to say no to this but wanting to dot all my i's and cross all my t's while I'm still learning.

Thank you so much to everyone that's helping us through this I think I would have lost the plot by now without your advice.

Serryn

Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59613&p=648386#p648386
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 / 20.2

Let's wait and see what others have to say about the dose increase. If he's bouncing from the 162 or lower, then it could take up to 3 days to clear, and we don't like to increase because a cat is in the middle of a bounce. We have to be patient and wait it out. (My cat bounces A Lot!!, so I'm pretty used to them :roll: )

From Yesterday's Condo:
Vyktors Mum said:
Thanks guys,

The vines must have been working cause he ate a bit overnight (about 50g), not so interested again this morning though but his numbers are still high so we have no worries about hypo.

The heat definitely turns him off his food a bit (luckily the mega heat has broken so, although still hot it isn't extreme expecting 30C - I think about 70F). I am also trying to get him to eat something other than Ziwipeak in case we run out one day (there's only one place in W.A. I can buy it) or he goes off it - he's not happy about that and can be pretty stubborn. I'm keeping a close eye on his numbers though if they start to go down significantly he can have his Ziwipeak back.

Oops re double condos, still learning my FDMB etiquette thanks Dyana will stick to one a day.
Glad the appetite vines are helping :)

If you ever have a certain question you want to ask about, you can either just edit your first post's Subject Line to add the question right there, or you can just add the ? icon to the Subject Line of your first post and we'll find it by scrolling through your condo for the day.

Hope you both enjoy the cooler weather, while you can. Wishing you a cool breeze, today :-D
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 / 20.2 +4 214 /11.9

Big drop by +4 maybe Vyktor is going to be a bouncy boy too - dammit!

Will try and get some Ziwipeak into him now
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 / 20.2 +4 214 /11.9

The reason behind smaller increases is so you don't overshoot a good dose and cause your kitty's numbers to drop like a rock. By inching the dose up, you minimize the risk of missing a good dose. In Vyktor's case, you've already seen some green and some blue. I wouldn't worry so much about NDW. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't.

I would go ahead and increase to 1.5u. I think the bounce has broken given the yellow today.
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 +4 214 +6 140

He ate about 30g at +4 but has continued dropping pretty quickly and we're now in the blue and probably have further to go.

I'm thinking that a dose increase is now off the table. At the risk of making mself look like an idiot I will explain my thinking - please don't be shy about telling me if you think I'm wrong, it's the only way I'm going to learn.

So I'm thinking that we had a little NDW on the first 2 cycles after increasing to 1.25 but in the third cycle it started to show what it could do. However, we then bounced for the next 2 cycles. This cycle the 1.25 insulin dose is starting to show what it can do again and chances are we will experience another bounce given the rate at which he's dropping.

I think that based on the University of QLD instructions I have with me Vyktor wouldn't qualify for a 3rd day dose increase because his nadir (except when wobbling or bouncing) is now under 200, however he will probably qualify for a dose increase in 5 to 7 days because his PSs are more than 200.

Does this sound about right or am I off track???
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 +4 214 +6 140

Vyktors Mum said:
He ate about 30g at +4 but has continued dropping pretty quickly and we're now in the blue and probably have further to go.

I'm thinking that a dose increase is now off the table. At the risk of making mself look like an idiot I will explain my thinking - please don't be shy about telling me if you think I'm wrong, it's the only way I'm going to learn.

So I'm thinking that we had a little NDW on the first 2 cycles after increasing to 1.25 but in the third cycle it started to show what it could do. However, we then bounced for the next 2 cycles. This cycle the 1.25 insulin dose is starting to show what it can do again and chances are we will experience another bounce given the rate at which he's dropping.

I think that based on the University of QLD instructions I have with me Vyktor wouldn't qualify for a 3rd day dose increase because his nadir (except when wobbling or bouncing) is now under 200, however he will probably qualify for a dose increase in 5 to 7 days because his PSs are more than 200.

Does this sound about right or am I off track???

i think you're right on track. i see green (97) at +7!
how long ago was that? have you tested since?
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 +4 214 +6 140

Jill & Alex said:
i think you're right on track. i see green (97) at +7!
how long ago was that? have you tested since?

That was just a few minutes ago I just entered it in his spreadsheet - gotta love the google docs!
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 +4 214 +6 140

Vyktors Mum said:
That was just a few minutes ago I just entered it in his spreadsheet - gotta love the google docs!
awesome!!! :mrgreen:
it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to get a +8.
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364 +4 214 +6 140

Jill & Alex said:
Vyktors Mum said:
That was just a few minutes ago I just entered it in his spreadsheet - gotta love the google docs!
awesome!!! :mrgreen:
it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to get a +8.

Absolutely, we've got about 15 mins to go.
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364+4 214+6 140+7 97+ 8 95

6007a0d7.gif


look who's surfing in green!!!
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364+4 214+6 140+7 97+ 8 95

Only down another 2 mgs. Looks like he's bottoming out without taking me into nail biting territory but will get a +9 to be sure.

I got him out of his cupboard to show him the surfing cat - he didn't thank me for it! :lol:
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364+4 214+6 140+7 97+ 8 95

this is wonderful!
a +9 is a good idea since you don't have enough data yet to predict what he'll do.
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364+4 214+6 140+7 97+ 8 95

Back into the blue at +9 - 121. Looks like nice timing to get back up to a safe shooting level by +12. :-D
 
Re: 12/30 Vyktor AMPS 364+4 214+6 140+7 97+ 8 95

looking good here!
don't be surprised if he bounces after dropping into green. a bounce is to be expected and it can take up to 72 hours to clear. don't worry. once the bounce clears, he'll come back down.

this is a nice break through for vyktor!

it's late here so i'm headed to bed, but will check in with you tomorrow.
 
It's always so nice when the kitties read their condo (i.e., thread) and let you know that the threatened dosecrease is mot what they had in mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top