Hi D,
We always link our previous post with each new post so that when someone needs to look back at her progress, they'll have that information handy:
Hi. New member here 12/20/25. Questions about Lantus and dosing
I see on your other post that you do not plan to change her from dry food; in order to follow TR, Lily must be eating only wet food (no dry).
Here is the language from the SLGS sticky (
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)):
______________
"Hold the dose for at least a week:
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change)."
_____________
Lily fell below 90, so you took an earned dose reduction. Under SLGS, you'll hold that dose for a week and observe the nadirs under the new dose, taking an immediate reduction if Lily falls below 90 again.
For clarification, NDW stands for New Dose Wonkiness, and it is typically only applied with TR when a kitty has received a dose increase. What can happen is the bg numbers can increase for about a 24 hour period in the first day or two following the increase. Here is a sticky that explains this in case you want to understand it better:
Info - New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) and Failed Reductions
Also, it's completely normal to feel overwhelmed when FD is first diagnosed. It's a HUGE learning curve (added to the other learning curves you've already had to encounter with her). This is a great place for question asking, guidance, and information.