12/3 Whitey AMPS 273 - recent reduction should I hold?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
Hello all. At the end of October we raised Whitey from 1.00 unit to 1.25. We held for just over a month and numbers were starting to look really good, lots of blue. Then on Thanksgiving I got a 36 +11 and 59 AMPS. I decided to shoot 1.00 because I was heading out to the family Thanksgiving and I knew I would be gone for several hours and wanted to be cautious. I checked right before heading out at +4 and he was 26. I checked every 15 minutes and got a rise to 32 and 38 before I left (also fed HC food and corn syrup). I know that those numbers require a reduction so he's been on 1.00 since then but his numbers seem to be creeping up toward the 300s a lot now. I haven't really had the chance to get many mid cycle tests since but I am wondering how long I should hold at 1.00 or if I should go back up?

Advice?
 
That must have been a scary Thanksgiving! Whitey saw some pinks in the first 6 cycles after those lows and that was probably a monster bounce, given how low he went. Bounces can last up to 6 cycles. Since those first 6 cycles, the numbers have looked better, so I would hold the dose for now. However, you haven't been getting many night time tests. It's very important to at least get a test before going to bed. Often cats will go lower at night so the before bed test will tell you whether Whitey is going to have an active cycle and you need to do more monitoring.
 
For future reference, most of us, including people who have been managing their kitty's diabetes for some time, will not shoot a number in the 40s. As you saw, there is absolutely no margin for error and you MUST test early in the cycle when shooting low numbers. Given that you were going to be leaving the house, a better option would have been to have skipped the shot if you weren't going to be around. I shoot low numbers and I won't shoot if Gabby is below 50.

Like Wendy suggested, getting a before bed test every night will be helpful. It's essential to get the PM tests especially on those days when you can't test during the AM cycle.
 
Thanks. He was actually 36 an hour before the shot and 59 when I gave him the shot so I figured he was rising. I also had 4 hours before I was leaving so I thought that was enough time to monitor but given that I was leaving and 90 minute drive away in traffic I should have skipped and I would skip if the situation happened again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top