12/29Kitkat- +7 74, +7.5 74, +11 88,PMPS 94, +2 86, +4 79, +6 106

1 hr check after feeding (would have been +6). A no go as he had the zoomies and also outside for some excercise, sniffin around, and poops.
Just got +7 and now he is back down to 74.
I know these are good numbers, but I only have a smidge of med carb left, I will wait a bit, see if someone is on, I do need to run to the shop to restock, just maybe not right now???
 
Feed him some normal low carb and test again in 30 mins.

Oops, bad kid me, I jumped the gun and did the tsp med carb, he gobbled it up. (I have enough to do this again one more time if needed). I do of course have his regular low carb wet.

Didn't mean to do it, it's the middle of the night for you correct? I hope this didn't wake you my dear.
 
Its 9 am here.
Do you have a automatic timed feeder?
I’m just thinking about giving him a snack at +9 in the pm cycle to see if we can get down his AMPS. We find that if we give kitties that are on a drop of insulin, a +9 snack at night it can bring down the AMPS BG if their pancreas is working again as food stimulates the pancreas to produce insulin.
 
Yup!!! Will add it to my daily protocol and note it in my SS.
:DI think it's safe for me to head out for 1-2 hrs to restock, will check in and test him when I get back.
 
Surf safely tonight KitKat , I was given the advice to feed @+9 and it did make a difference , brought Tyler's Pre Shots down to green. This was a long time ago , Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21 ( knock on wood ) :bighug::cat:
 
My boy is still green at +11. :D
Fully restocked cat shelves, and a tiny bit of hooman foods too, lol.
I do have several questions regarding caloric intake,and safe weight loss, also prioritizing the DM feeding over caloric reductions right now. Will this be better served by posting in the General health forum, rather than here?
 
He got a few duck treats and had a small nibble at +2, now green again, smidge lower, also duck treats and he finished his little bit of low carb dinner just now.
I will stay up for the +6
 
Kitkat, you are being a dream FD pussy cat.:cat: (Anti jinx, antijinx, anti jinx)
Look at those beautiful numbers. No big drops or bounces…..lovely!
Melinda… You can now see why we say…shoot low to stay low!
Oh yes I see it! And he is my big ole dreamboat. :D
Quick question, he got 2 duck treats (they're about the size of a sugar cube, 6 kcal, and 17% C) and a heaping tsp of low carb wet. Is that a sufficient snack for now at his number?
Also, for 9+ snack I was thinking 1 heaping tbsp of low carb wet. Good plan?
 
Yikes, I will see what I can find.!!! I've been using the purebites chicken (14.5 %) and the Orijen Duck cubes (17%) for tests and shots, maybe I can find something better.
Will he eat the freeze dried food ? People use those for treats. Others cook a chicken breast, cut it up into small pieces and freeze it and use that for treats. There are other low carb treats but I don’t know the names as I don’t live there. Others will be able to tell you about them.
 
I have never tried the freeze dried, but I will :p
And yes he does like cooked chicken quite a bit, I would pan fry in a smidge of olive oil then cut away the outside few cms when cooled, or poach it. I use that occasionally but in a larger chunk (too big to swallow and needs to be chewed as he would a mouse- read this is good for teeth as he needs to use molars - catorg site.
Do you know by chance if cooked roast beef pieces, taken from center of the roast is appropriate as well, I've very occasionally gave him this as well and he loves it.
 
A bit late in the night now, sorry! And Oops, I need to correct the post above, I was a bit confused and was thinking about raw foods. I was thinking my treats were dehydrated, but they are freeze dried.:banghead:
The purebites are 1 ingredient frreze dried chicken breast, which I understood was diabetic appropriate.
The Orijen duck, also 1 ingredient: 50% duck, 49% duck liver and also freeze dried.
Both have the carbs, (few options in Canada).
Still curious about roast beef bits however ;)
 
Back
Top