? 12/28 Karamelle AMPS 221 +3 221 +7 151 PMPS 266 +2 188

JoM

Member Since 2023
12/21 Karamelle AMPS 73 +2 294 +7 358 PMPS 429 +2 412 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Another Caturday and we are here for a check in. I have a question tho.
Shes been doing her usual up down dance, but shes been dropping to green with one to two days in between on this dose. But now we are on day 4 since the last green and Im wondering if I should just raise the dose again or wait. I cant really tell what today is doing yet.
Shes still not been eating well and Ive syringe fed almost every day at least once. She is eating some on her own, but the most she eats at one sitting is like 24 calories, a lot of times its less. I havent been giving the Buprenorphine for a while so I will probably see if I can get some on Monday. The vet is closed on Weekends. Ive tried extra Ondansetron before and it didnt seem to make a difference and I cant count on me to remember to give that middle of the day dose.
Right now shes getting Ondansetron 2x, Mirataz 2x and Cerenia 6 days, one day off. Plus her prozac, milk thistle and lung gold.
She hasnt lost any weight. Ive been checking frequently.
Shes gone complete off her freeze dried raw, so I havent been feeding that. Im running out of food options. She really likes Fancy Feast Chicken and liver pate, but I cant get her to eat it all of the time. I syringe feed the Weruva because its easy to get into and out of the syringe. She will sometimes eat that on her own. She will also sometimes eat the FF salmon, or cod. I need to find something low carb thats high in calories to try. Any suggestions?
 
Not sure why you are doing the one day off with the medications, is it just the Cerenia? A day off is not needed and it's easier to get ahead of nausea than chase it. I think the buprenorphine is a good idea, so hope you can get it on Monday.

I think that if you don't see a green by tomorrow morning, or a big drop at +2 indicating she's going lower tonight, then you can increase tomorrow morning.

For the food, have you tried a different protein that what she's usually been eating? Kitten food is usually high in calories, you check the carbs on a few of those. For example, Wellness Kitten complete heath chicken is 67% fat. The other though is trying some foods with fattier meats, like duck and lamb.
 
Not sure why you are doing the one day off with the medications, is it just the Cerenia? A day off is not needed and it's easier to get ahead of nausea than chase it. I think the buprenorphine is a good idea, so hope you can get it on Monday.

I think that if you don't see a green by tomorrow morning, or a big drop at +2 indicating she's going lower tonight, then you can increase tomorrow morning.

For the food, have you tried a different protein that what she's usually been eating? Kitten food is usually high in calories, you check the carbs on a few of those. For example, Wellness Kitten complete heath chicken is 67% fat. The other though is trying some foods with fattier meats, like duck and lamb.
I bought some Fancy Feast Naturals to try. I bought a variety pack tho and the ones with broth only have 66 calories where the pates have 96 calories. So we'll see how that goes. Thanks for the suggestions on other foods. Im skipping just the one day of Cerenia, because I've found in the past that cerenia just seems to work better if you give it a break occasionally. Just did a +7 and shes at 151, so she did come down, but not to green. Ill see what happens the rest of the day and in the morning. Thanks.
 
@Wendy&Neko I gave her one of the new foods Fancy Feast Naturals white meat chicken and gravy (which is actually broth so no carbs) and she ate the entire can!!! Stinker!! Theres obviously nothing wrong with her appetite, she was probably just tired of the food. ;)
 
@Wendy&Neko I gave her one of the new foods Fancy Feast Naturals white meat chicken and gravy (which is actually broth so no carbs) and she ate the entire can!!! Stinker!! Theres obviously nothing wrong with her appetite, she was probably just tired of the food. ;)
Hi Jo, wishing you and
Karamelle well and good eating. I hope she finds something she likes to eat for you.
Good luck if you increase her dose :bighug:
 
Back
Top