12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109; +8 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Ok, I just re-tested 20 minutes after giving him a little canned food with honey and it is up to 61. Do I feed him some more food or just re-test in another 20 minutes? He looked a little sluggish but he is still interested in playing with his little fuzzy ball on a string. I guess that is a good sign?



Simon is down to 41 at +4.5, down from 54 just a 1/2 hour ago. Unfortunately, today is the first day I have not had high carb canned food. I was going to the store tomorrow. I just gave him a tablespoon of regular food with a little honey on it. Should I start thinking about taking him to the emergency clinic?



I tested Simon this evening at +3.5 after his PMPS and he is at 40! I gave him some dry food and re-tested at +3.75 and it went up to 56. At +4.0 it went back down 2 points to 54. I gave him a little honey and will re-test in a short while. What should I do? I was getting ready to go to sleep and now I don't know what to do. How often should I re-test if his numbers stay in the 50's over the next 1/2 hour to hour? Is it safe to go to sleep or should I test every few hours or more? I hope someone is awake to give advice! Thanks. This is all so new to me and I am a little scared.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon NEED HELP; +3.5 40; +3.75 56; +4.0 54

do you have any HC wet food? like the ones with gravy in it...give some of that a little bit and you can add a lil bit of karo to it...not much....then retest in 20 mins....you want to feed a little bit at a time...don't panic...and no you can not go to bed....you can use your 911 on the subject line for the experts to see it
 
Re: 12/3 Simon NEED HELP; +3.5 40; +3.75 56; +4.0 54

Unfortunately, you're not going to get to go to sleep just yet. The dry food takes a while to work. That's why we use HC canned food (i.e., gravy) like Claudia was asking about. If you don't have gravy, mixing honey or Karo/corn syrup or maple syrup into regular canned food will work. The simple sugar will raise BG levels much more quickly than dry food.

Here are instructions on how to deal with low numbers.

You're going to want to test every 20 min. until you see the numbers are stabilizing. When you get your next test, please post. We'll be waiting to see where Simon's numbers are.

And the good news is that Simon earned a dose reduction.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41

Georgia:

Give Simon a teaspoon or so of gravy or LC food that you mix a couple of drops (literally) of honey/Karo, etc. into. Retest in 20 min.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41

don't wait for half hr to go by to test...please feed then test in 20 mins from feeding...then report to us how he is acting and what's happened....you will have enough time to give us an update....then back at it you go...ok
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Georgia and Simon said:
Ok, I just re-tested 20 minutes after giving him a little canned food with honey and it is up to 61. Do I feed him some more food or just re-test in another 20 minutes? He looked a little sluggish but he is still interested in playing with his little fuzzy ball on a string. I guess that is a good sign?



Simon is down to 41 at +4.5, down from 54 just a 1/2 hour ago. Unfortunately, today is the first day I have not had high carb canned food. I was going to the store tomorrow. I just gave him a tablespoon of regular food with a little honey on it. Should I start thinking about taking him to the emergency clinic?



I tested Simon this evening at +3.5 after his PMPS and he is at 40! I gave him some dry food and re-tested at +3.75 and it went up to 56. At +4.0 it went back down 2 points to 54. I gave him a little honey and will re-test in a short while. What should I do? I was getting ready to go to sleep and now I don't know what to do. How often should I re-test if his numbers stay in the 50's over the next 1/2 hour to hour? Is it safe to go to sleep or should I test every few hours or more? I hope someone is awake to give advice! Thanks. This is all so new to me and I am a little scared.

in order to give us updates on Simon...click on post a reply in your condo....this first post seems like it's the first one you had a while back and people might miss what you are saying on any updates...

tablespoon is too much...teaspoon more like it as he will get full faster...keep testing...no need to go to emergency yet....keep us updated and do test every 20 mins...and yes feed a lil more
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Georgia, you need to post replies, not edit the body of your first post. Only edit the subject with the new numbers. A reply will bump you to the top of the list an edit won't.

this should get you to the top of the list.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Sorry about doing an edit instead of a post reply. I guess that was confusing. I just gave Simon a little more food with a few drops of honey. I'll test in a short while and post again. Keep your fingers crossed that he doesn't drop again. I can't believe he is still able to eat even though I have fed him numerous small amounts in the last 2 hours. At least he seems to like the honey.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

That's perfect. It's exactly the reason we suggest feeding a small amount because you can be at this for a while.

Your errand for tomorrow: HC, gravy-type canned food. You can feed the gravy without any of the solids so your kitty doesn't fill up. The gravy is where all the carbs are.

I didn't even think to look in your first post. I'm glad Ann looked and thought to tell you to post a reply. That bumps your condo to the top of the board. You're doing great.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

I just re-tested again and he went down a bit to 57. I'll give him a little more food with honey. He is really getting mad at me for sticking his ear so much but he is tolerating it. I just don't understand why his numbers aren't going up faster with all the food and honey. I will definitely get some HC food tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Somethng to help keep you busy between tests -- make sure you note where Simon's numbers are in your subject line. That will keep eyes on your condo. You can take off the 911 since there are several people here to walk you through the low #s.

The reason that Simon's number aren't coming up faster is that you may be conservative with how much honey you're using. That's not a bad thing. You'll get a feel for how much to use to bring #s up. Some people here keep a wide range of different carb food. I don't. I stock up on Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (it's between 15 - 17% carb). If I need to bump up the carb content, I add a drop or two of Karo.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Whew -- I re-tested Simon and now he is at 82. Glad he went up from the 50's. Do I feed him again or just wait another 1/2 hour and re-test. If numbers stay where they are now, how often do I need to continue to test tonight (or should I say this morning?). I am having a hard time getting blood and I feel so bad for him. Do your cats hate you for a little while after you have been through numerous testings? We are all so tired -- except for my husband who is sleeping. But he has an excuse -- he has to work tomorrow.

Thank you for all your support. You are just like having an emergency clinic in my home!
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Georgia,
change the subject line to reflect Simon's current #s ie: PMPS XX +5 XX +5.5 XX +6 XX etc (the most current ones you can fit and leave the PMPS # )

this way people can help you based on where Simon is at.....
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; 61

Get another test in 30 min. It will tell you if numbers are leveling off or heading up. There's a very high likelihood that Simon will bounce into high numbers. It's possible that the 82 is either a spike from the honey or he's starting to bounce.

I've been testing Gabby on the 30 min. for a bit and now hourly. She's been sleeping. She knows with tests she gets either food or treats. She's happy.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109

He has gone up some more to 109 after another 30 minute check without any additional food. Does this mean he should be ok for the next few hours or do you think he might drop drastically again? It seems like most of the insulin would be out of his body by now. Tomorrow morning, if his numbers are over 150 do I give him a reduced rate of insulin and how much of a reduction? I don't want to go through another night like this!
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109

on the subject line click on the ? mark...this way the experts will know you have a question

i am sorry but i can't give dose advise....hopefully Sienne will advise shortly....leave food out for Simon (with no honey in it)
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109

While I don't recommend surfing in the 40s, numbers below 50 mean a dose reduction. It's a good thing!! This does get easier -- really. The first couple of times it's nerve wracking, though.

Simon is starting to bounce. Unless you gave him a bucket of HC at +7, the numbers are heading up and will continue to do so. If you want, since Simon has earned his decrease, you can leave some food out for him and go to sleep.

He's earned a 0.25u dose reduction. If his numbers are way high (e.g., in the pinks), you can shoot your old dose one last time. It's your choice. Otherwise, you can shoot the reduced dose.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109

One last test at +8 and he is at 119. Thank you, Sienne and Claudia for getting me through this. I'll leave a little food out and re-test him in the morning for his AMPS. I'll reduce by .25 if he is not too low or too high. If he is, I'll probably need more advice on what to do. Thanks again for everything and for everyone else who helped me and Simon through this ordeal.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon +4.5 41; +5 61, +6 57, +7 82, +7.5 109; +8 1

Good night to you two! hope you manage to sleep some before amps time! you did well tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top