12/29: Harry AMPS 277, +6 41, +7 59, +8 76, PMPS 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33047

Poor Harry, what a day he's had.(and with me being sick as a dog right now it doesn't help much!!!)More pokes than I have been doing, a visit from the neighbor cat a few times today (his rival, who's cuter, younger, black as heck just like Harry and craves attention...unlike Harry...) which makes him really angry, and low numbers from the mid day on.
I tried like heck to get a BG test done at the +9 mark and shortly after, but he ran around, hissed at me and hubby, clawed both of us, bit my hubby and scratched my arm...again. Not happy.
I ended up wanting to make sure he ate something that was "carb-a-riffic" just to make sure his numbers went up, so I hand fed him approx. one teaspoon of syrup, off my fingers, which he slightly licked off. And then I had to put some more turkey and giblets food (friskies) in his "cave" where he was attacking us from the second time, which he ate most of. I hand fed a couple bits of dry kibble too, hopefully his numbers will go up!

There will most definitely be a dose reduction of .25 units, making our usual number a 1.25 unit dosage. The numbers he has been getting mid day are too low!

And I enjoy the tips about the freeze dried chicken, I will try the boiled chicken option and freezing it in small pieces to see if he'll go for that. I had some steak bits that I saved and froze, he's been getting that as a treat. Whenever I have ham / deli meats around, he comes running when I have barely crinkled the wrapper to open it!

Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day....
Will post the PMPS numbers when I get 'em. :-|
 
Re: 12/29: Harry AMPS 277, +6 41, +7 59, +8 76

I wouldn't over indulge Harry with ham. It has a high salt content and it can contribute to crystals in some cats. Rotisserie chicken is a big favorite with some cats. Dyana will defrost frozen shrimp for her kitty as a special treat.

Harry definitely earned a dose reduction. Please try to get a before bed test every night. You're missing half of your data by not testing at night.
 
Hello Sienne and Gabby,
Didn't know that they "spiked" ham with salt....so yes I will give him turkey or chicken instead.
We do Harry's shots at 9am/9pm , so sometimes it's hard when we're bagged/dead tired at that time and want to hit the sack, but yes I will do my best to get his +2 or +3 shot before bed.
My vet thought it would've been a good idea to not test Harry at all for the last two weeks, and instead do a fructosamine test.....denied. Happy I didn't go with that.

Thanks for your help!!!!

...Shrimp, eh? Spoiled kitties we have.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top