12/3 Yoyo PMPS 322,+2 284, +4 145.+5 166,+8 211, AMPS 344,+2 183,+3 99,+4 111,+5 127,+6 148,+8 204

Yoyo's been doing very well spending more time in the blues. Sorry about the bounce today though :(

Wow....I just looked at Bailey's SS, .01...FANTASTIC....Congratulations! Looking really good!!! I don't know how you measure .01, good for you!
Give Bailey a BIG HUG from me. Wishing Bailey only the best:):p:D:joyful::cat::cat:

Thanks Debra! Your comments reminded me of something.

Have I ever shared this thread with you?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I'm wondering if Yoyo's bouncing is due in part to dosing.

Bailey stopped bouncing almost immediately after I read a post about the printing on syringes being inconsistent. I haven't figured out a way to use the calipers because I just can't see them, but for now, I have separated the syringes by where the zero line is printed, and I am only using the syringes where the top of the zero line is right at the top of the barrel of the syringe. I then use a microscope to line check the amount in the syringe. I'm running out of those and will soon figure out how to use the rest.

Anyway, if I already shared this with you, sorry for being repetitious. If I haven't, hope it helps :)

I hope surfs blue today :)
 
Last edited:
Yoyo's been doing very well spending more time in the blues. Sorry about the bounce today though :(



Thanks Debra! Your comments reminded me of something.

Have I ever shared this thread with you?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I'm wondering if Yoyo's bouncing is due in part to dosing.

Bailey stopped bouncing almost immediately after I read a post about the printing on syringes being inconsistent. I haven't figured out a way to use the calipers because I just can't see them, but for now, I have separated the syringes by where the zero line is printed, and I am only using the syringes where the top of the zero line is right at the top of the barrel of the syringe. I then use a microscope to line check the amount in the syringe. I'm running out of those and will soon figure out how to use the rest.

Anyway, if I already shared this with you, sorry for being repetitious. If I haven't, hope it helps :)

I hope surfs blue today :)
Thank you for the helpful information and for sharing it with me.
 
I know, he had a good day yesterday but his evening cycle didn't come down much. Any thoughts on this? Thank you!!
The 127 is a pretty low number for Yoyo. It may just take him a little while to come back down since he is not used to those kinds of numbers yet.
 
The 127 is a pretty low number for Yoyo. It may just take him a little while to come back down since he is not used to those kinds of numbers yet.
I took his+2 at 9am and he was 183. I had a Dr appt and checked him about 15 minutes ago at +3 99. I fed him more than 1/2can LC. Recheck about now?
 
Yoyo's been doing very well spending more time in the blues. Sorry about the bounce today though :(



Thanks Debra! Your comments reminded me of something.

Have I ever shared this thread with you?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I'm wondering if Yoyo's bouncing is due in part to dosing.

Bailey stopped bouncing almost immediately after I read a post about the printing on syringes being inconsistent. I haven't figured out a way to use the calipers because I just can't see them, but for now, I have separated the syringes by where the zero line is printed, and I am only using the syringes where the top of the zero line is right at the top of the barrel of the syringe. I then use a microscope to line check the amount in the syringe. I'm running out of those and will soon figure out how to use the rest.

Anyway, if I already shared this with you, sorry for being repetitious. If I haven't, hope it helps :)

I hope surfs blue today :)
Yoyo's +3.5 99....I gave himmoe than 1/2can of food. Just rechecked at 10:50a, +3 almost +4 103
 
Yoyo is safe. He is coasting green, and that's awesome! You can go ahead and feed him 1/8 can, or maybe just a teaspoon. Let's encourage him to surf a little bit.
Check again in 30 minutes. He's doing fine.

You only have to be concerned if he hits 67 on the AT monitor. He is perfectly safe. You're doing fine.
 
Yoyo hasn't earned a reduction yet. If he goes below 90, you would reduce his dose. Let's see what he does. I'm here, and I won't leave you alone.
@carfurby and @Bellasmom are very knowledgeable so if he keeps dropping, hopefully they can chime in.

Happy for Yoyo! This is great!
 
Yoyo hasn't earned a reduction yet. If he goes below 90, you would reduce his dose. Let's see what he does. I'm here, and I won't leave you alone.
@carfurby and @Bellasmom are very knowledgeable so if he keeps dropping, hopefully they can chime in.

Happy for Yoyo! This is great!
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
 
I would back off and see if Yoyo can hold his own. He's around his usual nadir time and you don't want to put brakes on the insulin action.
 
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
He went down again,his +4.5 104. His +4 was 111. Should I give more food? ANd how much? I stuffed him with the 1//2 can at 10:30am.
Ok..saw you wrote give 1/8 can....will do right now
 
Ok, 15 minutes. Giving me a time doesn't really help - +4.75 is more helpful, just for future reference.

It's your call. How is he acting? Is he bugging you or is he relaxing?
Hi.....Yoyo's +5 127. I never gave him any more food since his +3.5 99. (At +3.5 I gave him 1/2can LC fancy feast). Is it ok to let him rest and give him some food around+6 as long as he is acting normal?
 
Absolutely! I'm glad he surfed until past his nadir.
This is so nerve racking to me....thank you for being here, much appreciated. Since I am learning this, can you please tell me if I did right by giving Yoyo a 1/2 can of food when I saw he was at 99. Should I have given less. My first insticnt was to get food into him and a 1/2 can was do him at that time. Please give me all your thoughts and opinions. All valued! Thanks again!!
 
Sorry, that was my fault. Bad advice. Really thankful you stepped in. Yoyo's in good hands now. :)
Thank you for being here....I was a basket case. I know 67 is the low #, but 99 sure scared me. I'm used to seeing 300's and 200's and then 100's. He dropped so fast today and of course I had to go for a mammogram this morning. When I left I almost cancelled my appt but I had my sister watching him but she can't do the BG and she can't feed him. When he doesn't want food, he won't eat. Now me, I get the food right into his mouth, but he is used to me. SCARY!!!
 
I'm glad he's doing so well, and you have learned a valuable diabetic cat lesson.
They always plan to surf when it is least convenient for you, especially when there is something you can't easily cancel like a doctor's appointment.
In case you had any doubts, Yoyo's in control.

I hope he doesn't bounce too high after this little episode, but even if he does, don't worry. Every time he dips into lower numbers, his body gets more used to it, and the bounces become less intense and less often. He's doing very well in such a short amount of time. You've done a great job with him.
 
Next time you see a number like that, I'd give 1-2 teaspoons of food and test again in 20-30 minutes. It looks like Yoyo responded just fine to LC today. Do you have higher carb foods on hand, just in case?

You did great with what you did with Yoyo today!!
 
Next time you see a number like that, I'd give 1-2 teaspoons of food and test again in 20-30 minutes. It looks like Yoyo responded just fine to LC today. Do you have higher carb foods on hand, just in case?

You did great with what you did with Yoyo today!!
Yes, I have MC and HC canned foods thanks to all the Great advice @Rosie & Bailey gives me all the time. Correct me if I am wrong, but if he had gotten lower, I am using the Alphatrak2 that 67 is the low # to take action. I have printed out the hypoglycemia information and I would have followed that with shaking hands. I know it states to give 1 teaspoon and it depends on symptoms and #'s and then 1 tablespoon if lower numbers, but I'm not sure if it states how much canned food to give. Can you please tell me? Would it be 1-2 teaspoons and retest?
 
I know it states to give 1 teaspoon and it depends on symptoms and #'s and then 1 tablespoon if lower numbers, but I'm not sure if it states how much canned food to give.
I think you answered your own question. Give 1-2 tsps of food and test as needed. If he had dropped below 90 hard and fast, HC is the best one to do. If it was a slow descent, but below 90, I'd do MC.
 
I'm at work and didn't get the tag until now. I'm glad Mandy was able to help. You did a good job taking care of Yoyo. Make sure you put notes either on his SS or somewhere handy for future reference of what you fed and when.
 
I'm at work and didn't get the tag until now. I'm glad Mandy was able to help. You did a good job taking care of Yoyo. Make sure you put notes either on his SS or somewhere handy for future reference of what you fed and when.
Thank you! I put notes under the Remarks Section for 12/3/18 on the SS and in the green cell under +3 shows 1/2can.
 
Make sure you put notes either on his SS or somewhere handy for future reference of what you fed and when.
Great suggestion! It does come in handy to be able to look back and see what worked, and didn't work, in the past.

One other minor correction to your ss. When you put in two numbers back to back, the assumption is that the test is being done within minutes of each other. To show that a half hour of time passed between the tests, you would write it as follows: 111@+4 104@+4.5. If you hit ctrl-enter, that works as a hard return and allows you to force a new line.

Yoyo is so funny. He must really want you to be able to sleep because he does his pinks and yellows at night, and his blue surfing during the day. What a gentleman you are Yoyo.
 
Great suggestion! It does come in handy to be able to look back and see what worked, and didn't work, in the past.

One other minor correction to your ss. When you put in two numbers back to back, the assumption is that the test is being done within minutes of each other. To show that a half hour of time passed between the tests, you would write it as follows: 111@+4 104@+4.5. If you hit ctrl-enter, that works as a hard return and allows you to force a new line.

Yoyo is so funny. He must really want you to be able to sleep because he does his pinks and yellows at night, and his blue surfing during the day. What a gentleman you are Yoyo.
When this was all going on I tried putting the Plus Symbol in that cell and I was getting ERRORS. I don't know what was happening at that time but it wasn't allowing me to put the symbol "+", yet I have been putting the Plus symbol in the cells when I add his Felimazole Pill. I'll go back and edit the cell and thanks for telling me about the ctrl-enter.
Tonight Yoyo has slowed down with his numbers, but like you said, he lets me sleep. Gotta love the boy!
 
Back
Top