12/28 China PMPS 342,+2 221,+4 82,+5.5 52,+6 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Well, China is going cliff diving again today, but not quite as bad as Christmas morning. Sure wish I knew the WHY, but I know she's not telling you guys either. Will just have to hold on for the ride I guess.

Since she's getting decent nadirs, I won't increase her dose yet, but it sure is a lot different pattern since she started on the raw diet and got her dental...I wonder if they sent me home with the wrong white kitty??

Hope everyone is having a nice Caturday! We are going to be close to 60 today, but tomorrow, only 20..yuck!!

6pmic6.jpg

No cats were harmed in the fakery of this picture...LOL
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64

Oh my, China likes her dives! :shock: Thanks for visiting us today! Chyna was given her name and spelling by the SPCA, and I liked it so it stuck ;-) Hope your girl surfs safe for you today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64

It's good to see China on that green surboard! :mrgreen: :thumbup
(That pic made me gasp and laugh at the same time :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: )
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

Thanks for the visits Rachel and Josie!!

Yes..it almost looks too real, doesn't it Josie? That's why I put the disclaimer on it...that "no cats were harmed in the fakery of this picture" :lol:

I have a friend who enjoys "doodling", so I found a picture of a cliff, and a picture of a white cat so she "rotated" the cat picture and super-imposed it on the cliff picture and you have a cliff diving cat! She's quite talented!

China's looking good so far (at nadir anyway)..just wish her pre-shots would come back down!
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

China has gotten rather dramatic lately hasn't she. :lol: Nadirs are great to see, the preshots - not so much. What %carb are you feeding her now and what were you feeding her earlier? Just wondering if that's what's making the change in what her cycles look like. Paws crossed those PS will come down.
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

Hi Chris,

Do you think the raw food which is very low carb is not offsetting this dose of insulin enough? Is she dropping more points than usual and then bouncing because of the drop more than the lower numbers? She has been in lower numbers (low greens) often and hasn't bounced this high for preshot. It is a little tricky to figure out?

Catherine
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

Wendy, she was on Fancy Feast classics...mostly chicken/liver because that was her favorite, but occasionally others..but only classics

She was transitioned onto raw about the same time as her dental and now that's all she eats. Right now, she's eating Nature's Variety chicken medallions (1%)

We tried some of the flavors in a Primal trial pack and she liked the Pheasant (0%) and the Turkey(0%) but she didn't much like the chicken/salmon (2%) or the beef/salmon (6%).

When I went shopping for more last week, the store didn't have any of the Primal Pheasant, but I got some of the turkey (which she now won't touch of course)

That's another reason this is so confusing!! She's eating lower carb, has clean and shiny teeth, and her numbers are going UP!
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

Feeding at pretty much same times Catherine, and times she's fed and how much are on the spreadsheet in the remarks. She gets her biggest meal at Pre-shot and 2-3 small meals throughout the cycle

As for the idea on the insulin/food connection, I don't think it's supposed to work that way!! If anything, you'd think by feeding even lower carb, you wouldn't need as much insulin period, not start getting wonky numbers.

It just doesn't make any sense..everything I've done SHOULD be making it better, not worse :sad:
 
Re: 12/28 China AMPS 380,+3 187,+5.5 62,+6.5 64,+8 97

Nice greens for China today. :mrgreen: Good luck figuring out why her pre-shots are so much higher.
 
Re: 12/28 China PMPS 342,+2 221

Hmmm....another 121 drop in two hours. This Yo-yo'ing can't be good for her, but I'm at a loss as to why it's happening

recap

AMPS 380
+3 187
+5.5 62
+6.5 64
+8 97

PMPS 342
+2 221
 
Re: 12/28 China PMPS 342,+2 221

At one point, I remember reading a posting here on the value of feeding some carbs vs. no or little carbs for some cats. I did a quick search and couldn't find it. I deliberately chose a raw food in the 3-5% range because of that. Plus I think Catherine is right, those fast drops are causing bounces. But at least it's getting lower.
 
Re: 12/28 China PMPS 342,+2 221

Well I don't have any raw that's higher (that she'll eat anyway) and I hate putting her back on FF now that she's transitioned over

Wonder if I gave her a baby spoon's worth of gravy along with her shots, it might act more like feeding a higher carb food????

I had considered the fast drop being the cause of all this, but am unsure what to do about it at this point anyway...suggestions welcome!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top