What is a 'condo', by the way?
So at +12 he was 410...and I had left that higher carb food out and he ate it between +8 BG 296 and +12--which was really +13.5 because I couldn't leave work earlier.
So I gave him a 0.5+ U shot. I interpret this to be a 0.65 or 0.7, not quite a 0.75...although who knows cuz he's pretty hard to gauge that inbetween the half-unit marker. I did a drop less by making it a plus--so it's SLIGHTLY closer to being just above the .5 line. Does that make any sense?
When I used to shoot my soul kitty, Fred, with Lantus for 5 years, after several years I found that those teeny incremental changes were very powerful. Also, if the dose was too big then he would drop faster, earlier in the 12-hour cycle, and continue to drop. SO, seeing that Shane had a +4 of 111, I just didn't feel comfortable allowing him to drop for 8-10 more hours...so that's why I sort of went into semi-hypo mode.
And that's why I reduced it by an increment on him AMPS today. We'll see. he is SUCH a little guy--BONES--weighs 6 pounds something, maybe 6.5...I will now keep this .5+ dose for 5 or more days as the protocol suggests, assuming I don't get anything too low. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I know nothing about his history since I saved him from the shelter where he was DKA. So maybe this diaetes is a fluke and he'll go into remission?! (paws crossed). I also have no idea how old he is. I don't think he is a senior, everyone thought that at first.
This little guy is really difficult to test and shoot. His a little better with the ear test, but is very squirmy so not like I have a lot of time to do it, also his hair on his ears is a little more than fred's so I'm not getting the prick in everytime (I use a lancet pen, too afraid to poke with the lancet alone)
anyway, I know he's feeling better today, and even though he got a little up there in the ned, I know he was in a good range, for most of the past 48 hours now...whereas past week I think the poor little guy has been a rollercoaster. I think hopefully he will stabilize and we can gradually lower him. I'm not going to be aiming for getting him into the 50 range, more like the low 100s. I just feel better safer about that. For now we're not there really, but we just started!
And thanks Julie--yes all those crazy doses and the PZ were the VET--NOT me!!! (If you look on my spreadsheet at the comments on the right, you'll see that.)
I've never used PZ and know nothing about it--I requested that the vet use Lantus and they switched him over. The vet knew nothing about Lantus but I gave him the medical lit to review on how to dose and requested that he start at 0.5...which as you can see from my spreadsheet he did for ONE DOSE ONLY, then started bumping it up ridiculously high and based on NO numbers except one-only +6 test. So I"m pretty sure that Shane was hypo-ing everyday and then somogying, since when I removed him from the vet on WEd he was 39 an hour after I got him home.
Also, because he is literally skin and bones, I am going to be feeding him more frequently with smaller portions. Julie, no--the VET was ONLY feeding him at preshot, then starving him the rest of the 12 hours when he was likely hypoing from the awful huge doses. I'm feeding as noted on my spreadsheet, basically smaller portions frequently. We are not in a cycle /pattern yet, this is only the 3rd day he's been mine!
But also, one of the things I noticed with my Fred was that if he had a high number at PS---like in the 400s, then I would NOT feed him for a few hours, and because he had eaten midcycle he was not starving---then I would feed himi once the L started taking effect, for Fred that might be 3-4 hours after the shot. That seemed to keep the curve flat and lower. If I feed him on a 450 PS, for example, he might bump up to well 600 or more from the food, but the Lantus wouldn't kick in for several hours or more...and by that point he had been high and the Lantus dose was only SO powerful and so would keep the flat curve at a higher level than if I'd just waited a few hours for him to drop a bit before he ate again.
So I'm very experienced with some of the nuances of Lantus. I was on this board from 2005 to 2010, less so in the last year probably. I don't think I ever did the lantus-only group, only posted in the main board. However, this whole 'shed' concept is new too me, I don't recall every reading about it or having it be mentioned to me before. I knew about the overlap effect, but anyway, there is still lots to learn and I'm certianly feeling a little overwhelmed and underconfident since I'm a little rusty, it's been a year since I've been doing this on a daily basis.
Thank you all for all your help and feedback.