Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Day 11 of .75Unit Lantus http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-2-240-4-143-5-149-6-127-7-169-8-190.207345/
Wow....I just looked at Bailey's SS, .01...FANTASTIC....Congratulations! Looking really good!!! I don't know how you measure .01, good for you!
Give Bailey a BIG HUG from me. Wishing Bailey only the best![]()
I know, he had a good day yesterday but his evening cycle didn't come down much. Any thoughts on this? Thank you!!Nice blues yesterday. I hope Yoyo comes back down today.
Thank you for the helpful information and for sharing it with me.Yoyo's been doing very well spending more time in the blues. Sorry about the bounce today though
Thanks Debra! Your comments reminded me of something.
Have I ever shared this thread with you?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I'm wondering if Yoyo's bouncing is due in part to dosing.
Bailey stopped bouncing almost immediately after I read a post about the printing on syringes being inconsistent. I haven't figured out a way to use the calipers because I just can't see them, but for now, I have separated the syringes by where the zero line is printed, and I am only using the syringes where the top of the zero line is right at the top of the barrel of the syringe. I then use a microscope to line check the amount in the syringe. I'm running out of those and will soon figure out how to use the rest.
Anyway, if I already shared this with you, sorry for being repetitious. If I haven't, hope it helps
I hope surfs blue today![]()
The 127 is a pretty low number for Yoyo. It may just take him a little while to come back down since he is not used to those kinds of numbers yet.I know, he had a good day yesterday but his evening cycle didn't come down much. Any thoughts on this? Thank you!!
I took his+2 at 9am and he was 183. I had a Dr appt and checked him about 15 minutes ago at +3 99. I fed him more than 1/2can LC. Recheck about now?The 127 is a pretty low number for Yoyo. It may just take him a little while to come back down since he is not used to those kinds of numbers yet.
Yoyo's +3.5 99....I gave himmoe than 1/2can of food. Just rechecked at 10:50a, +3 almost +4 103Yoyo's been doing very well spending more time in the blues. Sorry about the bounce today though
Thanks Debra! Your comments reminded me of something.
Have I ever shared this thread with you?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I'm wondering if Yoyo's bouncing is due in part to dosing.
Bailey stopped bouncing almost immediately after I read a post about the printing on syringes being inconsistent. I haven't figured out a way to use the calipers because I just can't see them, but for now, I have separated the syringes by where the zero line is printed, and I am only using the syringes where the top of the zero line is right at the top of the barrel of the syringe. I then use a microscope to line check the amount in the syringe. I'm running out of those and will soon figure out how to use the rest.
Anyway, if I already shared this with you, sorry for being repetitious. If I haven't, hope it helps
I hope surfs blue today![]()
Yoyo dropped low to me......+3 99. He is coming back up, I gave him 1/2can LC around 10:30am. I keep rechecking him, now at +4 111. Do I need to give more LC?Bring it on down Yoyo work that juice
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.Yoyo hasn't earned a reduction yet. If he goes below 90, you would reduce his dose. Let's see what he does. I'm here, and I won't leave you alone.
@carfurby and @Bellasmom are very knowledgeable so if he keeps dropping, hopefully they can chime in.
Happy for Yoyo! This is great!
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
Ok..saw you wrote give 1/8 can....will do right nowHe went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
Sorry, that was my fault. Bad advice. Really thankful you stepped in. Yoyo's in good hands now.It's fine if you do feed a little bit. You don't want to fill him up, just in case he has other plans we aren't aware of!![]()
I haven't fed him since 10:30am when he was +3 99. Should I give the 1/8 can now or wait?It's fine if you do feed a little bit. You don't want to fill him up, just in case he has other plans we aren't aware of!![]()
I think you are 10 minutes from +5, correct? If it was me, I would wait to see if food is warranted after getting the test.I haven't fed him since 10:30am when he was +3 99. Should I give the 1/8 can now or wait?
+5 will be at 12pmI think you are 10 minutes from +5, correct? If it was me, I would wait to see if food is warranted after getting the test.
Ok, 15 minutes. Giving me a time doesn't really help - +4.75 is more helpful, just for future reference.+5 will be at 12pm
Hi.....Yoyo's +5 127. I never gave him any more food since his +3.5 99. (At +3.5 I gave him 1/2can LC fancy feast). Is it ok to let him rest and give him some food around+6 as long as he is acting normal?Ok, 15 minutes. Giving me a time doesn't really help - +4.75 is more helpful, just for future reference.
It's your call. How is he acting? Is he bugging you or is he relaxing?
Absolutely! I'm glad he surfed until past his nadir.Is it ok to let him rest and give him some food around+6 as long as he is acting normal?
This is so nerve racking to me....thank you for being here, much appreciated. Since I am learning this, can you please tell me if I did right by giving Yoyo a 1/2 can of food when I saw he was at 99. Should I have given less. My first insticnt was to get food into him and a 1/2 can was do him at that time. Please give me all your thoughts and opinions. All valued! Thanks again!!Absolutely! I'm glad he surfed until past his nadir.
Thank you for being here....I was a basket case. I know 67 is the low #, but 99 sure scared me. I'm used to seeing 300's and 200's and then 100's. He dropped so fast today and of course I had to go for a mammogram this morning. When I left I almost cancelled my appt but I had my sister watching him but she can't do the BG and she can't feed him. When he doesn't want food, he won't eat. Now me, I get the food right into his mouth, but he is used to me. SCARY!!!Sorry, that was my fault. Bad advice. Really thankful you stepped in. Yoyo's in good hands now.![]()
Yes, I have MC and HC canned foods thanks to all the Great advice @Rosie & Bailey gives me all the time. Correct me if I am wrong, but if he had gotten lower, I am using the Alphatrak2 that 67 is the low # to take action. I have printed out the hypoglycemia information and I would have followed that with shaking hands. I know it states to give 1 teaspoon and it depends on symptoms and #'s and then 1 tablespoon if lower numbers, but I'm not sure if it states how much canned food to give. Can you please tell me? Would it be 1-2 teaspoons and retest?Next time you see a number like that, I'd give 1-2 teaspoons of food and test again in 20-30 minutes. It looks like Yoyo responded just fine to LC today. Do you have higher carb foods on hand, just in case?
You did great with what you did with Yoyo today!!
I think you answered your own question. Give 1-2 tsps of food and test as needed. If he had dropped below 90 hard and fast, HC is the best one to do. If it was a slow descent, but below 90, I'd do MC.I know it states to give 1 teaspoon and it depends on symptoms and #'s and then 1 tablespoon if lower numbers, but I'm not sure if it states how much canned food to give.
Thank you!I think you answered your own question. Give 1-2 tsps of food and test as needed. If he had dropped below 90 hard and fast, HC is the best one to do. If it was a slow descent, but below 90, I'd do MC.
Thank you! I put notes under the Remarks Section for 12/3/18 on the SS and in the green cell under +3 shows 1/2can.I'm at work and didn't get the tag until now. I'm glad Mandy was able to help. You did a good job taking care of Yoyo. Make sure you put notes either on his SS or somewhere handy for future reference of what you fed and when.
Great suggestion! It does come in handy to be able to look back and see what worked, and didn't work, in the past.Make sure you put notes either on his SS or somewhere handy for future reference of what you fed and when.
When this was all going on I tried putting the Plus Symbol in that cell and I was getting ERRORS. I don't know what was happening at that time but it wasn't allowing me to put the symbol "+", yet I have been putting the Plus symbol in the cells when I add his Felimazole Pill. I'll go back and edit the cell and thanks for telling me about the ctrl-enter.Great suggestion! It does come in handy to be able to look back and see what worked, and didn't work, in the past.
One other minor correction to your ss. When you put in two numbers back to back, the assumption is that the test is being done within minutes of each other. To show that a half hour of time passed between the tests, you would write it as follows: 111@+4 104@+4.5. If you hit ctrl-enter, that works as a hard return and allows you to force a new line.
Yoyo is so funny. He must really want you to be able to sleep because he does his pinks and yellows at night, and his blue surfing during the day. What a gentleman you are Yoyo.