12/3 Webster AMPS=511 +3=486 +6=453

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Webster is very hungry this morning as usual.

In an attempt to make sense of his early drop offs, I decided to start taking a +1 as well as +2 which should help me determine when onset occurs (granted, carryover, meter variance as well as depot and possibility of a bounce/clearing can make this determination difficult)

The idea is to figure out whether he starts his free fall in the first hour or the second hour and then feed a greater portion of his food allowance 30mins to 1 hour prior to when he typically gains momentum. The hope is to offset the immediate effects of the insulin and slow down a fall. Right now I'm feeding him 1oz on the hour @PS,+1,+2 and +3. Maybe he needs something like 2oz,1oz,1oz or 1oz,2oz,1oz, or maybe 3oz,1oz, or maybe 2oz,2oz.

I hope to figure it out. So far, he has dropped quite a bit in the first hour. Humm..

What are your thought?

Also, I went from questioning whether or not he needed insulin the other day to when do I need to adjust his dose back up? His numbers yesterday seemed fairly high. I believe the protocol says to not wait to adjust if he's numbers are trending upwards?
 
Re: 12/3 Webster AMPS=511

With regards to feeding him at those times, you're doing fine. You may want to add more meals, and stretch them out further if those times aren't doing anything, and perhaps give him less each feeding to equal the total amount that you're giving him. (ie. If you're feeding him 3 oz. in the a.m., then divide the 3 oz. by say 5x, and feed PS, +1, +2, +4 and +5, or something like that). Everything with FD is a trial and error experiment. You'll be working with weight, feeding amounts, feeding times, etc., until you finally find something that works. Then, you may change things up a bit over time. Just remember that with anything you do, you may or may not experience some bouncing. Simply ride them out, and eventually they'll settle down.

After taking a look at your SS, and seeing you've skipped a dose almost 3 nights ago, I would do one of 2 things... a) continue with the 0.25u for this evening, and then increase tomorrow to 0.50u, or b) hold this current dose of 0.25u for about another 2 days (4 cycles), seeing if he'll settle down a bit, and if not then increase to 0.50u. In order to down in #s, you need to go up in doses. Hang in there... It'll happen. You're both doing a great job. :-D
 
Re: 12/3 Webster AMPS=511

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others said:
With regards to feeding him at those times, you're doing fine. You may want to add more meals, and stretch them out further if those times aren't doing anything, and perhaps give him less each feeding to equal the total amount that you're giving him. (ie. If you're feeding him 3 oz. in the a.m., then divide the 3 oz. by say 5x, and feed PS, +1, +2, +4 and +5, or something like that). Everything with FD is a trial and error experiment. You'll be working with weight, feeding amounts, feeding times, etc., until you finally find something that works. Then, you may change things up a bit over time. Just remember that with anything you do, you may or may not experience some bouncing. Simply ride them out, and eventually they'll settle down.

After taking a look at your SS, and seeing you've skipped a dose almost 3 nights ago, I would do one of 2 things... a) continue with the 0.25u for this evening, and then increase tomorrow to 0.50u, or b) hold this current dose of 0.25u for about another 2 days (4 cycles), seeing if he'll settle down a bit, and if not then increase to 0.50u. In order to down in #s, you need to go up in doses. Hang in there... It'll happen. You're both doing a great job. :-D

Thanks for the input Angela.

With regards to feeding around +4 and +5, I've been told not to feed as nadir is approaching as this puts the "brakes" on the insulin while its in full effect. Could you elaborate on why a feeding near mid cycle may be appropriate?

As for the insulin adjustment, I'll have to play it by ear today and decided when and if to increase his dose. Thanks for weighing in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top