12/28 Papaya AMPS=491 +4.5=311 PMPS=479 Car Trip Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday Dec. 27

Usually her bounces clear a bit faster than this, so I was hoping for lower numbers this morning. Boo. I'm also wondering if a switch to differently-marked syringes (I work for property management, and a guy TRASHED his apartment but left behind a case of 1,000 insulin syringes, thank you very much) may have inadvertently "skinnied" the dose a bit. If the numbers stay high I'll fatten the dose just a touch. I hate seeing the high numbers, but when she dives into green every couple days, then bounces like crazy, I also hate to increase! Patience, patience . . .

Tomorrow I'm driving out to my parents' for a few days. It's about a 4-1/2 hour drive. Papaya has been there many times and is very relaxed with them and the house, so hopefully the visit won't cause any wonkiness. She's also not bad about car travel, sort of grudgingly accepting of the situation. However, I can't leave until mid-afternoon, about an hour before I usually give Papaya her shot. I'm trying to work her shots a bit earlier coming up to the trip so I can give her a good meal and her shot, then go. Does anyone see any problem with that? With all her bouncing, I don't want to mess things up further by skipping or delaying a shot, but it won't be easy to monitor once we're on the road, obviously, and she probably won't be too interested in eating until we arrive. Is it safe to assume that the stress of travelling would tend to increase her BG, making a drop less likely? Any thoughts are welcome!
 
Re: 12/28 Papaya AMPS=491 +4.5=311 Car Trip Question

If you feed and shoot, and given the stress of the car ride she will probably be fine but maybe strap the carrier into the passenger seat so you can keep an eye on her. You could also try some higher carb food if you are worried and/or stop off halfway at a rest stop and test her...
 
Re: 12/28 Papaya AMPS=491 +4.5=311 PMPS=479 Car Trip Questio

Hi Amy,

Does Papaya get carsick? If so, I would skip the food and the shot in your circumstances. If she doesn't get carsick, and if you have managed to move up her shots a bit, then I think it would be OK to feed her and give her the shot. To be safe, you might give her a smaller amount of insulin and a smaller amount of food.

When we travel with Rusty I try to make sure that we don't leave until at least 2 hours after his AMPS and his breakfast. That way, in the event he gets carsick, at least some of the food will have been digested and the insulin will have had something to work on.

But you know your cat! Will she eat during a trip? (Rusty will not, but Stu did without any problems). I don't think it is advisable to try to test during a car trip. It wouldn't be representative of anything.

Have a good trip.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/28 Papaya AMPS=491 +4.5=311 PMPS=479 Car Trip Questio

Until you've done travel with Papaya, I wouldn't assume anything about how it will affect her BG. When we went to Colorado for SRT, it was 3 days each way of 8-9 hours driving. On the first day on the way back, Neko threw me a 70! :o mid day before nadir and it was in the middle of nowhere. A straight road in boiling hot Wyoming with rest stops closed and not even side roads to get off. I'm guessing your trip will not be so remote. If you shoot a full dose I would plan on having your BG test kit in the car with easy access and plan on a pit stop. Neko would only eat in the car if it was stopped and that is the only safe way to test. I had a small cooler pack with a food dish, water, spoon, small cans of LC, MC, HC, can lids, syringe for feeding (just in case), karo, paper towel, and ziplocs to put the dirty dish in afterwards. I ended up feeding HC a couple of times to keep her high enough to travel between stops. After that, I gave her a reduced dose for the following two days of travel.
 
Re: 12/28 Papaya AMPS=491 +4.5=311 PMPS=479 Car Trip Questio

HI Amy - I second Ella's concern. Leo travels with me every week for 4 hours at a time, and he gets car sick. I medicate him several hours before, but I can't travel with him until about +6 so his food settles after a shot. I have occasionally shot-and-driven a shorter trip if his BGs are high enough and won't appear to tank (like during a bounce). I've also learned that I can't trust the stress of a car trip to keep his BGs in check. Sometimes I've stopped to test and he's over 400 and we're fine. Another time he was lower, and often on arrival he clears the "stress" bounce and then dives a cycle or two after that.

I created a travel document that might be useful for you, although I need to update it with more things we've learned during our travels. Leo does NOT travel well. It includes items like Wendy lists. I would recommend HIGHLY carrying it IN the passenger's compartment, and including a garbage bag, paper towels, and wipes. And I line a good part of the car with pee pads because Leo WILL emit bodily fluids and sometimes NOT in the litterbox (due to his stress, not being "bad").

Good luck with the trip!

Traveling with Diabetic Kitties
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top