12/29 Gus AMPS 245, +9 362, PMPS 320, +4 319

The thing with him is that he could give you a blue AMPS and then head up from there. I think you are good for an increase tomorrow morning.

He’s being a high roller the last few cycles 319 @ +4

I was really hoping he was at a good dose with 3.75u but these last few days make me wonder. Don’t think we’re far off. Might be a bit of back and forth dosing going forward (3.75 - 4 and maybe back to 3.75) we shall see

I’m a bit nervous since he went to 56 on his current dose… and what happens when he decides to break this (crazy high) bounce on the new dose which should come in the next few days (hopefully). Guess that’s why we only do .25 increases

Should I hold the dose is for whatever reason he goes low for AMPS (which I don’t see happening really..)?
 
I’m a bit nervous since he went to 56 on his current dose… and what happens when he decides to break this (crazy high) bounce on the new dose which should come in the next few days (hopefully). Guess that’s why we only do .25 increases
A cat's insulin needs can and do change. A dose that was good for him a few days back could go stale (requiring an increase) and a dose that was good for him could be too much in a few days (earning a reduction). Our job is to let the numbers guide us and go up and down in dosing accordingly. This is the 7th cycle since the last green - enough time for him to clear the bounce. When you're testing and feeding, you have the tools to keep him safe.

Should I hold the dose is for whatever reason he goes low for AMPS (which I don’t see happening really..)?
Unfortunately, with Gus, a lower AMPS is not an indication that he will head lower in the cycle. He has given a blue AMPS several times only to head higher from there. I would take him up to 4U tomorrow. His SS is beginning to remind me of Callie's. A little green at every dose after an increase and then it disappears. Till she hit her breakthrough dose.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...zhtGafO9w8Im2Himu-TPeZTQT--F1RxQ2z8CL/pubhtml
 
A cat's insulin needs can and do change. A dose that was good for him a few days back could go stale (requiring an increase) and a dose that was good for him could be too much in a few days (earning a reduction). Our job is to let the numbers guide us and go up and down in dosing accordingly. This is the 7th cycle since the last green - enough time for him to clear the bounce. When you're testing and feeding, you have the tools to keep him safe.


Unfortunately, with Gus, a lower AMPS is not an indication that he will head lower in the cycle. He has given a blue AMPS several times only to head higher from there. I would take him up to 4U tomorrow. His SS is beginning to remind me of Callie's. A little green at every dose after an increase and then it disappears. Till she hit her breakthrough dose.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...zhtGafO9w8Im2Himu-TPeZTQT--F1RxQ2z8CL/pubhtml

Got it. Will increase tomorrow morning … thanks for sharing that spreadsheet (what a cutie!) helps me see the bigger picture! I see why it reminded you of Gus too. Hope we don’t need to go that high, but if we need to, we need to.
 
Should I be worried that the phosphorus levels in the FF I fed? I mean, I actually don’t know what high is but they are higher than some of the other higher quality foods like weruva.

His labs came back in normal range but on the higher side (1.7 - normal being between 0.9 - 2).

The foods I fed him before were much lower by at least 100 for wet - not sure about the dry (it was Salmon based which probably means it was high). I can’t really afford feeding the other brands regularly, though I could possibly add it into the mix.

I’ve read a bit about phosphorus binders and wonder if that’s something I should incorporate into his (and my other kittens) routines.

Any info/thoughts on this would be appreciated, ty!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-30_1-55-2.jpeg
    upload_2021-12-30_1-55-2.jpeg
    82.6 KB · Views: 96
Last edited:
Based on his creatine and SDMA, it doesn't look like you need to worry about CKD just yet (http://felinecrf.org/how_bad_is_it.htm)

But his phosporus is on the higher side. Not high enough to start phosphorus binders, but you want to look switch to low phosphorus food - that is food with less than 0.5% phosphorus on a dry matter basis. Controling phosphorus levels slows the progression of CKD. (http://felinecrf.org/phosphorus.htm)

Here's a list of low carb low phos foods. There may be others as well.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/felinediabetes/permalink/10159445516260202
 
Based on his creatine and SDMA, it doesn't look like you need to worry about CKD just yet (http://felinecrf.org/how_bad_is_it.htm)

But his phosporus is on the higher side. Not high enough to start phosphorus binders, but you want to look switch to low phosphorus food - that is food with less than 0.5% phosphorus on a dry matter basis. Controling phosphorus levels slows the progression of CKD. (http://felinecrf.org/phosphorus.htm)

Here's a list of low carb low phos foods. There may be others as well.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/felinediabetes/permalink/10159445516260202

Thanks for the reading material/links and your insight on this!

I think I will look into buying some of the LC/low phos wet and add it into the mix with FF.. to keep it a bit easier on the pocket book.. hopefully that will help some.
 
Back
Top