12/29 Zeke PMPS 143; +5 = 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Well, it was with great reluctance that I shot 0.5u this morning. I have plans tonight which will result in Zeke not being tested for several hours during his PM cycle. As a result, I had to make a dosing decision with Zeke's safety this evening in mind. The possible dosing options were discussed last night and can be viewed in Zeke's condo from yesterday. I opted to do a reduced dose for both the AM and PM cycles as opposed to skipping tonight's. My thought being it would be better to give him some insulin vs none for the PM cycle. However, I was hoping that his AMPS this morning would be low enough that I wouldn't feel so bad about giving him a reduced dose. Unfortunately that was not the case as his BG was at 194. I was hoping for a high green. As a result I fed him his usual LC 4% wellness in hopes of minimizing a food spike impact. Didn't work. He's up to 246 at +1 :cry: :-x :cry: :-x :cry: :-x . Now I fear I've ruined two cycles instead of just one (funny, I didn't think of that as possibility because he'd been doing so well), and messed up the momentum Zeke had going, resulting in a major set back. At this point, I'm not sure I'm even going to be able to enjoy myself tonight, or today for that matter. I may even decide to cancel plans so that I can resume his regular dose of f1.0 tonght instead of waiting until tomorrow. :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Zeke's yesterday
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246

I get a strange message "Oops! Google Chrome could not find http://www.felinediabetus.com" when I click on your link to Yesterday.

I hope Zeke comes down after +2 and you feel better about today and tonight.


ETA: Thanks for fixing the link ;-)
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246

Laura

Please go out...get away from this and have fun. Take sometime for yourselves. You will get him back on track. You can go knowing he's safe.

It isn't a major setback and his AMPS today is not reflective of what you shot. The AMPS and +2 are just about within meter variance and could be a food spike. Just twke a deep breath and let yourself (and Zeke) have a break.
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246. OMG - Tears Worked

What? WHAT?

Tested twice. 1st was an 84 and 2nd was a 92. How on earth does he drop from a 246 at +1 to 92 at +3.25? Someone please provide an explanation or theory. Though possible - I don't believe the +1 was wrong.
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246. OMG - Tears Worked

Is this a cleared bounce? That fast?
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246; +3.25 = 92

MrZ said:
Someone please provide an explanation or theory. Though possible - I don't believe the +1 was wrong.
He's a cat :cool:
Marje and Gracie said:
Please go out...get away from this and have fun. Take sometime for yourselves. You will get him back on track. You can go knowing he's safe.
This is good advice.
Make the most of the opportunity.
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246; +3.25 = 92

Zeke doesn't have a big history of "bounces", but yes, this morning's AMPS could have been a small bounce, and yes, bounces can clear that fast.

The cycle itself looks fairly common (maybe not with Zeke but with lots of other cats).

Rise at +1 from eating, and a decent drop once "onset" happens.

For just a minute, ignore the +1 number. Then the question becomes "Has Zeke shown a drop of 100 points between AMPS and +3? (because that's what you saw this morning.)

I think the answer is "yes".

Take a look at his AM cycle on 12/18 for example.
AMPS 254
+2.75 = 102
There is no +1 from that day, but the same pattern might have been there that day. He might have been flat at +1, but he still dropped over 150 by +3.

Even on Christmas day, when you had that pink AMPS, he had dropped about 100 points by +3.

There are other examples of the same trend. What makes it hard to find them is that Zeke hasn't had all that many high numbers at AMPS or bounces for that matter.

Another factor might have been what he ate for breakfast today. Your SS says 1.5T of 4% carbs. Then no more food before you saw that 92, right? Nothing at all wrong with that, but you can see that without a big carb load from breakfast, once the insulin kicked in, it did it's job well.

You're also seeing some "depot effect" even though you lowered the dose this morning.
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; 2=246; +3.25= 92; +4 = 59

Surf safely, Zeke!

Laura, you didn't mess him up, you didn't cause a major set back.
Enjoy your evening out tonight. :-D

Good luck with tonight's dose, and paws crossed he stays safe for you.
 
Re: 12/29 Zeke AMPS 194; +2 = 246; +3.25 = 92

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
The cycle itself looks fairly common (maybe not with Zeke but with lots of other cats).
Rise at +1 from eating, and a decent drop once "onset" happens.

Well you're right about this not being a common pattern for Zeke, of late any way. Of late, the +1 has been a very good indicator of what I "might" expect for the upcoming cycle. He went up this morning so I thought, "ok, it's not gonna be an active cycle, no need to carb him up and make this cycle worse than I "expect" it's gonna be". Well, it's been stated on this board before, just when you think you've figured out your cat's pattern, he'll be a cat and throw you a curve ball. No joke! Though, once you explained what happened and that really it what was not that surprising, I feel so foolish for not having thought it was possible this cycle could have played out this way. But remember, you're dealing with a "glass half empty" type bean here. Higher PS, lower dose, higher +2 = not a good cycle.

Another factor might have been what he ate for breakfast today. Your SS says 1.5T of 4% carbs. Then no more food before you saw that 92, right? Nothing at all wrong with that, but you can see that without a big carb load from breakfast, once the insulin kicked in, it did it's job well.

Should I just get in the habit of feeding him 7% regardless of the numbers and not try and predict what he's gonna do? Obviously, I am not a very good psychic.

You're also seeing some "depot effect" even though you lowered the dose this morning.
I'm obviously still underestimating the effect of the depot. I'll have to read up more on this.
 
Zeke did very well this evening (I ended up staying with him). He was so playful and full of energy. A complete 180 from how he's been these last couple of weeks. In fact, we noticed an increase in his energy level this morning as well. Perhaps he's starting to realize that being below 200 actually feels pretty good. Well, tomorrow we go back up to 1.0u. I am a bit anxious because it was nice not dropping into the low 50's for the last (almost) 24 hours while on this reduced dose. I did a bit better job of food manipulation this PM. I had to resort to 12% and even 20% gravy. It's worked well through +5. I'll be taking a +6 within the hour. If he's flat, I'm calling it a night (maybe). Might hang out a little JIC.

Thanks Marje and Carl for the dosing advice yesterday. Despite a very rocky emotional start for me, today's cycles turned out to be quite nice.
 
Well, we already have a few shows lined up early next year. That should hopefully give us enough time to get Zeke a lot more comfortable with our vet-tech pet sitter. Spoke with her this evening and stressed that we really need to come up with a plan for a way for her to start building some trust with him. It's gonna be a real feat if we can make it happen. Keeping fingers and paws crossed she'll work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top