12/29 Bear - no AMPS because of snowstorm/broken reader, +6 88, +9 133, PMPS 166

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

Ugh what a morning. We got a foot of snow here in Denver. Got to the office early after shoveling my car out and realized I forgot his reader. UGH! He was at 343 last night at +6 PMPS (high for him at this time) which made me feel a little better about shooting blind. I know it definitely isn't ideal. I hope I did the right thing. Got his libre put back on at lunch (stopped working two days ago) and will continue to use it and do checks with the BG meter here and there also.

I didn't see a notification from the board before I shot but I will be reducing his dose tonight by .25 as recommended by folks here. Bear goes back to the specialist next week where they will recheck his dosage and bloodwork. In the meantime, I need to better familiarize myself with TR and when to re-evaluate dosing. If anyone has any suggestions for that, it's much appreciated.

You all rock!

upload_2022-12-29_13-39-41.jpeg

Bear helping me work today :)

Previous threads:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-28-22-bear-amps-140-3-177-5-42-6-110-7-139.272332/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...iving-food-okay-to-shoot.271832/#post-3025203

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...m-looking-for-some-advice-and-support.271678/
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-29_13-39-41.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-29_13-39-41.jpeg
    54.4 KB · Views: 187
Last edited:
Hi Meredith , wow a foot of snow be careful. That's OK that you shot without getting a BG nothing you could have done about. You don't have to link all of your links just 12-28 is fine , less work for you. I went back and linked all your links for you since you joined.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day.

The more tests though the better, maybe you can get a +2 to see where he's headed.
Then a before bed test ( before you go to bed) and of course a +6
He is just too darn adorable, I just want to kiss that face !

Just re read the TR dosing method again , Be care heading home :bighug::cat:I
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

When you have time I would read all the yellow stickys on the lantus page
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Just want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case Best ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
Hi Meredith , wow a foot of snow be careful. That's OK that you shot without getting a BG nothing you could have done about. You don't have to link all of your links just 12-28 is fine , less work for you. I went back and linked all your links for you since you joined.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day.

The more tests though the better, maybe you can get a +2 to see where he's headed.
Then a before bed test ( before you go to bed) and of course a +6
He is just too darn adorable, I just want to kiss that face !

Just re read the TR dosing method again , Be care heading home :bighug::cat:I
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

When you have time I would read all the yellow stickys on the lantus page
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
Thank you! This helps clarify things. When you say test, do you count a Libre reading? Or actual reader with a prick only?

I will look at these stickies! And I will give him a kiss for you :)
 
Just want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case Best ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
Thank you! I stocked up this week at the store with high carb food. I have some at home and at work as well as some honey and Caro syrup.
 
Just something to read
We usually intervene with HC when numbers drop below 50 (on a human meter). Later in the cycle, the insulin action is not as strong and LC is enough to keep them surfing. Sometimes when you need to slow then down early in the cycle, MC is fine. It all depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and when in the cycle you are intervening.

If you are ever not sure about anything just post :cat:
 
Thanks for updating your title , how was the ride home.
When Bear is at work with you is he allowed to be out of his carrier
The roads were okay! A bit icy but not too bad. And yes! I have a whole cubicle. He hangs out with my dog and I. He just sleeps in the dog bed all day. It’s really cute. I work at a pet company so people love seeing him and everyone always asks how he’s doing. ❤️
 
The roads were okay! A bit icy but not too bad. And yes! I have a whole cubicle. He hangs out with my dog and I. He just sleeps in the dog bed all day. It’s really cute. I work at a pet company so people love seeing him and everyone always asks how he’s doing. ❤️
No kidding what kind of dog do you have , sounds like you work with a great bunch of people. What do they sell at your company
 
No kidding what kind of dog do you have , sounds like you work with a great bunch of people. What do they sell at your company
Yes! I actually have three dogs and another cat. All rescues :) two smaller ones (ones a poodle mix and the other a miniature pincher) and then my Bernese Mountain Dog x poodle mix.

I work for the KONG Company! Not sure if you know about us but we’re a very well known dog toy company. We actually make really cute cat toys too!!
 
Yes! I actually have three dogs and another cat. All rescues :) two smaller ones (ones a poodle mix and the other a miniature pincher) and then my Bernese Mountain Dog x poodle mix.

I work for the KONG Company! Not sure if you know about us but we’re a very well known dog toy company. We actually make really cute cat toys too!!
That's wonderful ! Now that you said it yes I do know about Kong toys.
If you get a chance I would love to see the pics of your other furkids.
What's your other cats name and your dogs
I just looked up what a Bernese Mountain Dog and poodle mix how adorable !
 
upload_2022-12-30_8-38-2.jpeg

This is Ollie (and Bear), the Bernese x Poodle. He's a little over a year. He came into our rescue after he was dumped by a breeder. He was our foster and we fell in love. He is a gentle giant and is so good with the cats and little dogs. He comes to the office with me everyday with Bear.

upload_2022-12-30_8-39-7.jpeg

This is Moose! He came from a high-kill shelter in California where he was rescued with an hour left before he was set to be euthanized. He's about 7 and loves to sleep and snuggle.

upload_2022-12-30_8-40-18.jpeg

This is Annabelle, my little cranky old lady. She was the first dog I adopted. I got her at a shelter here in Denver. She was found as a stray wandering the streets in the middle of winter. She's super sweet but wary of strangers at first and thinks she's Ollie's size. She will do anything for a treat!

upload_2022-12-30_8-41-29.jpeg

And finally, this is Lucia! I found her as a kitten stuck in a tree. She's about 8 now. She doesn't have a tail so she looks like a little bunny. She has stress-induced IBS but has been on Prozac for a few months now which has done wonders for her.

And that's my crew!! :) @Diane Tyler's Mom
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-30_8-38-2.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-30_8-38-2.jpeg
    87.6 KB · Views: 253
  • upload_2022-12-30_8-39-7.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-30_8-39-7.jpeg
    38.3 KB · Views: 221
  • upload_2022-12-30_8-40-18.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-30_8-40-18.jpeg
    65.5 KB · Views: 260
  • upload_2022-12-30_8-41-29.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-30_8-41-29.jpeg
    37 KB · Views: 279
Thank you! This helps clarify things. When you say test, do you count a Libre reading? Or actual reader with a prick only?

I will look at these stickies! And I will give him a kiss for you :)
Libre readings count as tests. You want to check any really high or low readings with an actual ear test just to make sure the Libre is accurate.
 
View attachment 66013
This is Ollie (and Bear), the Bernese x Poodle. He's a little over a year. He came into our rescue after he was dumped by a breeder. He was our foster and we fell in love. He is a gentle giant and is so good with the cats and little dogs. He comes to the office with me everyday with Bear.

View attachment 66014
This is Moose! He came from a high-kill shelter in California where he was rescued with an hour left before he was set to be euthanized. He's about 7 and loves to sleep and snuggle.

View attachment 66015
This is Annabelle, my little cranky old lady. She was the first dog I adopted. I got her at a shelter here in Denver. She was found as a stray wandering the streets in the middle of winter. She's super sweet but wary of strangers at first and thinks she's Ollie's size. She will do anything for a treat!

View attachment 66016
And finally, this is Lucia! I found her as a kitten stuck in a tree. She's about 8 now. She doesn't have a tail so she looks like a little bunny. She has stress-induced IBS but has been on Prozac for a few months now which has done wonders for her.

And that's my crew!! :) @Diane Tyler's Mom
What a fine furry family you have! Thanks for the photos. They made me smile!
 
Libre readings count as tests. You want to check any really high or low readings with an actual ear test just to make sure the Libre is accurate.
Great, that's what I've been doing. They're always a bit off. The specialist we see was actually one of the first vets to put a Libre on a cat. She doesn't love them because she says they're pretty inaccurate for exact number readings, but good for checking curves and general trends. Now that I'm more comfortable with ear tests I'll do them more often alongside the Libre.
 
Somewhere you asked about making a new thread for each day but I can’t find it. But yes, on the LLB forum we make a new post for each day that we post and we link the previous thread to the current days thread. Then during the day we update, as necessary, BG numbers that are in the title just to help people track it more easily.
 
Somewhere you asked about making a new thread for each day but I can’t find it. But yes, on the LLB forum we make a new post for each day that we post and we link the previous thread to the current days thread. Then during the day we update, as necessary, BG numbers that are in the title just to help people track it more easily.
I deleted it because I remembered your other post :) Thank you for clarifying!
 
Back
Top