12/28 Muffin pmps +10.5 Hi Need Advice Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Morning LL! I think I can name yesterday Muffin's worst day ever, at least numbers-wise. She still seems to feel good, so I'm trying to focus on that. I'm also trying to be patient while waiting to see some results from insulin, but at the same time I want to be aggressive, and I hate seeing her in reds and pinks. I'm going to hold the drop dose for today, but I may inch up to .1u tomorrow morning. It's only half a drop more the way I measure. .1u is what the vet suggested for a starting dose - I think he learned quite a bit about Muffin and how sensitive she is to insulin during our last go-round with this. At that time, he had suggested 1u to start, I started at .5 and was up all night with her the first 3 of 4 nights! :lol:

Hope everyone has a great day - I am off to Walmart for kitty fuds - Oscar is chewing on my elbow as I type! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451

I'd probably take her up to .1u tonight, Anne. You don't want her sitting at these numbers so I'd tend to be aggressive on the increases.
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451 +2 415

+2 415. With Muffin's history, it seems apparent that this is not enough insulin for her. I will wait to see what the rest of the day brings before making the decision, but if it goes like yesterday, then I'll raise her to .1u tonight.
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451 +2 415 +5 387

+5 387. Looks like I'll be going to .1u tonight. But I found out that my DSiL is in serious condition in the ICU, on a ventilator, she can't breathe on her own, so I may need to take off for Oregon tomorrow. My DD is off and I could probably count on her to shoot Muffin, but most likely wouldn't get much if any monitoring. What to do, what to do...
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451 +2 415 +5 387

I'm sorry about your DSiL. Sending prayers for her and your family. Good luck on the dose decision.
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451 +2 415 +5 387

Anne, I hope that your DSiL will rally. Sending her a bunch of healing vines.

Good luck with increasing Muffin's dose. (Sorry to see you back here, however!!). How's Kibby doing? He's a brave boy.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin amps 451 +2 415 +5 387 +10 390

+10 390 - assuming she surfed the afternoon away here. Definitely upping the dose to .1u tonight. BW came back on both Muffin and Kibby. Muffin has pancreatitis. Kibby got a clean bill of health!! Even the Mycoplasma is gone! So I'm thrilled about Kibby. Muffin's specfPL came back at 17, and Dr wants to do prednisone this time, so I've started that. It sure is convenient already having all these meds! :lol: Thank you for the vines for my DSiL. We've decided not to go up tomorrow, but I may go monday and tuesday. Just so hard with Muffin starting back on insulin, and I really don't have the money right now for a hotel room and gas and all that. They say she'll be in the hospital for 3-4 weeks, so maybe after the new year. I guess I could take Muffin with me if I had to.
 
Re: 12/28 Muffin pmps +11 Hi Need Advice Please!

I didn't check Muffin thru the night, but she is not a bouncer. I was shocked to see "Hi" at +11 this morning. Should I shoot .25 this morning? I need to get her down from these horrible numbers!

ETA: It's actually +10.5 - I was going to move her shot time up a half hour this morning.
 
Oh, no, poor Muffin! I'm not a dosing expert but it sure looks like she needs more insulin. Sending healing energy to your sweet girl. Great news on Kibby. :-D
Liz
 
With numbers like that, you could have shot 1 hour early. Too bad you don't have any R to bring her down.

I'm sorry to hear about your DSIL. I am sending her healing vines.
 
I would take her dose up, AND I would go ahead and shoot now. No reason to let her keep getting higher.

eta: Dyana beat me to it! So yep, I agree with Dyana. SHOOOOOOOOOT!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top