12/29 Baby G AMPS 147 PMPS 294

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous

Hi, everyone, long time no chat.

Just an update/blurb. Ok, so we finally got back onto the half-wet, half-dry food bandwagon, and I think I'm going to be content to compromise with her and leave it at that.

So every shot time, I put down both her wet food and dry food and she free-feeds until she gets a fresh serving again at the next shot time. First thing she does is eat all or almost all of the dry right away. :rolleyes: Obviously that's her preferred meal. Then she'll work on the wet throughout the rest of her cycle. What I've noticed this leads to is a lower preshot number since she got her higher carbs out of the way early and has all or almost all of her food gone anyway before the next serving. She'll have a nice, smooth sailing cycle like the last couple nights, but then I don't know how to handle things in the morning. Previous instructions from the vet said if preshot is under 200, to halve the dose, which I have been doing (I see SLGS says 10-25% so not as drastic as the vet), but I dislike doing that when otherwise the rest of her cycle is fine. And since her insulin needs went back up during the time I was trying to get her back onto the wet food, I worry if the current dose will prove to be too much anyway, so I've been leave her a little extra dry during the day while I'm at work. I am weaning that down, though, so her evening and morning portions will be exactly the same and then I can truly see what is going on.

But anywho, I'm thinking what this boils down to is when I have a day I know I'm home and can monitor (like this weekend, for instance), if I see a lower preshot on her, the only way to know how she's going to react at full dose is to just go for it (provided it's not crazy low). :nailbiting: Because other than these lower-than-normal preshot numbers, she's starting to get some nice steady cycles, but I don't have much data on how she reacts to lower preshots at full dose and that's always been my struggle. Obviously I could keep doing the token dose thing on lower preshot days but then that keeps restarting the depot, and so to me, it's either I need to give a full dose on a lower preshot and collect that data and pray for the best, or I need a lower dose period that won't give her a lower preshot BUT then her nadirs won't be as nice. :facepalm: At least now with her not being fully on dry anymore, I feel like I have a little more "ammo" in my "toolbox" that I can use to bump her up, if need be. So if ya'll see me on the forum this weekend, you'll know why! :p

Well, hope you all had a good Christmas and have an even better new year! :cat:
 
Are you still planning to reduce at 145? That seems awfully high especially fur a long term diabetic. Lantus often gives a flat cycle when shooting low. I think you have a good plan to shoot if you are home.
 
No, now that she's back on canned I don't think I should see as many crazy dips or instability so I'm hoping I can start feeling more comfortable letting her be wherever in the 100 range. I think SLGS normal reduction point is below 90; I think for us I'm going to try going for 100 now as our new reduction point, provided she continues on the canned food bandwagon.
That reminds me, I need to update my spreadsheet with that too.
 
Back
Top