? 12/30 Roo: AMPS=120, +3.5=58, +6=74 // PMPS=119 - petsitter advice?

Armish & Roo

Member Since 2019
Last condo (I think?)

Hi guys, it's been a minute! Work has continued to be bananas, and I've also moved apartments!

Roo has been doing amazing on 0.5u for about 3 months (with some slips here and there when mama's been a bit wild on the town :p) Do you guys think its time to try a reducie to 0.25u? I haven't tried one at all yet, so want to be sure for the first one.

Also, I'm leaving my baby this weekend for the first time (Jan 3-5), he's staying at home and a pet sitter will be coming to test and shoot in the am and pm. Since this is my first time leaving him alone, is there any advice you guys have? Should I be reducing the dose?

I've missed you all so much!! :bighug::bighug:
 
You definitely want to reduce the dose if the petsitter is not doing any testing. You should leave a sample syringe with colored liquid for the petsitter to use to make sure they get the right dose. Roo has been getting into some nice greens lately.
 
I agree with lowering the dose for the petsitter. I would leave a sample syringe, take photos you can send the petsitter, etc. -- whatever you can do to insure the sitter knows how to draw up such a time dose. If you use a sample syringe, use a colored liquid so it's easy to see.

Just out of curiosity, when are you feeding Roo? Your PMPS numbers look better than your AMPS numbers. Sometimes snack late in the cycle (+8 or +9) may help to bring the pre-shot numbers down.
 
The petsitter will be testing - what would be a good no shoot number to give for 0.25u? I'm thinking anything above 90 he should shoot?

Will definitely leave out a sample syringe and write out all my steps.

Just out of curiosity, when are you feeding Roo? Your PMPS numbers look better than your AMPS numbers. Sometimes snack late in the cycle (+8 or +9) may help to bring the pre-shot numbers down.
Typically, he gets some food every 4 hours, so +4 and +8 in the PM cycle, but over the last week I ran out of batteries in my auto feeder so have just put both PM cycle snacks in the dish at +3 or +4 (when I go to bed) and let him eat it whenever he wants. He does seem to want to eat more during the PM cycle, and doesn't usually eat his snacks on a typically day in the AM cycle so that might also be an explanation for the higher AMPS and lower PMPS.
 
Once you're back and can do some observation, can you try to see if a snack seems to bring Roo's numbers down or not. As I noted, for some cats, a snack activates their pancreas to produce insulin and numbers drop. It may not work that way for Roo. If you're correct, you may either want to move the timing of the late PM snack to earlier or see what works best.

I'm not sure I understand why you dropped the PM shots to 0.25u on a couple of days. If it's not too much trouble, if it comes up again, can you put a note in the comments section on your spreadsheet? With numbers looking this good, it's helpful to know the rationale behind any exceptions.

Clearly, the nadirs are great. It can take a while for pre-shot numbers to fall into line.
 
Back
Top