? 12/28 Eddie AMPS 95 +12.25 88 +3 164 +10 391 PMPS 401 +7.25 106 +9 112

I am reluctant to give dosing advice since I have no experience with acro cats, but I'm wondering if now is when you want to give that BCS. He cleared that bounce pretty quickly and the previous depot is still at play.
 
I am reluctant to give dosing advice since I have no experience with acro cats, but I'm wondering if now is when you want to give that BCS. He cleared that bounce pretty quickly and the previous depot is still at play.
I am reluctant to give dosing advice since I have no experience with acro cats, but I'm wondering if now is when you want to give that BCS. He cleared that bounce pretty quickly and the previous depot is still at play.

I think it is time for the BCS as I stalled 15 mins and tested again and he's at 88, so he's going down....!!!!
 
I've not done this before. What can I expect?
The higher depot might still affect the first part of the cycle despite the BCS, so you want to continue to monitor like you would if you had shot the full dose. The effect of the BCS will be felt in later cycles because the depot has been drained to some extent with the BCS.

am I returning to 13u (theoretically and if all goes well) at PM?
Unless something dramatic happens in this cycle, yes, you would go back to 13U tonight. And as always, looking to @Wendy&Neko to advise since I have no experience with high dose/acro cats! :-)
 
The higher depot might still affect the first part of the cycle despite the BCS, so you want to continue to monitor like you would if you had shot the full dose. The effect of the BCS will be felt in later cycles because the depot has been drained to some extent with the BCS.


Unless something dramatic happens in this cycle, yes, you would go back to 13U tonight. And as always, looking to @Wendy&Neko to advise since I have no experience with high dose/acro cats! :)

Ok, Bhooma, I read you loud and clear! Thanks, again, so much. Goodnight!
 
I’m hoping you have gotten another test by now, to make sure the drop has stopped. Sometimes cats will keep dropping when you stall, due to lack of food.

As for side of BCS, it is ECID, or something you have to learn works for Eddie. Acros are even more ECID. I typically suggest starting with a half dose, and seeing how that works. For Neko, cause she was so bouncy, a 2/3 dose would often work. Though true confession time, the number of times I BCS’ed or skipped (on purpose) can be counted on very few fingers. Most of the time I did full dose, and she was also on a smaller dose than Eddie.

On the good side, look how fast Eddie broke this last bounce. :)
 
I’m hoping you have gotten another test by now, to make sure the drop has stopped. Sometimes cats will keep dropping when you stall, due to lack of food.

As for side of BCS, it is ECID, or something you have to learn works for Eddie. Acros are even more ECID. I typically suggest starting with a half dose, and seeing how that works. For Neko, cause she was so bouncy, a 2/3 dose would often work. Though true confession time, the number of times I BCS’ed or skipped (on purpose) can be counted on very few fingers. Most of the time I did full dose, and she was also on a smaller dose than Eddie.

On the good side, look how fast Eddie broke this last bounce. :)
Hi Wendy, right now it all seems on the good side because this pattern of Eddie's seems to point to efficacy of SRT, so I'm keeping that in mind.

Re: testing: I stalled after the first test (update above) and saw he was dropping so realized a full shot wasn't appropriate but what was. A few days ago in conversation with Bhooma, I think [maybe it was at night], the recommendation for a BCS was about half the dose (at least ballpark). But I ended up decreasing the overall dose to 13u (as you've seen). This morning was quite eye-opening although I honestly had a feeling at last night's PM+7 that he was headed downwards, not up, so yes!, look at him break that bounce. Go Eddie!

Anyway, I got an AM+3 (about to post) and he's only at 164 so that's interesting, too...I'm beginning to wonder what will happen to him once his Prednisolone dose (10mg BiD) is reduced (in about a month). They wanted to do an imaging follow-up but I said no more. Eddie will not be getting any further treatments for acromegaly unless we'd go to Cabergoline, but that's a conversation for another day. He's now 48 days on the 5mgBiD and exactly 8 weeks out of SRT.

I'll be testing him again this afternoon before his snack and, of course, again at PMPS. Just so you know, I time the tests more or less around a snack so he's always getting some food (with the exception of my stall this morning).

So, if I'm understanding you and Bhooma, tonight we may just go to the 13u, with monitoring?
 
With the data we have until now, I would stick with 13 units. What you saw overnight was definitely depot from the 14 units dose, and it didn't take him below 68. However, what are you currently using for your reduction point? I thought you were temporarily going back to TR while you have the time off, but that's not what your signature says. SLGS would say reduce again as he went below 90.
 
With the data we have until now, I would stick with 13 units. What you saw overnight was definitely depot from the 14 units dose, and it didn't take him below 68. However, what are you currently using for your reduction point? I thought you were temporarily going back to TR while you have the time off, but that's not what your signature says. SLGS would say reduce again as he went below 90.
Hi, yes, 13u sounds appropriate. I haven't done too much editing of the signature as I'll be having to go back to SLGS (modified, meaning some days I'll be home and able to test but not for at least two days/week) My reduction point is in TR is 70, as I recall.
 
I think it used to be 76 or 78 on the AT meter. Some folks err on the side of caution after SRT and go with a slightly higher number (maybe 85 or 90 on the AT).
Hi JL. yes, yes, I think you're right, it was 76. This is Eddie's second time with SRT so I think we're ok with that number until I go back to work on Jan 9th and then will figure out what things will look like.
 
Guess we have hit altitude for today: PMPS 401. Like what a rollercoaster ride this has been. But we're at 13ui and we'll see how that goes, Captain Picard.
 
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma, just putting out the word that it looks like we're heading for an AMPS like yesterday. At PM+7 yesterday morning, he was at 158 and then this morning was low [had to stall, test twice and then gave the BCS). And look where he was tonight at PMPS 401!

I've given him TBSP and a bit of LC and am hoping he isn't on his way down (way down) to AMPS. I'm tagging Wendy in here too just as an alert.

@Wendy&Neko

This SRT rollercoaster has me on high alert, I'll say....:eek::cat:

Hope you're having a good day, Bhooma.
 
Back
Top