12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46 55 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawny2u

Member Since 2010
12/27 AMPS 277 +2 243 +4 219 +8 273 PMPS 252 +12 107 +12.5 82 +20min 72 +15min 67

Please look at his SS to see how he was behaving in the last few days. I don't understand his drop this morning and the direction is going right now.
Would be nice someone to shed a light on that. I'm not feeding now . Will test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82

This looks like a late nadir. Tubby seems to do this every so often (e.g., PM cycle on 12/13). Most of our cats do this on occasion and some cats routinely have late nadirs. For today, if you are able to stall the shot, I would encourage you to do so since I would not suggest shooting a dropping number.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72

Certainly I won't inject, just want to know what is going on and the next step!!
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72

I will feed him shortly, he is hungry and I stalled to see which the direction he was going.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72

Gayle's Oliver is a cat that typically has a late nadir. If you want to look at his SS, here's the link. Make sure you look at the column headings since she has the SS laid out a bit differently and you should also know that Oliver has acromegaly, hence the big doses.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67

9:02 AM
Just fed him LC FF in a small amount. His latest BG was 67!
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72

Sienne and Gabby said:
Gayle's Oliver is a cat that typically has a late nadir. If you want to look at his SS, here's the link. Make sure you look at the column headings since she has the SS laid out a bit differently and you should also know that Oliver has acromegaly, hence the big doses.

I will look at this cat SS, thank you.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67

Generally, you want to withhold food unless the numbers drop into the 40s. The rationale is that even a little bit of food can elevate numbers and if you give a shot, you are basing your decision regarding how safe it is to shoot based on a food induced number. It's hard, because most of our cats know when it's mealtime and they tend to let us know, in no uncertain terms, that's it's time to eat!

You probably already have this, but if not, it's Libby's post on how to manage low pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67

Sienne and Gabby said:
Generally, you want to withhold food unless the numbers drop into the 40s. The rationale is that even a little bit of food can elevate numbers and if you give a shot, you are basing your decision regarding how safe it is to shoot based on a food induced number. It's hard, because most of our cats know when it's mealtime and they tend to let us know, in no uncertain terms, that's it's time to eat!

You probably already have this, but if not, it's Libby's post on how to manage low pre-shot numbers.

I fed after BG 67 only a table spoon of LC FF can food. He was tested a minute ago BGL=57. Dropped 10 points since his last test which is 51 minutes ago. Do you think I should stall longer to feed or even shooting should be an option? BTW, he gets injection around 8 every day.
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67

Shawn --

I'm not sure what time zone you're in so I don't know where we are in relation to your usual 8:00 shot time. How long past your +12 are we?
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67

Sienne and Gabby said:
Shawn --

I'm not sure what time zone you're in so I don't know where we are in relation to your usual 8:00 shot time. How long past your +12 are we?

I'm in Washington DC , eastrn time zone
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46

BGL = 46

Just fed him half can FF with LC.

BTW, he was test at +12 107 right on his AMPS time.

+12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46
 
Re: Attention: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57

So you're more than 2 hours past your usual time?

I just saw your post. Good that you "fed the 40s."

Generally, I like to see a shot given within 2 hours of the usual shot time. If Tubby's numbers are still in the 50s, I don't think you have the data to shoot this low. Providing I have your times correct, you may need to skip this shot. Let me edit that -- with the 47, I think you need to skip and you can go ahead and give your poor starving kitty his usual breakfast.

If I may offer a suggestion. I think Tubby is trying to earn a dose reduction. What I'm seeing on your SS, is that when you get a blue pre-shot number, you're reducing the dose too a bit too much. For example, I think the 186 the PM of 12/24 would have been fine to shoot (providing you were going to be home to monitor since Tubby was seeing greens in the AM). You reduced the dose the next day which I presume was based on Tubby having numbers in the 40s on the 24th. Here's the glitch. Tubby has been diabetic for more than a year. We make it a harder for a longer term diabetic to earn a decrease. Another option is for Tubby to give you 3 below 50 numbers before you reduce the dose.

What is looking really good is that you're seeing more green numbers and Tubby isn't bouncing into the pinks (anti-jink). I think if he spends more time in the greens, you'll be seeing more dose reductions as his pancreas adjusts to lower numbers and less insulin.

If you're skipping the shot, you can shoot at your usual time this evening. If Tubby's numbers are high (i.e., in the pinks), shoot your usual dose to help the bounce to clear. I want to think a bit about whether this earns a dose reduction.
 
Re: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46 55

After the last meal was tested, his BG read 55.
I did give him the other half of the ff can and he seems quite happy.

The last test was at 10:40 AM exactly 2 hours and 40 minutes after his usual AMPS.

Will monitor him the rest of the day but I'm sure he will be ascending from here on. The question is in what rate
and how far up he goes.
 
Re: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46 55

I'll get back to you about the PM dose. I tend to agree that it's likely that Tubby's numbers will be more than a bit higher by PM shot time.
 
Re: 12/28 Tubby +12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46 55

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'll get back to you about the PM dose. I tend to agree that it's likely that Tubby's numbers will be more than a bit higher by PM shot time.

As usual this surprised me again! 20 minutes after feeding the other half of the can which I thought for sure will raise
his BG it did the opposite. He BG = 50 after 20 minutes of feeding.
He is asking for food, I am going to feed him a bit more.

+12 107 +12.5 82 72 67 57 46 55 50
 
What would you think about shaving Tubby's dose if he doesn't bounce into the pinks by shot time?

I don't think you've ever done this kind of microdosing before. Basically, you are taking about a drop off of your 3.5u dose. You end up shooting a dose that sits between 3.5u and 3.25u.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
What would you think about shaving Tubby's dose if he doesn't bounce into the pinks by shot time?

I don't think you've ever done this kind of microdosing before. Basically, you are taking about a drop off of your 3.5u dose. You end up shooting a dose that sits between 3.5u and 3.25u.

He is back into the pink, BG 329!!
But I don't know how to come up with a dose between 3.5 and 3.25 unless there is a syringe available to do so which I don't know anything about.
 
Ok...you have to shave the dose.

Shaving is accomplished by twisting the plunger in the syringe to squeeze out literally drops of insulin... ohmygod_smile

I've done it on rare occasions and it take me using a magnifying glass...otherwise literally think in drops of insulin. If anything it is good training for the day they may get to go OTJ.
 
There are a series of photos that I've linked that will give you a visual on what different doses look like. The finest gradations on a syringe are the half unit ones that we recommend you use. With shaving (or fattening) a dose, you have to approximate, much they way you do if you are shooting a x.25u or x.75 unit dose.

Someone else may have better pictures.These are the best I've got.
 
I tried but not so sure if it is accurate. Thank you for helping!
3.4 units injected, I hope it was 3.4.......
 
As long as you are consistent with what you are shooting, all is good. I try to line the plunger up with the line -- e.g., the front edge of the plunger with the top (toward the needle) of the line, the back of the line, etc. It gives me a reference point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top