12/29 Loudogg AMPS 333 +6 337 PMPS 312 - Dosecrease

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
December 27, 2018 - First blizzard of the season

Good morning everyone,
We are finally getting snowed out after the blizzard on Thursday. One thing to appreciate about living here is the guys in the plows are pros and we rarely have to wait long to get back out there. In fact, it will never cease to amaze me how many places/businesses never close during a blizzard, and how many people will still go out. :rolleyes: Thankfully Caleb made it home safe that night, although he got stuck turning onto our street. He was only a block from home and a couple of cops stopped to help. Unfortunately for me I'm stuck at work this weekend :arghh:. I hope it's not too bad and goes quickly.

Lou on the other hand, is reacting like he is not on insulin at all. I increased him today to 2.75u (the naughty inpatient part of me totally wanted to go up to 3u, but I know better. :rolleyes:). I have never seen him have basically no reaction to an increase, nor need back-to-back increases. I guess even if he's needing more insulin right now, the Lev is still keeping him almost ridiculously steady, so there's that to be happy about. I'll check his ketones again this evening during PMPS. I cannot escape the feeling that something has to be wrong. My mind is still focused on a possible UTI, so I think I'll make a point to call the vet on Monday to see if they can get him in just to be safe. In the meantime, we'll hold the fort and keep testing and increasing as necessary to get him back to the lagoon. I desperately wish he could tell me what's going on.

I hope you all have a wonderful Caturday and your kitties surf safely. Sending vines to all those kitties and beans in need today. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Glad you aren’t stuck in the blizzard and they get it cleaned up fast, it’s getting to 80 here today ugh!!!! I’m jealous of your weather
, I know I’m nuts lol
Good luck with doscrease
 
Ravan was doing so good for 6 cycles but today he's back into Pink #'s Drives me crazy :banghead::banghead::banghead:

How is Lou acting? Is he eating OK?
Ravan has Kidney disease & when his BG goes up he leaks urine everywhere he lays. It worries me that the high bg is doing damage to his kidneys!!

I also increased the dose but only by a tiny amount. Every time I go to 1 unit he drops too low. With .75 units he starts going too high! :arghh:
 
Any symptoms that make you think UTI?
Unfortunately yes. :arghh: It started with his previous history of a UTI with struvite crystals last year, so I know he's susceptible. Last night I thought I smelled an extra ammonia smell downstairs, which made me fear that he's been peeing outside the litterbox. In the past, he's only done that when his box was too full (years ago we were bad at cleaning it regularly because we had auto LBs that we assumed were working but wouldn't always). Now, they have two big totes for LBs and we clean them daily. I investigated, but didn't see anything obvious. Tonight I found the damn proof. UGH!! :banghead::banghead::banghead: I can tolerate a lot of things, but cats pissing on my things instead of in their LB is NOT one of them. He randomly peed on a fabric laundry basket. It was soaked. So I threw that away and mopped the floor. So since the LBs are clean, I imagine he's doing it because there's something else wrong. The problem now is I don't know if I'll even be able to get him in this week with the New Year's holiday. I can't do anything except try and hope he doesn't christen anything else. :(
 
I desperately wish he could tell me what's going on.

Wouldn't it be great if there was a digital reading or a light that came on or something that we could show to the vet and say "See. the light is on. There's something wrong with my cat. Please fix it. "

Hang in there, Amanda, and based on my recent experience follow your hunches and do the best you can to provide what your cat needs to feel better. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You did well to increase (sugar dance, anybody?) -- I hope the new dose starts showing you better numbers in the next cycles. Do you have any anti-inflammatories (metacam/onsior for example) handy that you could give him while you wait for the vet appointment? It would help with the UTI, particularly if it's crystal-based. Good luck!
 
Back
Top