12/29 Emmy AMPS 236, +6 214, PMPS 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

jennyb

Member Since 2012
Vet yesterday told us to up the dose by .50 unit so last night I gave her 1.5 units and this morning also. Today, I'll check her naidar (that's probably spelt wrong) at 1PM. She's such a cutie!

yes_zpsf672d47d.jpg
 
Re: 12/29 Emmy AMPS 13.1

Ummm..... Could you edit your AMPS to read 236?

FWIW, there are a couple of things that we recommend. The dosing protocol indicates that if nadirs are under 300, you would increase by 0.25u. Since you've increased by 0.5u, please monitor more than what you're currently doing. Do not assume because you have a higher pre-shot that the nadir will not drop like a rock.

I can't emphasize enough how important it is for you to get at the bare minimum, one test during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. You can easily miss a dose reduction if you don't test at night. Likewise, you're missing half of your data. We are reticent to suggest a dose increase if you don't have the data to support the decision. You may want to take a look at this post regarding dose increases.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Ummm..... Could you edit your AMPS to read 236?

FWIW, there are a couple of things that we recommend. The dosing protocol indicates that if nadirs are under 300, you would increase by 0.25u. Since you've increased by 0.5u, please monitor more than what you're currently doing. Do not assume because you have a higher pre-shot that the nadir will not drop like a rock.

I can't emphasize enough how important it is for you to get at the bare minimum, one test during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. You can easily miss a dose reduction if you don't test at night. Likewise, you're missing half of your data. We are reticent to suggest a dose increase if you don't have the data to support the decision. You may want to take a look at this post regarding dose increases.

I changed the subject line....thanks still learning. Which hour at night do you suggest for taking a number?
Ya, my data, I've been having a horrible time with my spreedsheet, the data is there. There are just huge spaces inbetween the data, I posted in tech for help, but no one offered any. I started a new one for the coming year so hopefully I won't have problems with it.

The dose increase, I'm just new at this so it's hard to discern who to listen to. I'm not sure who's right or who to trust. One vet told me to go ahead and increase her dose to 2 units in the morning and 2 units at night( this is when I was giving her 2units once a day in the morning). I kinda thought that was too scary. I had another vet tell me to increase to 1.50 units. like I'm doing now.
Another thing I'm having troubles with is how to dose .25 of a unit. My syringes only go by full units, I checked my drug store today and that's all they carry. My syringes don't even have half unit marks on them. I'm totally open to suggestions and a really appreciate the help and the fact that there are caring persons as yourself to watch out for us newbies.

In the Am I'm checking her at +6 , what's the bare minimum you suggest me checking her, (she does not like me fussing with her ears at all) at what intervals are the very best.
Just re-read you post, I'm not sure I understand what you mean by: Likewise, you're missing half of your data.?
 
Syringes only come in whole and half unit increments. We all either eyeball the in-between doses or some people have started using digital calipers to keep the dose consistent. Let me see if some of the Canadians on the Board can offer some suggestions regarding where to track down syringes. FWIW, I order mine online.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Syringes only come in whole and half unit increments. We all either eyeball the in-between doses or some people have started using digital calipers to keep the dose consistent. Let me see if some of the Canadians on the Board can offer some suggestions regarding where to track down syringes. FWIW, I order mine online.

FWIW what's that???
 
I used to buy Rocket's syringes at either Walmart or Shoppers.
one box was roughly $50....i really can't be certain of the price...it was cheaper at Walmart for sure

i bought the BD Ultra-Fine II, 3/10 cc, 8 mm (this is the length of needle), 31 gauge needle...it has the 1/2 unit markings....

hope the info helps.....

Costco sells them as well....just bring the info above and any pharmacist can help you

and it does say on the box 1/2 unit markings.....
 
Hello!

FWIW - for what it's worth

I used to get BD needles too - same as Rocket and his Mom.
In Canada, we don't have too many choices. BD Ultra-Fine II, 3/10 cc, 8 mm (this is the length of needle), 31 gauge needles with the 1/2 unit markings is what I picked up. I used to get them at Walmart, but pretty much any pharmacy and Costco. It's one of those things that you might have to ask for at the pharmacy counter but that you don't need a prescription for. The pharmacists just like to keep an eye out for them.
I hope you find this helpful.
 
Yet another Canuck here using the same type of syringes. I get mine at the pharmacy associated with my grocery store (Save On Foods). I can't remember the price there, but in the mid $30's range. They are also available at London Drugs. You should ask your pharmacy if they will get them in. If not, you can order online from London Drugs and they deliver. I can't remember which province you are in - their shipping is cheaper to the west. I also get the full box of 100 at a time, not just the 10 pack.
 
Where are you located?

I also bought BD syringes at walmart but found them very inaccurate compared to the monojects I bought at Ontario Medical Supply.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top