12/30 >600 AMPS - Minnie Bella staying high again.

Bella was eating better yesterday which may be why we are seeing higher numbers - but not sure.

Here is the link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bellas-erratic-readings.296906/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-hi-3-572-5-570-pmps-529.296987/#post-3232011
She was headed down pretty quickly the evening of 12/27 and perhaps she got low but that drop was enough to trigger a bounce which can take six cycles to clear.

In addition, cats on Lantus often react to a new dose, within the first 24 hours of the increase, by showing higher BGs. We call this new dose wonkiness.

I noted Bhooma (@Bandit's Mom) mentioned you could follow SLGS or TR protocol but as long as you are feeding any dry, you can only do SLGS as the TR protocol has a requirement of only canned or balanced raw being fed (no dry food).

Her BG might also be higher due to the infection. Please be sure you are checking her urine ketones every day. Ketones can develop quickly and can progress to diabetic ketoacidosis which occurs when there is infection + not enough insulin + not enough calories/water. You can get urine ketone strips at any pharmacy or Walmart.

Thank you for linking the previous condos but you only need to link the most recent.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top