12/28 Matty AMPS 296 +3.5 277 +6 179 +8.5 129 +12 204

Matty&Fam

Member Since 2025
Hello FDMB Lantus community!

Here's our main post Newly Diagnosed Kitty - Seeking Early Advice

We find ourselves in the same position as we did yesterday, Matty just had a reading of 204 mg/dL for his PMPS.

We're on 1 unit of Lantus, and we are quite confident that if we shoot with 1 unit now he will have a hypoglycaemic event later tonight.

Is it best now to wait half an hour, and test again? If so, roughly what number are we looking for to be comfortable to shoot with 1 unit?

If it's not high enough in 30 minutes, do we wait another 30 minutes?

Also, would a reduced dose be an option? We've struggled to find a dose we can consecutively shoot for multiple cycles, and we're quite lost as to what is the correct thing to do.

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Update, we waited 30 minutes and measured again, he was still only 205 mg/dL.
We are going to feed and shoot with half the dose.
 
Last edited:
It looks like you had another number under 50 last night, which means for now 1u is too much. Since you shot 0.5u tonight, you can either continue with that tomorrow, or consider it a one time reduced dose and shoot 0.75u tomorrow and see how that works.
 
Thank you for your input, really appreciate the advice and the fast response. We’ll follow your advice and proceed with .75 in the morning as our new dose. We probably should’ve done that tonight but after our very recent hypo event we were terrified and not mentally equipped to deal with another one. Our shooting time now has trickled all the way to 2am/2pm, so our minds are just not in the ‘think straight’ zone. Decided to err on the safer side of things tonight. Still concerned with possible hypo, so set our alarms to test +4, +6, +8.
 
You’re very welcome, I think your approach to testing is excellent. I might offer one thought, with Lantus we typically find that the +2 is a good indication of where the cycle will go. Often if you see that the +2 is signifcantly lower than preshot, it means the blood glucose levels will continue to drop, and more testing is needed. That sometimes helps to get ahead of a steep drop, because you can feed some food to help prop up the numbers as the cat onsets (when the insulin dose starts to work). Depending on your usual feeding schedule, you may find giving a snack at +2 and +3 might help.
 
You’re very welcome, I think your approach to testing is excellent. I might offer one thought, with Lantus we typically find that the +2 is a good indication of where the cycle will go. Often if you see that the +2 is signifcantly lower than preshot, it means the blood glucose levels will continue to drop, and more testing is needed. That sometimes helps to get ahead of a steep drop, because you can feed some food to help prop up the numbers as the cat onsets (when the insulin dose starts to work). Depending on your usual feeding schedule, you may find giving a snack at +2 and +3 might help.
That’s a fantastic tip, thank you very much. We really didn’t consider that all, having been convinced that Lantus kicks in past +4. Will definitely begin testing +2’s.
 
Back
Top