12/3 AMPS 487 +2 362 +8 301

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: AMPS 487 se see yesterday

Hi Kelly-

This is what is called a "bounce". Oliver's liver isn't used to the low numbers, so it overreacts by dumping a bunch of stuff (sorry for the non-technical term here) into Oliver's bloodstream to "protect" it from going hypo. This is not unusual, especially for a newly diagnosed kitty, although some kitties never stop bouncing.

Oliver did earn a decrease with that 48 last night. However, since he has bounced, you can "shoot through the bounce", meaning shoot his old dose just this one last time, then shoot the reduced dose this evening.

But yes, he definitely did earn a decrease. One very important thing to remember is that Lantus dose decisions are made based on the nadir (the low point in the cycle), not the pre-shot numbers. Both last night's drop into the 40s and this morning's bounce are the exact reasons why Lantus dose decisions are made this way - you don't want Oliver dropping too low, and he has proven that he can do that with his old dose.

I know it's confusing, but I hope this helps!

Amy
 
Re: AMPS 487 se see yesterday

Actually, everyone is right. Yesterday's drop into the 40s means that a dose reduction is warranted. However, you have an option. The option is called, "shooting through the bounce." What this means is that given the bounce into less than lovely numbers, you could shoot your "old" 2.0u dose. This will help to get numbers into a better range (hopefully -- since bounces can last for roughly 72 hours). Then, tonight, you would lower the dose to the new amount of 1.75u.
 
Re: AMPS 487 se see yesterday

OK WOW Crazy!
Going to shoot the 2 units.
Thanks.
This is nOT the first bounce. I have a feeling Oliver will be a bouncer!
confused_cat
 
Re: 12/3 AMPS 487 +2 362 +8 301 PMPS 354

Thanks Chris, I am sometimes in a hurry and still learning all the things here :) Hope that is not to irritating :oops: Crazy time of year. I am trying though for my Boy to get it right. But its wacky now for sure.
 
you're doing great, kelly. Oliver will come down from that bounce sometime in the next couple of days. hold your dose at 1.75 unless he goes below 50.
 
Also I only have needles that is dosed for 1/2 units only so not sure how to do an appropriate 1.75 ? I did the best between 2.00 and 1.50 as I could tonight for his earn in deduction from 2.00 to 1.75 ?? What recommendations do ya all have now for a more accurate 1.75?
I have 100 or more left over needles from the PZI also any ideas for those?
I got new syringes for the Lantus I think 30u 100
 
There's no such thing as syringes with quarter unit markings....half unit's as good as it gets.

When you're doing doses between, you pretty much have to eyeball it, or you can use calipers. If you use some colored water (coffee, tea, water with food color) with a used syringe, you can play with it and try to figure out where that 1.75 is without risking the loss of any of the insulin

You can also pull up exactly 1 unit (of something other than insulin) and if you slowly twist the plunger, a drop will form at the end of the needle. Try to get the drops to be a consistent size and then count how many drops are in 1 unit...then (for example) if you get 12 drops out of 1 unit, you'd know that if you pull 1 unit of insulin and then "wasted" 3 drops, you'd be at .75

You should have gotten 3/10cc, 30 or 31 gauge, 5/8" U100 syringes...sounds like that's what you've got..holds up to 30 units.

As for the ProZinc syringes, you can donate them if you want to. You could give them to your vet to give to the next person who might need them, or Diabetic Cats in Need is always trying to help members here with things they might not be able to afford.
 
doesn't really matter if your 1.75u is the same as someone else's - the important thing is for you to be consistent in your dosing. you just need to be able to replicate whatever the dose is and be able to reduce or increase it as needed.

some colored solution at the dose you are copying can make a good comparison tool. As Chris described, draw up 2units of a colored solution, turn the plunger like a screw to squeeze out some - to whatever point you think is 1.75u - then set that syringe aside and keep it. you'll use it as long as you are at 1.75u. when you draw up doses, you can compare to your practice syringe to decide if you have the same dose. you could use a used syringe for the comparison syringe.

sometimes it helps to look at the black line of the plunger in relation to the lines on the syringe. on the New to the Group? sticky there are pics of some of the small doses. maybe those would help.

when punkin died, i donated all of his remaining supplies to a cat getting help from DCIN. You could message Venita and ask if there is a cat near you that needs the supplies, or she could tell you how to donate. it's deductible as a charitable contribution if you are in the US. there is a formula for using Lantus in the Prozinc syringes, but personally, i wouldn't do it. they have a larger barrel and i would be afraid of accidentally overdosing my kitty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top