12/30 Lucy AMPS=271 +3=208 +6=174 +9=185 Advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like yesterday morning's shot finally wore off!!

What you could do if you want to is to add the extra info in the "remarks" section so that those of us using the US version would see all the entries from last night

OK now Lucy....let's just do a nice gentle slide into pretty blues today!
 
Hi Chris. Yes I probably should have been more courageous and gave Lucy the insulin before the previous dose wore off. But being so anxious and not having much experience with lower readings I needed to see the glucose level go up by a little bit instead of staying the same. But it's all experience and adds to my knowledge about how Lucy reacts to insulin because twice now the insulin has taken between 16 and 20 hours to wear off. So I am starting to understand that you also have to factor in what the glucose levels will be in a few hours and because we have not had low readings before except once a few days ago I felt anxious to give Lucy her insulin dose. Today +5 after the AM dose showed a lowered reading from the AMPS but I think it would have been lower if the AM dose was given earlier than it was. I will make some notes in the remarks section of our spreadsheet for those viewing the U.S. version and thank you again.
 
Hi Voula!

It's perfectly ok to be where you are in this Sugar Dance! Everyone has to learn at their own speed. Serryn is absolutely right that looking at spreadsheets is one way to help you see what happens with other kitties. I have saved a post that I wrote for Darin/Charlie last summer about shooting lower numbers. It's an interesting thing that Lantus actually works better at lower ranges than it does at higher. Very counter-intuitive - and hard to grasp until you actually see it happen over and over again in different kitties. Here's the post I wrote for him when he was at the state you were at: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...-3-110-4-146-5-147-6-248.121668/#post-1266888 I'm having trouble getting that link to go high enough on the page, so you may need to scroll up a little bit to read it.

Make sure you look at the spreadsheets in there that I linked for examples. Shooting low is actually a great opportunity for you to lower the whole range of her blood sugar. But for now, why don't you use that 150 as your cut-off for shots and then in a week, lower it to 125, and gradually lower it as you see that Voula is ok when you shoot below 150.

The other comment I wanted to make is that Lantus takes a couple of hours to onset, meaning for its action to begin to lower the blood sugar. So you aren't really shooting the number that you're seeing at shot time, but the number the blood sugar will be in 2 hours.
 
Thank you Julie. Your words are always reassuring and I am sure very soon my anxiety about all of this will be much lower just as it was after I got used to doing blood glucose tests. Yes I kept that in mind tonight that lantus takes a few hours to begin to have an effect and I have seen that even with AMPS or PMPS of lower than 150 or even close to 50 as we had a week ago that in about three or four hours the readings will rise and that we aren't exactly dosing at the current level at dose time. So waiting it out these last two times has been beneficial in giving me confidence to dose at lower readings when they happen again. I will read the link you posted. I think you posted it before in a reply to me but I will read it again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top