12/30 Bear - AMPS 231, +1 221, +2 178, +3 108, +4.5 60, +5.25 41, +7 96, +8 163, +9 305, PMPS 336

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

Happy Friday. Here are Bear's numbers for today after changing his dose to .75 last night. He got pretty low just now so gave him so HC food and a little honey. He's acting totally fine. Hopefully he bounces right back up soon!
 
Here is the link to yesterday's post with pictures of your crew: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...orm-broken-reader-6-88-9-133-pmps-166.272383/

Good to see that Bear came up pretty quickly after that 41. Might want to update the subject line with the latest test, so people know he's in the safe zone again. One thing that I found helpful to do, was to record what food I fed to bring kitty up into safe numbers. So put the amount and if HC, etc. in the Remarks column.
 
Hi everyone,

Happy Friday. Here are Bear's numbers for today after changing his dose to .75 last night. He got pretty low just now so gave him so HC food and a little honey. He's acting totally fine. Hopefully he bounces right back up soon!
I'm glad you got him to come up, I'm wondering if you should take another reduction since he dropped under 50 again or not since you took a reduction last night when he dropped to 42 on 12-28 AM cycle
I'm going to tag Wendy since she will know better
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
With TR, we do not take back to back reductions. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The 41 today was likely influenced by the 1.0 unit depot. So, the answer is no to reduce if following TR.
 
Here is the link to yesterday's post with pictures of your crew: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...orm-broken-reader-6-88-9-133-pmps-166.272383/

Good to see that Bear came up pretty quickly after that 41. Might want to update the subject line with the latest test, so people know he's in the safe zone again. One thing that I found helpful to do, was to record what food I fed to bring kitty up into safe numbers. So put the amount and if HC, etc. in the Remarks column.
Hi Wendy&Neko, thanks for the suggestion, I updated it to have all the numbers after! Great idea about recording the food, will do that now.
 
I see you must be concerned about the PMPS of 336
I'm not sure if he could be bouncing
Here is information about bouncing from the yellow stickies, The Basics
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's systemwithin 3 days (6 cycles).
Let's see what Wendy nd Bron says about how long you should stay with 0.75 units
@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
I see you must be concerned about the PMPS of 336
I'm not sure if he could be bouncing
Here is information about bouncing from the yellow stickies, The Basics
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's systemwithin 3 days (6 cycles).
Let's see what Wendy says about how long you should stay with 0.75 units
@Wendy&Neko
Yeah, I am. I figured he is bouncing. He got up to 500 shortly after. Just want to see with everything how long he should stay at the .75.
 
He’s acting completely fine. Tail swishing per usual. Just got up and drank some water. I brought him in our room to watch him and he’s up walking around trying to go back to his room haha. Definitely would have eaten more food if I let him.
When they get that low you want to space out the food so they don't get full & test every 20mins & if he's still low feed a little more(repeat) unless he's in safe numbers
 
Looks like it's down to 0.5 units tomorrow morning.

As for when it's safe to stop testing - as a general guideline, HC lasts a couple hours in their system. So if it's been two hours since his last HC was given, and he's still rising, then it's the natural rise of the cycle and you are good to go (to sleep). Sometimes when the HC wears off, the numbers drop again. You'd usually use HC to get him over 50, and as long as he stays there, you can go to LC and start that 2 hours timing.
 
Looks like it's down to 0.5 units tomorrow morning.

As for when it's safe to stop testing - as a general guideline, HC lasts a couple hours in their system. So if it's been two hours since his last HC was given, and he's still rising, then it's the natural rise of the cycle and you are good to go (to sleep). Sometimes when the HC wears off, the numbers drop again. You'd usually use HC to get him over 50, and as long as he stays there, you can go to LC and start that 2 hours timing.
This is perfect, thank you! He got his reduction this morning.
 
Back
Top